Travel Italy and Become TEFL-TP Certified with A.C.L.E.

Video and Photos

About

This is an exciting opportunity to train as an English-language teacher in Italy with one of the country’s most well-respected educational organisations. A.C.L.E. has over 35 years experience educating Italian students and teachers, as well as mother-tongue tutors, in its unique approach to language-teaching.

Each summer we welcome around 400 tutors from across the world, to teach on around 300 camps. We believe that the cultural exchange that is experienced during this program is undoubtedly one of the highlights.

Highlights
  • Strengthen your résumé by becoming TEFL.TP certified
  • Receive expert training during an orientation week
  • Travel & teach all over Italy at our numerous summer camps
  • Live with host families and fully immerse yourself in local culture and traditions, as well as learn or practice some Italian
  • Build lasting friendships and lifelong memories with people from all over the world, your host families, and the children you’ll teach at camp

Questions & Answers

Yes, technically we look to recruit native English speakers. However if you are a near native English speaker and you have a high proficiency in English your application will be considered.
Once you receive your job offer, we normally ask you to confirm your flight details within 3 weeks time in order to secure your place at Orientations. Then we'll ask you to send us a copy of your flight receipt. After that time, if you have not been able to purchase your flight for any reason you should contact us.
It depends on the family you stay with and the town or city in which you are placed. Be open to differences in each place you are tutoring and try not to worry if at first it seems like you aren't happy with your situation because 1) there is most likely a miscommunication or misunderstanding; take time in a different conversation to bring up your concerns, expectations for outings etc. Ask for...
If you haven't found out already: it's definitely worth emailing the English Office, they always want new tutors and can be flexible on some deadlines if need be. And if you don't get to apply this year, I would definitely recommend you try again next year, it was an AMAZING opportunity, loved it so much last year :)

Reviews

86%
based on 46 reviews
  • Benefits 7.7
  • Support 7.6
  • Fun 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Safety 8.9
  • Instruction 9.4
  • Support 8.7
  • Value 9.3
  • Academic Rigor 6.3
  • Job Assistance 8.9
Showing 31 - 45 of 46
Default avatar
Chris
9/10

Amazing

I had never been to Italy before. ACLE completely prepared me with a week of training at a beautiful mountain resort. What followed training was one of the most important experiences of my life! I saw Rome, Florence, Siena, Venice, Brescia, the Amalfi Coast, the Dolomites, and countless works of art and pieces of priceless history. The host families welcomed me whole-heartedly, and gave me the best of what they had to offer. I even learned some Italian, and by the end of three months, I could contribute to a conversation around the dinner table. Meanwhile, ACLE gave me a huge amount of material to work with. The tutor manual has so many songs, games, and activities that I couldn't possibly utilize them all. I felt the material was appropriately adjusted for the different levels, especially since the development of Process Drama for the older students. Even though Process Drama is challenging and needs some fine-tuning, it demonstrates how committed ACLE is to developing exciting, innovative teaching methods. I learned more than I can possibly write here, and I would recommend ACLE to any one I meet.

How can this program be improved?
Process Drama (the material for the older students) needs a little simplification.
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
HEATHER
9/10

Bella Italia

2015 was made incredibly special by ACLE. After graduating from university I craved adventure and a unique working life. From January to June I took part in ACLE's Theatrino Standard Tour - performing fairytales and comedy sketches in Italian schools. Although the work was exhausting; I thoroughly enjoyed the diversity of each day. It was an enriching experience and I always felt a sense of achievement as I left a school knowing that our work had made a positive impact.

I knew that when I left Italy in June I would miss the people, culture and work so the opportunity to work as a tutor was an easy decision to make. I persuaded my sister to join me on my second Italian adventure and she too fell in love with this beautiful country.

In order to be a successful tutor you have to inject personality, enthusiasm and passion into every working day. Being an English Tutor is an extremely rewarding experience and ACLE really need tutors who are imaginative, creative and fun-loving. Trust me - life is so much easier at camp when everyone is working their hardest! ACLE is like an extended Italian family and my time working with them has been unforgettable. They deserve to have tutors who want to make a positive change in the Italian scholastic system.

