Alumni Spotlight: Jing Wang


Jing Wang (Jayne) majors in international law. She likes attending various activities for enriching her life experience.

Why did you choose this program?

I have heard this law program when I was studying for a bachelor's degree, but at that time I was not confident of my English skills, so I just quit. Right now, I am studying for a master's degree and I have participated in VIS-MOOT, and I realized that you just can't wait for excellent English skills: what you have to do is just going aboard and you will see how you promoted.

What did your program provider (or university) assist you with, and what did you have to organize on your own?

For ECCEDU I have already formed a friendly relationship with my school, so actually most affairs were completed by the program provider and our school, such as booking tickets, finding accommodation, buying sim cards, buying monthly tickets for the city train.

Also, during this programme, the staff always organize events for students to involve the culture, make friends and enrich their spare time.

What is one piece of advice you'd give to someone going on your program?

That is being sincere and hard-work. Before I attended this programme, I used to be too shy to talk to foreign people for I always worry that maybe they cannot understand me or maybe they will think I am a little bit stupid. However, if you are here, you will know that there is actually no language or culture barriers, only if you can be sincere to everyone. And indeed, you will attend lots of lectures given by professional lawyers who work in leading law firms, so you need to study hard, so you will learn.

What does an average day/week look like as a participant of this program?

You will have 7 weeks in total. In the first 3 weeks you will attend schools, the remaining 4 weeks you will do internships in law firms or other corporations.

At the end of the second week, you will have a test, composed of English skills and academic knowledge, and you will choose the internship based on those grades. Besides, you can travel during the weekends; I have been to Vienna, Dresden, Rome...

Going into your experience abroad, what was your biggest fear, and how did you overcome it? How did your views on the issue change?

I think that is the language.

During the programme, the lecturers speak English and all the people around speak English as well. But you have to know that people are environment-oriented animals, so don't be shy: just express what you want to express; only if you can present clearly, people indeed will get you!

What should people know about your program?

Well, I‘d like to introduce our dormitory 'cuz maybe you will stay there for 7 weeks. And it is not far from the city center. There are Tesco's nearby. And you can have a free gym and a kitchen, so you can cook with your friends!

Each room has two separate rooms, two toilets, and one bathroom. In short, the place is quite nice and convenient.