Angloville logo


Angloville is one of the biggest providers of free educational volunteering / cultural exchanges in Europe. We offer ESL-related volunteering experience during which students can discover 7 European countries for free, having their board and lodging in beautiful countryside hotels covered, while helping young European students practise their English. The programme is free to join. We welcome 8000+ participants / year. Featured in: Lonely Planet, Forbes, Fashion Magazine, Travel Magazine, Glasgow Guardian.


Default avatar

I thought this program was too good to be true but it was not! My experience with Poland and Prague was amazing, all the coordinators and the venues are top notch and I got the chance to make some lasting friends with Polish people and Czechs. My best experience was going to Warsaw for the first time and being blown away at how modern and old architecture mix together so well and just the beauty of Poland. I’m definitely going to continue to do more programs.

Yes, I recommend

I had an amazing experience, I met some amazing people and teaching was a pleasure. Getting to know and help students develop their English was rewarding, I had many conversations that were interesting. The students were at different levels which can be challenging but that is a good thing, helping students gain confidence is great and it also helps us as we learn things about ourselves to and I cannot wait to go back again.

Yes, I recommend

So much fun indeed! Meeting new people and adorable kids was really amazing experience!
So many teachers from all over the world, with one wish, to help this kids to improve their english...
Im super proud and happy that i spend two weeks im programs and got the chance to do my TEFL certificate... I would recommend everyone to try their adventure here, for sure they will go back home full of impressions and new friends!

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar

Angloville is a life-changer. In a time when opportunities for young people - and everyone else - are disappearing rapidly, Angloville and their partner PremierTEFL open up a pathway to teaching English as a foreign language that is incredibly fun, inexpensive, and easy enough, but also comprehensive and rewarding in experience. Why do one of those online-only or weekend-only courses for hundreds when Angloville's "AngloTEFL" scholarship lets you do it for a fourth of that cost and take part in their volunteering weeks around eastern Europe? I went all around Poland, a country from which we in the west don't expect much for whatever reason, and had the time of my life! The cities, the hotels, the food, the method, and above all the people -- from the time I stepped into Angloville, I stopped questioning my decision to leave home again and try teaching English. There's simply no better or more fun way to go about it out there. Not only do you get the certification, you get the experience, and you get to know people in a way you wouldn't just staying at hostels or working at a traditional language schools. The best feeling is having participants invite you to their homes after a program because you know they feel as enriched by it as you do; or running into the same people at programs, or coordinating where you'll be staying afterward because they're your new friends. What else can I say? It's amazing. Do it now. :)

How can this program be improved?
I can't think of anything, to be honest. As long as the volunteers take it seriously for the sake of the students, everything is great.
Yes, I recommend

If you’re reading this review, then it means you are looking for a fun volunteer opportunity with a language immersion camp. However, you’re curious to know if it is legit or a scam. Well, first, I will start off this review by letting you know there are many BETTER options. You should instead look into Diverbo and Vaughn Town. These programs have been around for a long time and are very good. Angloville is merely a (poor) copy that is only focused on cashing in.

Is it a scam? Yes, in the truest sense of the world, it is. However, it isn’t the sort of scam you’re used to because it won’t swindle you out of your money – at least not as a volunteer (it will scam you out of your TIME!) (read more below). However, the program does swindle the participants out of their money. They charge them an absurd amount of money (from 800€ for Juniors to 1300€ for Adults) for a horrible six days of “language immersion”. This program which operates in Eastern Europe is far more expensive than English camps in England…which is ridiculous.

If you’ve found Angloville, it’s because you’ve heard of it through word-of-mouth or online marketing. This company is very good at utilizing those avenues. It’s how they get their “cash cow” participants and their unsuspecting volunteers. Just because it’s one of the first programs you see organically on a Google search does NOT mean it’s good.

The Work
Angloville promises a free, fun and relaxed holiday experience for a week. However, this is so far from reality. For the six days at the camp, you will be working all day from 9 am to 9 pm (12 hours!) - absolute slave labor. You will never have time or energy to enjoy any of the amenities. The program is very unorganized and relies heavily on the volunteers to figure out how to make it a worthwhile experience for the participants. Even if you were getting paid some sort of stipend (which you’re not), it would not be worth doing; because by the end of the week, you will feel worse than when you first arrived!

I’ve volunteered many times before throughout my life, but have NEVER been treated like a work horse and with so much disregard.

The Venue
ALL of the venues are quite a distance away from the main cities – usually in the middle of nowhere. Some of the programs venues are nicer than others, but none are as nice as they should be for the price that the participants are paying (anywhere from 800€ – 1300€). The staff at these venues are usually very rude, there is never working Wi-Fi since the venues are far from any cell towers, many of the amenities are non-functioning, and very poor options of food.

