United Planet

Provider Reviewer Verified

United Planet is a non-profit organization with a mission - to create a global community, one relationship at a time. We connect volunteers who want to make a difference with communities in 35 countries, where they learn, teach, work, engage and immerse themselves in a culture outside their comfort zone. For many, it's the most fulfilling experience of their lives.

United Planet header

Programs from United Planet

Program Reviews

  • Andrew
    Age: 19-24
    Male
    Queens
    Villanova University
    8/10
    United Planet Ghana Trip !
    05/06/2016

    My trip to Ghana was great! My coordinator was super helpful and always very quick to reply. They got me connected to the supervisor in Ghana, who picked me up when I arrived and took me to my host family, whom I stayed with for 2 months. I volunteered at the Volta Regional Hospital and was able to witness many different procedures and treatment practices that I never would have been able to anywhere else. The people there were very friendly and welcoming even despite the fact that I was only a temporary visitor. By the end of my trip, I felt comfortable enough to stay much longer.

    How could this program be improved?

    If the program was cheaper, it would be much more affordable for many people.

    Photos:
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    05/09/2016
    Andrew, thank you for telling us about your Quest to Ghana. We are so excited that you were able to observe some unique procedures at the hospital. Also, it is great that you felt so integrated with the local community!
  • Andrew
    Age: 19-24
    Male
    Greenville
    10/10
    Switzerland
    05/05/2016

    I had a blast In Switzerland. The people I met and the times I had there are unforgettable. I didn't have one moment where I really missed home due to technology, so when they tell you at some point you'll hate it I don't really see that as an issue. I also had some issues in the area of the Swiss ICYE and it wasn't major so it didn't really change my feelings on how the trip went. I still had the best year of my life abroad in Switzerland and it wouldn't have been possible without United Planet!

    How could this program be improved?

    Once I was there I wish the emphasis that ICYE Swiss put on learning German wasn't there. They told us we had to learn German and that wasn't why I was there. Also due to some living situations some people got train passes for the entire country and some got nothing at all due to how far they lived from their work. I was one that was told I could walk to school so i would receive nothing. I purchased the train pass for a bit over $2,500 for the whole country I felt that if one got it then everyone should receive it.

    Photos:
    Mountains in Switzerland
    Mountain with year round snow
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    05/05/2016
    Andrew, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are so glad that your Quest to Switzerland was the best year in your life. Also, thank you for leaving your feedback. We are always trying to improve the quality of our programs to provide the best experience to our volunteers.
  • Chelsea
    Age: 19-24
    Female
    Sydney, NS
    Cape Breton University
    9/10
    Nursing students take on Quito, Ecuador
    05/05/2016

    We spent a day at a clinic in the south of Quito and it was truly a life changing experience. This clinic has an adult day program, children physio, adult physio, rehab, doctors visits and more. The didn't have very much and made do with whatever recourses they had available. They were SO very appreciative of any and all donations. We could not speak any Spanish but they will welcomed us with opened arms! The adult day program was my favorite. The people that go there so not have a lot of money but with their happy spirts and warm hearts you would never be able to tell. Truly life changing and eye opening!

    How could this program be improved?

    The only thing I can think of is the pre-departure web meeting we had could be improved. The lady that did ours was never in Ecuador and she had a really hard time answering questions. I think that the meeting should be with someone that has either went down there before or one of the in country supports.

    Photos:
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    05/05/2016
    Chelsea, thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We are very excited that your Quest was a life changing experience. Also, we appreciate your feedback. We are always trying to improve our programs to provide the best experience for our volunteers.
  • Hayley
    Age: 19-24
    Female
    Vermont
    University of Vermont
    9/10
    Trip of a lifetime
    04/11/2016

    It is coming up on a year since my China Summer trip and I still have dreams of returning and still talk with many of the people I met there, including my Chinese students as often as possible - there is a significant time difference. I made lifelong friends, saw the most amazing shooting stars, and have memories that I wouldn't trade for anything. The trip helped me grow and gain so much independence. I feel like I was able to make as much of an impact on my students as they did on me. I can't wait to go back someday!

    How could this program be improved?

    If our program leader hadn't stayed in Beijing much of the miscommunication could have been avoided.

    Photos:
    跟着我们
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    04/14/2016
    Hayley, thank you so much for sharing your story with us. We are glad that you were able to make lifelong friends on your Quest. Fostering meaningful relationships with the local communities is what we really value at United Planet.
  • Jessica
    Age: 19-24
    Female
    Monmouth, Oregon
    Western Oregon University
    8/10
    Traveling for a Cause
    04/11/2016

    Traveling to Ecuador for this service trip was the first time I have traveled out of the country and I could not have been more happy with my experience. The people, the culture, and the general attitude of Ecuador was so welcoming and fun. I would definitely recommend this service trip to pretty much anyone who wants to serve while traveling! Also, if you are not fluent in Spanish, THAT IS OKAY! I knew very little Spanish and did not fell ashamed or unwelcome because of it!

    How could this program be improved?

    When we left Oregon, it was pretty confusing as to what our objective of the service trip was. We were not expecting what we got, even though we absolutely loved every second of it. It felt a little unclear and a tad disorganized.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 1 Inspiring 0
    Response from United Planet
    04/11/2016
    Jessica, thank you for sharing about your volunteer Quest to Ecuador with us. We are excited that you had a great experience on your trip. Also, we appreciate your feedback. We are always trying to improve our programs so that our volunteers enjoy the best experience abroad.
View All Reviews