I can't wait to go back!

Ratings
Overall
9
Impact: 7
Support: 9
Fun: 10
Value: 10
Safety: 9
Review

I went from October-December (November has the best weather in my opinion) to do a childcare and teaching English project. In the morning I would go to a nursery on the outskirts of the city and help the teachers to give the children breakfast, organise craft projects and help with supervision at break times. I had lunch at home and then went to an English institute where I worked as a teaching assistant.

My host family lived in the suburbs which was perfect as it was a 10 minute walk to the park and we were only a block away from a main road with lots of bars and restaurants. I really liked them and one of the highlights for me was that there were two other volunteers living in my house who I got to know really well. I also enjoyed spending time with the other volunteers and even though we all did different projects we saw each other at least once a week for our socials which the Projects Abroad staff really put a lot of effort into and this made such a difference as we all got on so well and could organise trips to nearby places at the weekend.

The only thing I think I would change would be that I only worked at a public school one day a week and the English institute where I worked four days a week had fairly privileged students. However, I really enjoyed my afternoons at the institute as the staff were all lovely and one of the teachers has already come to stay with me in the UK!

Would you recommend this program?
Yes, I would
Year Completed
2019
Media
Photos