Alumni Spotlight: Gloria Scaletta


After completing her Master's Degree in Mathematical Engineering, Gloria started working in a mechanical company in Italy. During her holidays she loves to travel around the world to get to know new places, cultures, and people.

Why did you choose this program?

I was looking for a safe journey of 2 weeks that could combine my interest in visiting new places and the ability to get in touch with a new culture, while doing something for others. This program was perfect for me, because allowed me to travel during the duration of my work break, volunteer in a day care center in the mornings, and was able to visit temples and other points of interest in the afternoons and some weekends.

I was in a volunteer house with other foreigners, but a local coordinator was always with us, so I could meet a lot of new friends from all over the world.

What did your program provider assist you with, and what did you have to organize on your own?

The program provided all of the travel to and from the airport and for visits around the country. They also set me up with a homestay and three meals per day. The coordinator (Bobby) has been a wonderful person! He took me to work the first day, introduced me, and explained my job. He was always there for me, for any health problem (fortunately I had nothing), advice about going to the city, or where to find something. I had to organize transportation to work every day by myself, but he was also extremely helpful with that.

What is one piece of advice you'd give to someone going on your program?

I think that being in this kind of program for longer period of time is better. You need the first days just to settle down and understand what's around you. You really start enjoying the adventure after 3 - 4 days.

What does an average day/week look like as a participant of this program?

Monday was orientation day . The coordinator took me to the job site and explained what work I would be doing. From Tuesday through Friday we had breakfast from 8 - 9 am, left home at 9:30, and worked from 10 to 1:30. At 2:00 we had lunch, and typically a free afternoon to just relax on some days, on others to go out for a walk, to the market, or on an organized tour.

Saturdays and Sundays there were organized trips planned to important places within the country such as the Golden Temple or the Dalai Lama temple.

Going into your experience abroad, what was your biggest fear, and how did you overcome it and/or how did your views on the issue change?

My biggest fear was being a woman traveling alone. Once I was there it was never a problem, I always felt safe. Bobby and all the staff there always give me advice about where to go or not and always took care of me.