International TEFL Training Institute

Program Reviews

Default avatar
Amy
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

I completed the TEFL certification in Paris in 2018 and returned in the summer of 2019 to volunteer to assist teacher trainees in teaching English to students. Students in Paris are invited to be taught English by TEFL teacher trainees and for the students it is free from any fees. I was able to further expand my own skills and thoroughly enjoyed working with the trainees and students. Steven Jacobson, our master teacher trainer, created a learning environment that was both safe and stimulating to trainees and students. Students worked daily to overcome common stumbling blocks in learning English as a Second Language, and the trainees were stretched using new skills to best instruct and help students get the best results. I am going back to volunteer again in 2020. I learn a tremendous amount from Steven regarding the psychology of learning and how to get the utmost out of students, while providing a fantastic experience for trainees.

What would you improve about this program?
Steven often has to make due with a smallish classroom, although it was recently remodeled. It can be too warm in summer, but then the class relocates to the garden and classes are held outdoors.
Default avatar
Sophie
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

This was a great course! Was very interesting and the professor is AMAZING! Honestly, I would recommend taking this course just for the teacher, Steven Jacobson. He is incredible. He helped me get several jobs just within the time frame of the class. I had a great group, we laughed and learned lots, I miss going every day.

Sometimes communicating with the head office in New York is discouraging; however, don't be discouraged. Once you reach Paris and once you reach Steven, you won't have any regrets!

Steven helped us get daily teaching practice, and the students are wonderful. The Paris TEFL program has students of all ages: kids, adolescents, young adult, and adult. So if you want to improve any type of teaching practice, you will have the opportunity here.

Would recommend!

What would you improve about this program?
More efficient, regular communication with the New York office would be helpful. I was convinced that this TEFL course was a scam for a very long time during the registration process because communication with TEFL America was so infrequent and unpredictable.
Default avatar
Alexandra
8/10
Yes, I recommend this program

I have enjoyed the iTTi course in August 2018. The trainees had a lot of practice as we taught every day. We had the occasion to work with different students and develop strong teaching relationships with them. The course focuses on teaching practice, and there is very little theory on the program. What I enjoyed most was the excellent atmosphere among the group of trainees. The school provides little career support and the program is not as intensive as advertised.

I would overall recommend taking the course if you're considering settling in Paris.

What would you improve about this program?
Include more career support
Default avatar
Shane
1/10
No, I don't recommend this program

I signed up and paid for a 50 hour online TEFL specializing in teaching young learners. I may well have spent 50 hours emailing the staff and Program Co-ordinator asking for the various modules to be sent to me. Despite my best efforts I am into the second year of this 50 hour TEFL and I can't even get responses to my mails. Weeks and months go by without reply and I'm still waiting for Module 7! They refuse to refund the course fee. I'm waiting a year to complete this course. Its been the biggest waste of time and money I have ever encountered. Save yourself a lot of disappointment and choose a different provider.

What would you improve about this program?
By just sending the materials that have been paid for. Reply to emails. Answer phones.
Response from International TEFL Training Institute

Dear Shane Kellegher:

When “Gooverseas” checked your identity, you offered to provide them with all the correspondence that went back and forth between you and our organization over time. Yet, in your complaint you write that you can’t get responses and it takes months to get an answer. Perhaps you dropped out of the course. When you finally returned, we had to reinstate your program which is not done in a minute or two. It is an entire process of several days to reinstate a student. In addition, you seem to forget the phone calls you had with our program advisors. As much as you wish to overlook that, you are a dropout.
You are referring to the program as a waste of time; however, you insist on completing it. We know very well that the Teach Young Learners is an excellent program for TEFL graduates and other teachers. The information contained in the program is of unmatched value for individuals who are experts in adult teaching and want to explore the differences in teaching children. It’s a wealth of information in language skill development of young learners. The examples given in the course are a treasure box for English teachers, and I dare to say that they even brush up the skills of teachers who have taught young learners over the years. To get all of that is to replace two semesters of a high-priced college education with meager $95. You cannot get any lower for the value this program provides you with.
In addition, referring to the information as waste would make me (as a parent of one of your young learners in class) extremely worried.
The strangest part of the story is that we write to you to finish up the young learner program, and you don’t send in your last assignments.
A. Blumberg, Program Consultant

Jacob
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Before deciding to enroll ITTI's Paris program, I scoured the internet for weeks diligently investigating the TEFL programs available. After countless hours in front of the computer, I decided to go with ITTI, and I couldn't be happier I did.

Firstly, ITTI's instructors are top self, they truly care about their student and want them to succeed. The classes are small enough that you are able to get the critical one-on-one time needed while becoming a TEFL teacher. Also, you would not believe the support that you get from this program and the people involved with it. At all times of the day (as well as late at night), they were available and would bend over backward to help you in any way they could. When I made the short-sighted mistake of not having a permanent residence to stay at while in Paris, ITTI was there to help! They even called in a several favors with local universities to try to find a dorm for me!

Since this course, I've been sought after by dozens of TEFL organizations looking for teachers. Within a month of receiving my certification, I had received calls from schools in China, Japan, Colombia, and more! I'm currently working with American English Online, setting my own schedule and teaching students in Sozhou, China. What really stands out with this program is the in-class teaching experience it gives you. Not going to lie, it feels really good to write "English teach in Paris, France" on your resume!

