Global Nomadic


Global Nomadic distinguishes itself from traditional 'gap-year' and voluntary placement organizations by offering reasonably priced programs without taking commission.

We cater to a wide range of fields - from medicine and education, to veterinary science and journalism and more - matching you with reputable, worthwhile organisations around the world.

Global Nomadic personally visits all volunteer sites to ensure a quality experience for volunteers. You will receive support before, during and after your placement. Visit the Global Nomadic website for more information.

Global Nomadic cover

Programs from Global Nomadic

Program Reviews

  • Hossai
    Age: 31-50
    Costa Rica
    McGill University
    My wonderful TEFL training experience

    Please go to:
    for my comments about the TEFL training program in Costa Rica that I applied for through Global Nomadic and completed successfully in August, 2014.

    Thank you


    How could this program be improved?

    The TEFL program that I attended and received training in, included teaching adults' classes only. I would include classes to teach younger students, i.e. elementary level as well. The NGO where I received my training and certification in TEFL program is already designing a program/curriculum for the children and will be starting it as soon as first quarter of 2015.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 8 Inspiring 1
  • Jimmy
    Age: 19-24
    Boulder, Colorado
    University of Colorado- Boulder
    Don't Use Global Nomadic

    I went through Global Nomadic to become a volunteer at the a local nonprofit...this was unecessary as GN did nothing to support my stay and I could of just went through the volunteer organization's website! Save some bucks and forget GN! I LOVED MY TIME OTHERWISE!

    How could this program be improved?

    If I didn't have to pay Global Nomadic things would of been better.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 3 Inspiring 0
    Response from Global Nomadic
    I am glad that you had a good experience with this amazing organisation that we support (at no cost to themselves). We spend a lot of time, effort and resources finding, vetting and visiting each project we work with. I am glad that our efforts helped you to find and work with this organisation, and that this organisation benefited from your participation, not to mention from us helping them to find good interns and support their work.
  • Mongol
    Age: 19-24
    Away to Mongolia for a month

    I don't think travelling to a country on the other side of the planet has ever gone so smoothly. At this moment I would say that Global Nomadic was a great organization for making the process so simple and clear cut.
    The month itself went by quickly and adventurously. I became friends with a lovely girl and her family who offered me a room for the month. I taught the girl English in the evenings.
    My work in the TV station was very fun. I would research for some stories and write them down. Then we filmed some shots, edited them and they were shown on Mongolian TV. I almost got an interview with the Mayor of Ulaanbaatar as I was writing a story about the changes in traffic.
    While I was not being a journalism intern I tried to see as much nature as I could. The highlight of my spare time was riding a horse in the valleys on a warm autumn day. The sky was clear and it was so quiet. I sat on the horse and looked at the vast landscape that was surrounding me and I felt as if I rode back in time. Afterwards we were given some Mongolian food in a little ger. The best Mongolian food was a meat pancake called Horshur, I absolutely loved it. I also went hiking to a hilltop, which was a two hour journey through snow. Somehow the landscapes always felt magical. I have traveled to many other countries but Mongolia had a certain amount of 'out of this world' feel to it.
    In conclusion the month was a beautiful experience. From the smooth planning to a relaxing stay, it was an experience to remember for a lifetime!

    Was this review...?
    Useful 3 Inspiring 6
  • Olivia
    Age: 19-24
    Sheffield, UK
    University of Sheffield
    False adverstising-and no refund yet!