The company cuts corners with their venues in order to pocket as much as possible. I stayed at a venue which was terrible. However, I was told many nightmare stories from other volunteers about the worse venues that they were placed before.

You are typically put in a small room with two other participants. There’s never much space to really settle in and get comfortable. Also, you are partnered with volunteers who could be much younger or older than yourself and with vastly different personalities. It is not uncommon for fights and uncomfortable situations with roommates to take place.

The Food
The food was absolutely atrocious. We were served the grossest meals such as pasta with yogurt (YES, with YOGURT on top), gross dumplings, and a plethora of other unappetizing and unhealthy options. The volunteers and participants with dietary constraints often had a difficult time getting fed.

Many of the junior participants told me they had much better food at their school cafeteria!

The Staff
I felt terrible for the staff, many of whom seemed completely worn out and void of happiness. I can imagine they are miserable, as it seems the senior management of Angloville doesn’t value anything but their bank accounts. And it’s a real shame because some of the staff are actually good people.

The Volunteers
The volunteers of Angloville all come from different walks of life. Some are old and some are very young. Some are native speakers and some are learned speakers. Some are nice and cool, and others awkward and quiet. There is high school clique-ness that often occurs, which is annoying to be around. There have been many times where there were fights amongst the volunteers. I believe a couple of stressful days stranded far away from the mainland with this abusive program takes its toll on people.

The Participants
The participants are absolutely great. However, I’m certain this isn’t something that is unique to this program. I would imagine all camps throughout the EU have great participants. The people who participate in these programs are children and adults who are truly interested in improving their English and enjoying a week of camp. They are very enthusiastic and you can become very attached to them in such a short time.

I must say that it really hurts me to know they are getting taken advantage of by this scam-like program that is charging them absurd amounts of money and given very little in return.

Better Alternatives
If you really want to volunteer your time and energy for a language immersion camp, then I would highly urge you to do so with one that values your time and offers the best experience. I have heard amazing things about Diverbo and Vaughn Town. Volunteers of theirs say it's the best experience. Great venues, great food, great people, very organized. I’ve never done either of these programs, but I trust my sources. Do some research of your own into these and make the best decision.

Response from Angloville

Dear Kinelam

We are quite confused about your review as you did email us after completing your Angloville experience (3 programmes) stating in your email: “I enjoy working with Angloville and plan to do more programs in the future” (exact quote) while also asking to cover the train ticket for the train you had missed through your own fault. After hearing the coordinator was unable to do so, your attitude towards the organization seems to have drastically changed, which we feel was the motive for this unfavorable review.

We are always open and happy to hear constructive criticism as we would love to make these programmes better for people like yourself, so if you do have some, please do not hesitate to email us at: [email protected], we would love to hear from you!
Anyway, without any prejudice we would like to address the points you raised in your review. The review seems to be, however, full of unconfirmed assumptions – we leave these aside as we do not see the point in discussing things which are not facts.

You describe the experience as a ‘scam’ and ‘slave labour’ yet after completing the first programme, you voluntarily chose to do another week with Angloville and then yet another week (totaling 3), we find this a little confusing… :) .

Work - The days are indeed long, but we never wanted the participants to treat Angloville as ‘work’. We believe this is not the essence of a language & cultural programme. We hope you do not consider talking about your interests with other people as work. We do not ask to teach the language, but to talk about stuff you find fun and play games. It is an intensive experience (and we are very transparent about it on our website: “You must be ready to talk for 12 hours a day”).. However, if this seems like “labour” then with all due respect maybe one chooses to attend Angloville for the wrong reasons (we hope not).

Venues – all participants are free to choose whatever venue they like. Hotels are indeed located in countryside areas and this works great as a setting for an immersion programme . All hotel venues can be found online on websites with independent ratings, such as and . One can choose the one that meets their expectations.

Participants - You referred to the student experience. We do appreciate that feedback but we prefer to measure the level of student satisfaction via direct contact with the students. The fact is we have over 50% of our students coming back for another programme – this is the most rewarding feedback. We are proud of this number and this is not only thanks to the formula and work the team puts in preparing and running the programmes but also due to the WONDERFUL individuals, the English speakers, coming from all over the world to meet our students. We can’t stress enough how we appreciate their involvement, great energy and enthusiasm!

Also, hundreds of great English-speaking participants each year attend 2 or more programmes, with a large group who have been with us during 10+ programmes in various destinations  We feel privileged to have them on board.

Clearly, we feel you may be recommending other companies (which paradoxically you claim you have never tried yourself) and that’s great. We recommend them too  Anything that serves education and cross-cultural exchange is great! Happy to hear you found a better fit for yourself.

Wish you good luck for any future undertaking!

Hope you have a wonderful day,
The Angloville Team

No, I don't recommend

Angloville Programs

Displaying 10 - 13 of 13