Alumni Spotlight: Callie Norwich

Callie Norwich is a 21 year old girl from Brock University by Niagara falls in Ontario Canada. She is currently in her third year of a BA in English Language and Literature and hopes to become an editor. She loves to travel and has been to 21 countries over 4 of the 7 continents.

Callie and friends in Australia!

Why did you choose to study with University of Canberra?

Callie: Besides the fact that it was this or Perth, it looked like a fun, quirky school with a low student population which is what I am used to back home. I love being able to get to know every student in your class instead of being 1 in a 300 person classroom. The residences looked good, and for all of you applying go for the New Apartments by far the best on campus, and the campus looked like the perfect combo between studious and relaxation.

What made this study abroad experience unique and special?

Callie: Anyones study abroad experience will be unique and special, regardless of where they go because when will you do something like this again? But Canberra is a bit off the beaten track even though it is the Capital, which makes for a closer knit community. I walk onto campus and see 10 people I know in a day and everyone I become friends with is already friends with everyone else without me knowing it. So it’s been great being able to get to know so many people. Everyone is so friendly, easy going and relaxed here it’s impossible not to have a good time.

How has this experience impacted your future?

Callie: I’ve definitely picked up the laid back lifestyle, I mean nothing in comparison to them and my flatmates still tell me to chill out sometimes but I don’t get as wound up about things as I used to. This is the first place I’ve traveled by myself so it has definitely forced me to become more extroverted, which is a good thing. As for academically, I don’t know whether it has had really an impact. As much as I do go to class and the academic side is still a factor, this experience for me at least is more about the experience. The socializing, the traveling and just having fun so academics aren’t really a concern for me down here. As for professionally it will definitely have an impact, I joined a few clubs that are related to my degree and that will look great to future employers.

Describe your experience with this university in 3 words.

Callie: Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. No but seriously “Absolutely no regrets!”

Highlights: The lectures were good and the Professors definitely have a laid back, humorous approach when it comes to teaching. It took me 2 months to get used to calling them by their first names and not their last. But the best thing about school was being able to meet people outside of my flatmates and exchange friends through my classes. You meet a wide range of people that way. Besides that obviously the best thing was meeting friends that I could go traveling the country with. I mean this country is gorgeous and Canberra is pretty central that you don’t have to fly a lot. So traveling by yourself isn’t that big of a deal but it’s so much fun exploring new cities like Melbourne or Sydney with other people. The best part being that I now have an excuse to go visit these people in their own countries and travel all over the world."

Morning: A typical morning for me involves waking up normally between 10am-12pm and saying good morning to my roomie who I share a room with. Sharing a room actually isn’t that bad and it definitely keeps the homesickness at bay. I get up make myself breakfast and if it’s nice out, I eat it in the sun on the balcony. If not I watch some TV on my housemates huge TV setup. Then I either go to class, if I have it, or continue to lounge on the balcony reading a book.

Callie at an aquarium in Australia!

Afternoon: A typical afternoon definitely involves class as all my classes are after 12pm and before 7pm. I go sit in my lectures and then my tutorials. Tutorials are always fun because they lead to all sorts of good debates. If I have a break I’ll go home and make lunch while doing readings for that class. Sometimes my flatmates are home and I will chill in the living room talking to them or watching them play videogames.

Evening: My typical evening consists of making dinner, normally with my roommate as it is easier to cook for 2 and then eating it while watching X-factor and yelling at the judges. After that I normally try to go do some homework and before too long my flatmates convince me to come play shithat (a card game much like president) with them and a few friends. If it is a Wednesday or Thursday or Saturday of course after dinner is when the pre-drinking commences. A few good rounds of beer pong or card games and were off to bars and clubs for the night!