And finally, the course is in Paris! Constantly you're surrounded by historic architecture, delicious food and, some of the most fun-loving people you'd ever meet. Also, Paris is just a train ride away from London, Brussels, Barcelona, and dozens of other unique and magnificent cities. I implore you, consider this course, I wouldn't trade my experience with it for the world.

What would you improve about this program?
I wouldn't change much of anything with this course. By far, it exceeded expectations.
Default avatar
Abhilasha Singh
7/10
No, I don't recommend this program

Hello there,
I am writing this review to address an issue here with the course.
Before enrolling for the course I asked multiple times through different E-mails to the course administrator Julie Clement and Andrew if there is job assistance for non-native speakers and if they would help with securing a job after the completion of the course and what are the possibilities of this course for non-native speakers.
They seemed very positive then and said they will be helpful and even their website said "life long job assistance".
I am afraid that I did not get any assistance other than a list of schools in Paris where I need to figure out on my own to get a job.

What would you improve about this program?
Please get in touch with students after the completion of the course if they need help in finding a job.
Default avatar
Dean
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

We were a bit apprehensive upon entering this small classroom but that all disappeared the moment our instructor came into the room. She was an absolute delight and so incredibly knowledgeable. The students were so motivated that I really felt at ease with the training. I learned some very valuable skills through the teaching practice and would gladly go through the program again just for that additional real life experience.

Some parts were more difficult than I had anticipated so you really need to study hard and commit to the program 100%. It can be pretty intense for some, especially people who have poor study habits (ahem, me) so if you don't take it upon yourself to also study the materials that aren't covered in class, you will definitely fail. I ended up cramming the 3 days before finals. Not a fun experience as there was a LOT to cover.

Self-motivation is key here. The first week of teaching practice, be prepared to put in a lot of long nights writing lesson plans, creating materials, and rehearsing. Learn your synonyms because you will need them when introducing new vocabulary.

The workload might wear you out but if you put in the effort upfront and try to get it right as early as possible, it will pay off handsomely. All of the interviews and applications I've had so far have asked me to deliver sample lessons so it really helped to already have a few great ones on hand.

Word to the wise, your co-teacher/partner might have a non-native accent. Get used to it quickly because you'll have the same situation when teaching abroad.

What would you improve about this program?
More of the materials that made it to the exam should be covered in class.
Default avatar
Rachel
5/10
No, I don't recommend this program

The TEFL certificate is very valuable to have in all countries if you wish to teach English. I am glad that I have the certification but I feel as though I was severely overcharged for a 4 week course that I think could have been 2 weeks. I expected to learn a lot but the teaching seemed scattered and we learned very important information at the end of the course. Although I have loved living in Paris this month, I would have saved SO much more money to have taken the certification online. I feel as though I have been very ripped off. I recommend the online course if you are interested in teaching.

Response from International TEFL Training Institute

Dear Rachel:
Thank you for leaving a review about the program in Paris. Let me address the issues you brought up. First, I cannot see an overcharging with 950 Euro (the amount you paid to our school) for your four-week, on-site program. You spent time in a beautiful school, with a teacher in the classroom and free French classes by a private teacher on top of it. There is a cost for all of that.

We are currently investigating the quality issue you brought up with the course not being sufficiently structured. There is a course preparation outline all our trainers have to follow, no matter where they teach the course. We use the same textbooks that are in use at well-known teacher training colleges worldwide.

To suggest to everyone to take an on-line course is doing a disservice to them. You may or may not know that the highest paying schools in the world require certification that the student did a certain amount of teaching practice hours in class. Without this certification, certain schools will not accept them. We are talking about schools in South Korea or in Middle Eastern countries with phenomenal salaries. You, as a graduate from the on-site course can easily get such a job; the people you advise to take an on-line course will not become eligible for employment in these institutions. They have to go and bring proof of the teaching practicum.

Once again, thank you for leaving your review. We will take your words to heart and review our program for improvement wherever there is a possibility. We can, however, not change the tuition that is charged. It is already in a low range compared to other similar programs. Adriana Blumberg, Program Consultant

Kedia
8/10
Yes, I recommend this program

The course was very fun, it was a great experience especially since the school is so well located. My only criticism is that the course is much less intensive than it is advertised to be. This could be a good thing, but personally I was expecting something much more demanding. Also, while the teaching practice was great, I personally want to teach children in the future. Knowing how to teach adults is important but we should have been given the opportunity to learn how to teach children or teenagers, for instance. That could have made the course more demanding, which I think would be good!

What would you improve about this program?
Maybe that's asking for too much, but trainees should practice teaching people of various ages, and not just adults.
Default avatar
Yevgeniya
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

The Tefl course was great. Yana was a wonderful instructor. She was firm but warm and i really appreciated all of her different insights into teaching English as a foreign language. I also value how the course throws you right into teaching so that students are able to get first hand experience right away. The methodology and grammar instruction was also valuable. As I am speech language pathologist, I also found it useful to compare and contrast the way I teach speech and language to my clients and students vs that to adults and also from a teacher of a foreign language perspective.

What would you improve about this program?
I think more career support would be helpful.