Love Volunteers

Provider

We are just a handful of passionate people working hard to help volunteers and local communities around the world. We don't have huge overheads - no company cars, no downtown office - we're just volunteers who thought we could do a better job. We work with local organisations wherever we can to keep administration costs to a minimum and also to return as much money and skills to the local communities where we operate. We can offer the lowest possible fees, but also ensure that you are immersed in the local culture and are actually making a difference!

Love Volunteers profile

Programs from Love Volunteers

Program Reviews

  • Konce
    Age: 19-24
    Female
    Valley Springs, California
    Other
    1/10
    Do Not Volunteer Here
    04/28/2016

    I had a terrible experience volunteering in Tanzania through Love Volunteers. I stayed there for a month with two of my friends. We are teenagers who wanted to do some good service work abroad. However, throughout the month, we were continuously lied to by the head of the NGO we worked with. He lied to us about how big the impact each project would be (turns out we spent 4 days installing a water system for a school only to find out that the purpose was to eliminate a 30 second walk for the students), and lied to us about the costs of the projects. We brought money to pay for the projects, and he give us ridiculous prices for all the supplies. Even his own employees were shocked when they saw how expensive he claimed the supplies cost, and they said there was no way those were the correct prices. Still, he took our money and probably most of it went into his own pocket. Several times throughout the stay he showed extremely aggressive behavior towards me and my friends, and yelled at me several times just because I would ask him questions about the projects or prices of supplies. When I reported all of this to Love Volunteers they promised to take action, but in the end they still decided to keep their partnership with this NGO. Do not volunteer here if you are looking for meaningful service work, or if you don't want to be taken advantage of.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from Love Volunteers
    05/04/2016
    Dear Konce, We appreciate your concern about the programs being well run and of most benefit to the community and we share your passion for the local people of Tanzania. As you mentioned we conducted an investigation into the issues you raised. Based on our experiences and interviews with the local team and volunteers on the program at the same time as you, as well as those we have participated on this program before and who went immediately after you, we cannot find any evidence supporting your claims and we are baffled by the strong negative attitude you have towards Benson and the program in general. Benson is sorry if his behaviour offended or upset you, he tried his utmost to cater to your demands and to respond well to your interrogation and criticism. It's our job to continually evaluate our partners as well as our volunteers and we will continue to monitor the situation in Tanzania. The feedback we are getting from current volunteers is very positive. One such volunteer (on the program after you) commented on our Facebook Group page: "We started off at the orphanage (an impressive self sustaining orphanage who relies solely on the profit they gain from selling all their produce) building them a pond, planting some crops and vegetables for the chicken and rabbits they have and painting their playground. We're now in the midst of planting trees at two different primary schools, a college and just around the streets of the hostel. Everything has been going good so far. It's hard work but not long." We are truly sorry that you felt this way about your experience. The Team @ Love Volunteers
  • Liz
    Age: 25-30
    Female
    Texas
    1/10
    Horrible Experience
    04/27/2016

    I felt the "NGO" that Love Volunteers works with in Tanzania is a total scam. The director was extremely rude, aggressive, and made our stay at the hostel quite uncomfortable.

    The "work" that they do in the community is not at all meaningful or impactful. The director himself said that the schools and orphanages don't care about the projects. Volunteers are often told to do gardening work at a school or orphanage, where as soon as they leave the work falls into disrepair and the NGO does no following up and will simply wait until another volunteer shows up and then send them off to do the same project over again.

    The director of the NGO spends his time running the hostel and arranging safaris for guests, and takes on volunteers so he has money coming into the hostel. He sends them off to schools or orphanages and isn't concerned with the work they're doing. I absolutely would not recommend this program or any others with Love Volunteers. After I, along with the other volunteers went to them to explain everything that had happened, they said they were "investigating" things, but ultimately they continue to send this organization volunteers.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 3 Inspiring 0
    Response from Love Volunteers
    04/28/2016
    Dear Liz, We're extremely sorry that you feel this way. The Community Development program you participated on for your 10 week placement does require each volunteer to carry on where the last left off as gardening and maintenance are ongoing tasks and do fall into disrepair if left unattended. That's why volunteers are so important, to keep up the good work. Your experience is in stark contrast to the many other volunteers' placed in Tanzania and the comments you attribute to the program director are disputed by him. Our investigation into the issues you raised lead us to believe that the programs in Tanzania continue to be well run and that our partner is both trustworthy and genuinely committed to helping the local community in Arusha. As you experienced the program director was happy to tailor the program to suit your demands and also arranges sightseeing trips for volunteers and generally makes sure things are running smoothly and volunteers are cared for. This does often take up a lot of their time but it is an essential part of supporting volunteers and they are proud to showcase their stunning country. Thank-you for giving your time to this cause and we really appreciate the work that you did manage to do while you were there. We wish you all the very best for the future. The Team @ Love Volunteers
  • Sangeet
    Age: 25-30
    Female
    England
    9/10
    Teaching Siem Reap, Cambodia
    04/12/2016