    When I signed up I applied for three weeks, the elephant sanctuary, forest conservation and the cycling tour. When I arrived they switched the cycling tour to the first week so I had some people to go with, which was helpful! When we eventually arrived at the national park (6 hours in the back of a truck! But not complaining!) it was beautiful and the rooms were lovely. However from here things started to deteriorate. We did hardly anything in this week that was advertised except visit (empty) farms, which we did after riding for hours and hours along the main highway with our guide driving a truck ahead and waiting for us to catch up. When we got lost we suddenly realised we weren't even given a contact number for the guide and waiting for nearly an hour for her to show up again. When I say the farms were empty it was an absolute joke. The flower farm was the worst-it was barely even constructed yet! There was no tour around any of the farms, we showed up, looked at the gift shop and left. We were all under the impression we'd be going into the national park, seeing as we drove for 6 hours to get there, but when we asked our guide said 'no no, national park all around'. We did a lot of complaining and eventually one day we did go in but we spent an hour pushing our bikes up a huge hill to reach the park then everyone was told to get in the truck and we just drove to a couple of view spots. We asked to take the nature trail around the park but apparently this was not possible, and even if we had been able too we hadn't been prepared with any water or lunch so we had to turn around again and back down to the main road. We were late leaving to bangkok on friday as our driver didnt show up in time to take us to the bus stop so after getting up at 5am we had to wait an hour for the next bus anyhow. Our cycling tour in Bangkok was nice enough around China town but only an hour long, not the full morning as advertised and the next morning we were supposed to have another look around town but instead we were expected to leave at 10am back to the main house in Singburi. I stayed behind and had a great time by myself! The next week was the elephant week and this was also somewhat disappointing as we were not able to do a lot of the program again but this was largely due to bad weather conditions. My third week was supposed to be forest conservation but this was in the same house as the cycling week and though lots of fun evening activities and a nearby bar were advertised, none were present and I noticed only 2 other chinese girls would be attending the week so it might not be much fun. Also having spoken to the people doing the week whilst I were there they seemed to be planting a banana plantation, which didnt seem much like conservation to me! I rang Phil and asked to cancel the last week but he said I would not get a refund. I looked through global nomadic website and saw the week touring the temples in Cambodia so asked Phil if I could do the 'temple week' in Cambodia he said fine and I asked him to email me the itinerary so I could check it was the same, he did not until I arrived in rural cambodia to do 'temple conservation' which I couldnt even do because there was nobody else doing it so I was told I could teach English, which I really did not want to do. In fairness to Phil I emailed him and he emailed back saying I could leave and get a refund but technology failed me and this was sent to my spam folder so I did not see it until much later. I did however leave on Thursday morning after giving it a shot for two days and I did tell Phil the situation but was no reply. In fairness this is not all global nomadics fault as it is their local partner's trip as the Global Nomadic director tells me but that is what seems to be the problem here, all these companies, you don't really know who to contact when something goes wrong, who's to blame here. I spoke at length with the director who first offered me the PS150 placement fee back which was inadequate, then their local partner offered another PS250 making it up to PS400. That was in September. Have I seen the money yet? Nope!

    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from Global Nomadic
    We work with a local provider in Thailand who receive many volunteers each year. We both do our best to provide the best experience possible and what is described on our site. In this case Olivia did not get the experience she signed up for and apologize about this. We have refunded Olivia a percentage of the fee paid and have investigated this thoroughly with the provider in Thailand. We are doing everything we can to avoid this again in the future and will be updating all of our project descriptions with them. We have many happy clients who we have sent away, as you can see on our Chronicles - Yet unfortunately things will sometimes go wrong and the best thing we can do is own the mistakes and do everything we can to avoid similar situations in the future, which is what we are doing. We therefore welcome all comments, good and bad so that we can live up to our values to offer quality placements with the best possible support and assistance.
  • Deandra
    Age: 19-24
    Canada, ON
    University of Toronto
    Intern experience

    My experience is one that I will surely never forget. The journey in Belize to get to the project was full of winding roads with an amazing view of Belize. With the sun coming to an end, two other volunteers and I arrived in the small town of Sarteneja. There waiting are arrival where Paul and Zoey, with their white pick-up truck. Are journey did not end there; heading to what seemed to be in the middle of the jungle we reached the establishment. The thousands of stars lit the sky, where the mirror image was reflected from the waters of the lagoon.

    The early morning rooster alarm was my indicator of a completely new and exciting day. The monkey feed where the first on the to-do-list, where chopping fruits became part of the norm. While chopping fruit everyone would engage in conversation from our night into town, to the new insect we discovered in our cabana. The only difficult question I had to ask myself was "what monkey do I want to feed"? Ramses the Manatee was the next to feed; it was always a pleasure to jump in his pool, and give him a belly rub. Swimming with him and Duke (another manatee) where my forms of daily exercise; not to mention lifting Ramses which seemed like 200-300lbs, in and out of Dukes pool for interaction.

    From the morning monkey feed to the manatee feeds, everyday there was something to do. In between there is a period of relaxation, where I was determined to finish my novel. I would have to say that my favorite part of the day was walking around with livy; a howler monkey with a dislocated arm. She would calmly lie on my shoulders, and we would walk around to her favorite sites. They have done surgery on her arm, and it looks like she will have full function of her arm. I thank everyone for the donations and the support, it fills be with such happiness to know that one day she can be released.

    I would, in a heartbeat recommend anyone who wants to work with primates and/or manatees; whether it is for school, or for the sole interest of working with these amazing creatures. You learn so much, have a great time, and meet wonderful people. It is one place that feels like home without actually being home.

    How could this program be improved?

    It was hard work, and would have been nice if more people were there to distribute the work evenly

    Was this review...?
    Useful 2 Inspiring 1
View All Reviews