Lacanau

Ratings
Overall
10
Impact: 10
Support: 10
Fun: 10
Value: 10
Safety: 10
Review

This summer, I went to a small town in the southern part of France called Lacanau. I stayed with a family of four for one month, although I wish I stayed longer. The family consisted of a friendly father, caring mother, a sporty daughter around the age of 11, and a fun-loving son around the age of 8. My host parents spoke a good amount of English so we could communicate well together. The children were just learning English so we had a couple of challenges, but Google translate helped a lot. I didn't know much French, but after living there for one month, I picked up a lot of words that my host family would say. This family has an amazingly beautiful house with a pool. We went swimming together almost every day. The weather was very nice. It rained only a couple days out of the whole month I was there. I attended surf lessons with the daughter and the son on the weekends as well as Judo practice, Surf and rescue practice, and dance practice. We were about a 15-minute drive from the ocean, which was in perfect distance from the house that I rode my host moms bike to the beach a couple of times. I got to go to Bordeaux multiple times using the city bus, which only took a little more than an hour one way. I went on a solo trip to San Sebastian, which was the highlight of my trip. I also met up with a girl in Paris who was also participating in the same program as me. She was staying in Germany with a family. All in all, this was an experience of a lifetime. I was very nervous to travel by myself, but this trip has given me the confidence to travel the world. I am still in contact with my host family through emails and use Snapchat to talk with my host sister all the time. I can't wait to go back to Lacanau France! I will never forget this amazing experience.

Would you recommend this program?
Yes, I would
Year Completed
2018
Media
Photos