    Hello fellow travellers, future travellers and everybody else. I am Sangy, Im from England and I'm 28. So here I am in Cambodia, Siem Reap teaching at Kidtea, a NGO school. So what brings me out here? When I was younger I wasn't quite sure what I wanted to be or do. But one thing I was sure about I wanted to help people. In what manner I did not know but from anything that would better someone's life even if it was by the littlest margin would be worth my time. Often as we get older you get swallowed by daily life and busy working away in much different sectors than you thought you would. But that desire to get out there and help people was still there so I finally took the plunge and booked myself on a project. This was a few years ago and still to this day I still hold such fond memories. To locals who take you in as their own family, to the children who are introvert at first who then go on to give you the biggest and warmest hugs, the loudest and happiest greetings, create such infamous drawings and humorously mimic my English accent.

    As cliche as it sounds it has changed me. The world is such a vibrant and unique place with hundreds of different cultures and way of living, so to be a part of one and immerse yourself in a different way than solely visiting or passing through a place, is beyond eye opening.

    This is my third voluntary project I have done abroad with Love Volunteers which itself speaks volumes and I just love it more and more each time.

    But forget the 'Sangy Story'. If you have or are pondering about doing it, just go out there take the leap and make your own incredible story and journey.

    Photos:
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from Love Volunteers
    04/21/2016
    Dear Sangy, Thanks so much for becoming part of the Love Volunteers team again. We absolutely love having you and you make such an impact on all the programs you participate on. I absolutely loved reading about your motivation to help people and it's so true that too often we get so caught up in day to day life that we can't see beyond the horizon. We're so pleased that you took the plunge and you've never looked back! Thanks for inspiring others. The Team @ Love Volunteers
  • Seth
    Age: 25-30
    Male
    Canada
    Other
    10/10
    Children with Disabilites in Peru
    04/10/2016

    Volunteering in Peru was a great experience. It allowed me to not only fully immerse myself and explore the city of Cusco but also give back to that community.
    I felt better taking part than simply being a tourist and my efforts were both appreciated and thanked.
    Getting to know 8 children with disabilities over one month made it very difficult to leave upon the end of my time in Peru but I am still quite glad to have done this program.

    How could this program be improved?

    It was a bit unorganized but I found this effected fellow volunteers more than my own trip. It seems "going with the flow" is the objective more than sticking to a standard plan.

    Was this review...?
    Useful 1 Inspiring 0
    Response from Love Volunteers
    04/11/2016
    Hi Seth, Thanks so much for this review. You are totally correct that 'going with the flow' is the best attitude to take. Often the reason volunteers are required is that staffing and resources are lacking in a particular area and this often means that things aren't as organised as they might be at home. By being open-minded, flexible and prepared to use your initiative (as you did) you can make a huge differences on these projects. Thanks again and we hope to have you back with us again in the future. We're sure the children will miss you! The Team @ Love Volunteers
  • Phyllis
    Age: 51 or older
    Female
    Toronto, ON CANADA
    Other
    9/10
    The Football Game
    03/23/2016

    When I had the opportunity to go to a local football(soccer) game in town I took it. I offered to pay at the entrance to the field, but was told to 'just go in'. The game had started and I made my way through the standing crowd to about mid-field. I was the only foreigner. Most of the crowd were home town fans and they were enthusiastic and LOUD. The rival team had two men drumming full tilt.
    It wasn't long before our team scored! A jubilant young man in the crowd turned, walked over to me, and shook my hand in congratulations. I knew I was in a very special town indeed.

    How could this program be improved?

    I'd try to vary the meals a little more.

    Photos:
    Game Fans
    Was this review...?
    Useful 0 Inspiring 0
    Response from Love Volunteers
    03/23/2016
    Hi Phyllis, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience of 'real life' in Rwanda. We love hearing about how our volunteers have immersed themselves into the local culture whilst on placement - it make such a difference to both the local people and the experience the volunteer has! Thanks again for being a fantastic volunteer. We'd love to have you join us again in the future. The Team @ Love Volunteers
View All Reviews