United Planet

Provider Reviewer Verified

United Planet is a non-profit organization with a mission - to create a global community, one relationship at a time. We connect volunteers who want to make a difference with communities in 35 countries, where they learn, teach, work, engage and immerse themselves in a culture outside their comfort zone. For many, it's the most fulfilling experience of their lives.

United Planet header

Programs from United Planet

Program Reviews

  • Hayley
    Age: 19-24
    Female
    Vermont
    University of Vermont
    9/10
    Trip of a lifetime
    04/11/2016

    It is coming up on a year since my China Summer trip and I still have dreams of returning and still talk with many of the people I met there, including my Chinese students as often as possible - there is a significant time difference. I made lifelong friends, saw the most amazing shooting stars, and have memories that I wouldn't trade for anything. The trip helped me grow and gain so much independence. I feel like I was able to make as much of an impact on my students as they did on me. I can't wait to go back someday!

    How could this program be improved?

    If our program leader hadn't stayed in Beijing much of the miscommunication could have been avoided.

    Photos:
    跟着我们
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    04/14/2016
    Hayley, thank you so much for sharing your story with us. We are glad that you were able to make lifelong friends on your Quest. Fostering meaningful relationships with the local communities is what we really value at United Planet.
  • Jessica
    Age: 19-24
    Female
    Monmouth, Oregon
    Western Oregon University
    8/10
    Traveling for a Cause
    04/11/2016

    Traveling to Ecuador for this service trip was the first time I have traveled out of the country and I could not have been more happy with my experience. The people, the culture, and the general attitude of Ecuador was so welcoming and fun. I would definitely recommend this service trip to pretty much anyone who wants to serve while traveling! Also, if you are not fluent in Spanish, THAT IS OKAY! I knew very little Spanish and did not fell ashamed or unwelcome because of it!

    How could this program be improved?

    When we left Oregon, it was pretty confusing as to what our objective of the service trip was. We were not expecting what we got, even though we absolutely loved every second of it. It felt a little unclear and a tad disorganized.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    04/11/2016
    Jessica, thank you for sharing about your volunteer Quest to Ecuador with us. We are excited that you had a great experience on your trip. Also, we appreciate your feedback. We are always trying to improve our programs so that our volunteers enjoy the best experience abroad.
  • Ibrahim
    Age: 18 or younger
    Male
    Boston Ma
    Other
    10/10
    My trip across the world
    04/11/2016

    My favorite experience there, was being able to help the local villagers with everything they did. We helped them construct tunnels that would be used to route the water pipes in order for the villagers to get easier access to water. My experience was made better do the plans that were set up by United Planet. They made everything easier and fun. My favorite thing that I did in Ecuador was interact with the local kids.

    How could this program be improved?

    If we would be given more options to travel to different countries.

    Photos:
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    04/11/2016
    Ibrahim, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you were able to help the local community get easier access to water and that you had fun along the way.
  • Mckensie
    Age: 18 or younger
    Female
    Defiance, Ohio
    8/10
    Peru is Such an Amazing Place
    04/11/2016

    Peru is so beautiful. There are so many historical buildings and ruins, you could spend weeks there just exploring it all. Volunteering at the after school program was a lot of fun. The kids were so sweet and eager to learn. Also, my Spanish classes were very fun and my understanding of the language improved greatly. Machu Picchu is also a must and I recommend taking the train there because the scenery is breath taking. I enjoyed every single minute and would definitely return!

    How could this program be improved?

    Better communication with the staff located in Peru.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    04/11/2016
    McKensie, we appreciate you sharing about your experience in Peru. We are glad that you enjoyed volunteering at an after school program and that you were able to improve your Spanish skills. Also, thank you for your feedback. We are always trying to improve our programs to provide the best experiences to our volunteers.
  • Megan
    Age: 19-24
    Female
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    Endicott College
    8/10
    Ghana Healthcare Quest 2 weeks
    04/11/2016

    Hello!
    well I'll start by saying I would HIGHLY recommend Ghana as a volunteer experience. My first recommendation is 2 weeks isn't nearly enough ( I stayed for two and was heartbroken when I left.) So the first night you are in the capital Accra, and the country coordinator will take you around and show you the city. The first thing I was grateful for was the other volunteer who went with me, if you have a friend or can coordinate with another volunteer I would highly recommend that also, it's nice just to have a companion seeing as it is a completely different continent. I never felt unsafe, or nervous which I feel is a stigma with Africa so don't worry on that. As for the hospital experience I am in the nursing field so unfortunately I can't speak of pre med. However I was in the A&E (accident and emergency) and absolutely LOVED it. If you make it known you want to help and learn everyone from doctors to student nurses will take you under. I even went around and did rounds with the doctors (and pre med students) and I am a nurse so you can see how great they are with including. You will see a lot of injuries and illness you wouldn't see otherwise so be prepared for that. As for living, I stayed with Mercy, and had my own room/bathroom, she is great and very accommodating. Riley (the other volunteer) and I researched and had a list of things we wanted to do before we left, so I would also suggest doing that. On the weekend our country coordinator took us to the waterfall and monkey sanctuary which is a once in a lifetime experience. I'll attach pictures. Everyone there wants to be your friend, and take you out. The people are amazing, and I wish I never left. Oh transportation, you can walk to the hospital, or take a cab either is super cheap, and getting from the capital to Ho the country coordinator will arrange for you. Just be prepared that you are in Africa so, it's not like taking a cab in New York. Let me know if you have any other questions! (oh p.s. 1 us dollar is 4 cedi so you won't spend alot of money) ok like I said let me know! And if you go please tell the employees in Emergency I say Hello!!!

    How could this program be improved?

    More information about activities could have been provided, most activities I participated in were because of research I did myself.

    Photos:
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    04/11/2016
    Megan, thank you for sharing your story. We are so excited that you were able to get a good nursing experience during your volunteer Quest to Ghana. Thank you for your important feedback as well, we are always looking for ways we can improve our programs so that our volunteers have the best experiences possible.
View All Reviews