• Australia
    • Sydney
52+ weeks
Program Tags
Adventure Travel

Program Details

Guesthouse Hostel
Primary Language


Starting Price
Price Details
The price depends on what option you pick. See website for details
Aug 15, 2019
Sep 15, 2016
8 travelers are looking at this program

About Program

Travelling to Australia has never been better. Xtreme Gap Year's ultimate Australia is an amazing adventure sending you up the East Coast from one adrenalin pumping experience to another. Arriving in Sydney you join our groups and guides and have amazing fun from day one. Work if you want to, and party no doubt, as you travel from Sydney to Cairns just some of the activities below are included:

Skydiving, white water rafting, off-roading on Frazer island, diving the Great Barrier Reef, surfing, koalas spotting and road tripping the epic East coast.

Program Reviews

3.67 Rating
based on 3 reviews
  • 5 rating 66.67%
  • 4 rating 0%
  • 3 rating 0%
  • 2 rating 0%
  • 1 rating 33.33%
  • Housing 4.35
  • Support 4
  • Fun 4
  • Value 3.7
  • Safety 4
Showing 1 - 3 of 3 reviews
Default avatar
Yes, I recommend this program

Best 5 months of my life!

If anyone is considering travelling to Australia with Xtreme Gap my advice is do it! I had the 1st 5 months of my life travelling up the east coast from Sydney to Cairns.

I opted to choose a gap year company because I was travelling on my own, and this company struck me as the most fun. In all it was pretty good value, I saw quite a few shorter tours which were around the same price, so I was a bit sceptical as to whether the package would deliver on my expectations.

Sarah at Xtreme Gap Year was very helpful with answering all my questions before I went away, and I had quite a few of them! She came up with some great suggestions for things for me to do whilst I was away. As for meeting people, I found this pretty easy to do once travelling. The structure of the trip was such that you are constantly meeting new people, and there was a great mix of different adventures as well. I got to snorkel on the Great Barrier Reef, go skydiving but my personal favourite was Fraser island. I was paired up with a group of 6 people in a Land Rover, and got to spend a couple of days camping out under the most amazing stars.

I can understand how this trip wouldn't be for everyone however, because it's flexible you have to set the dates for when you want to do the activities, but actually I found this super easy. Everywhere you stay you can do this in person or via email or telephone. So for me this wasn't an issue, and was a small price to pay for the savings I made compared to more expensive two-week fully guided tours.

What would you improve about this program?
The Xtreme Gap Year website could be better, I found it a bit confusing but the substance of the trip was very good.
25 people found this review helpful.
Default avatar
No, I don't recommend this program

Bad package altogether!

Would not recommend this package to anyone. The schedule of the first few weeks make no sense. Doesn't give you the opotunity to meet people before moving places and starting all over again. Very unprofessional when I wanted to change my trips as I believed their trip didn't give the best experience. Would not refund me. I Think they are making the trip out as something it isn't! Don't book through xtreme gap year! Worst decision I've made!

29 people found this review helpful.
Response from Xtreme Gap Year

Dear Laura,
We are very sorry to read your review and receive a 1 star rating. Whilst we understand the disappointment you face in not being refunded at your request, we did communicate that if you choose not to go on a section of a trip and notify us after departure we are unable to refund you. Our suppliers have been paid already and charge 100% cancellation fees.

You were made aware of this at the time of booking and at several stages through out.

Despite this we were able to arrange for you to reconfirm with our suppliers so you did not loose your money.

Cancellation charges are common with travel companies. For instance if you booked a hotel, did not turn up for your reservation and then asked for your money back 3 days after you were due to check in this would be non refundable. They certainly would not move your reservation forward so you could still stay. We are trying our best to help you Laura so please be fair.

While we genuinely appreciate the feedback of all of our travellers, we do feel some of your comments are premature. We would welcome you contacting us again to discuss your concerns as we are still in the process of helping you. Giving a review of the first few weeks of the trip 5 days into your trip (your start date was the 28th August) is unfair.

You have not even experienced the first few weeks yet, only 3 days.

We understand that your main concern is meeting people, and that you have made new friends in Sydney who you wanted to remain with, and due to this you chose not to depart on the surf section of the trip as organised, and requested a refund to stay with them.

This is a shame as we have over 25 people booked on this section and you certainly would have made new friends and had an incredible time. You still will, as our reservations team is still awaiting to hear from you as to when you wish to reschedule, we encourage you to contact us asap to help get you back on track.

Default avatar
Yes, I recommend this program

Excellent time in Australia with Xtreme Gap Year

I joined Xtreme Gap Year's Ultimate Australia trip in November 2015. This was my first time travelling, so I was looking for a company to book with. I found Xtreme Gap Year very helpful in alleviating my fears prior to travel. Sarah at Xtreme Gap Year, came up with some very good suggestions for sorts of things I could do. We settled on Australia together, because I've always wanted to visit the country, but it seemed like a great experience all in all.

When I arrived, I was made to feel very welcome by the coordinators in Sydney. My trip took me up the east coast from Sydney to Cairns which took me about six weeks to complete. I had lots of activities arranged which I thoroughly enjoyed. My personal highlight was the Surf tour, because I met loads of people and actually got to stand up on a surfboard for the first time in my life!

I found Xtreme Gap Year to be very professional, helpful and great value for money as well. I would definitely recommend them.

What would you improve about this program?
How could this be improved? I had to arrange my own flights, however Xtreme Gap Year did put me in touch with round the world experts who arrange my flights for me so it wasn't really an issue.
29 people found this review helpful.

Questions & Answers