How can this program be improved?
Perhaps they could be a little more selective with tutors, so that the problems raised in previous reviews would be unlikely to happen. ACLE need more people to apply so that they can send out amazing tutors to the camps. The children deserve to have tutors who love what they are doing and support ACLE and their goals.
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Sam
9/10

Rewarding Experience

I think my headline explains itself. I love to travel and I am studying to be a teacher so ACLE caught my attention early on. However timing was never quite right for me to pack up my bags and leave for an entire summer. My family and friends finally convinced me to do it and I am so glad they did. I learned so much from my experience. It was amazing to work with people from all over the world. I tried to learn from everyone's different approaches to teaching because everyone has their own way of doing things. In doing so, I learned a lot about myself as well.

The days are long, hot and exhausting but seeing those children having so much fun at camp made everything worth it.

Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Lydia
1/10

DON'T DO IT TO YOURSELF!!!!

I started out my ACLE experience three years ago and quite frankly if I had to go right into detail of all of the pros and cons I would be here all day(only with the cons). So, I'll narrow it down and cut to the chase(or at least try). ACLE claim they are a 'non profit organisation' when in fact they are anything but. They offer NO contract. In hindsight, it sounds great: A summer living it up in Italy with free food and accommodation, amazing experience bla bla.. Generally, this is the case.

However, you could be placed with DREADFUL camp directors ( I had 3 awful ones out of 9 camps so not bad). Think ACLE will help? THINK AGAIN!
Also, you could be placed in a single family home- I had the two WORST TWO WEEKS OF MY ENTIRE LIFE!! The sheer lack of food and general care for me was incomprehensible- told, not asked to babysit (families are told by ACLE not to do this), gritty neighbourhoods where I genuinely was afraid to walk through and not to mention the family's general lack of wanting me to be there.
The ACLE office do not care about you! No, I am not just saying this.. they literally DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU!

They will mislead you about where you are going to be placed (eg, I asked to be placed near to my airport city and of course, classic ACLE sent me three hours away even though their staff told me BEFORE I BOOKED MY TICKET FOR ITALY that I would be placed in that particular city).
The money is NOT worth the experience- and I really mean that. While I have had three fantastic summers (because of my students, tutors and families not ACLE) it does in NO WAY make up for it. You are literally working from 8:30-5/5:30 everyday not to mention your travel day (Saturday) and get paid a measly 240 a week-JOKE!!!!! I could work less hours at home in Ireland a week and get more!
They don't send enough materials to camp-EVER!
The new teaching method is useless. If you know anything about TEFL you will not support their new 'teaching methods'- if it deserves that name even- I'm convinced a monkey came up with some of the ideas but that would be insulting all monkeys!!

Now, just to make it clearer for you.. some pros and cons...

Pros:

Teaching in one of the most beautiful countries in the world.

Get to visit places tourists would never go because you are living with Italians.

Amazing food and weather 99% of the time.

Easy and handy flights if you're travelling from Ire/UK.

They pay on time (see cons).

Make new friends.

Life experience.

Cons:

Although they pay on time, they might as well give you a bag of peanuts- because that's what it feels like they're paying (at least they taste nice too).

DISORGANISED

They don't give two shizzles about you and you better believe it.

Favouritism exists within this company like there is no tomorrow.

They will drop you like the drop of a hat if you give them the slightest problem and remember-NO CONTRACT so there is no proof that you ever worked for them (no, your FB posts and pictures of your amazing Italian experience won't help you here, SOZ!).

They will go out of their way to do whatever the opposite of what you asked them to do (Because they are... I'll let you fill in the blanks).

You could work with amazing tutors- or total know-it-alls who actually know NOTHING.

Camp directors can be USELESS and/or control freaks.

Your host family can smother you (especially if it's their first time to have a tutor).

Long hours for a sometimes not so rewarding job.

Travelling on the trains is awful and you are sometimes left without a seat on a long journey.

You may have to share a room with a tutor (terrible situation if you don't really see eye-to-eye).

THEY ARE A TERRIBLE COMPANY-seriously, three years, nine camps, and ten host families later I don't know how I ever went back to them. I would NOT recommend this company to anybody!!!

Go elsewhere around Europe, even around Italy- you owe it to yourself!
The stress and hassle of putting up with ACLE is not worth it!

Response from A.C.L.E.

First of all, we would like to say that we respect your honesty and would never have imagined that your time with ACLE would have caused you so much distress.

We would however like to respond to some points made in your review.

The first being that ACLE offers no contract. This is very true as tutors are not employed by ACLE. This is a very important point to make. All tutors are taking part in a TEFL-Theatre and Play course for which you receive a certificate and the support of a study grant.

ACLE is, at it's core, a study programme. It's a way for people, in many cases with no prior TEFL experience, to gain an introduction to the TEFL industry and focus on it from the specific angles of drama, songs and games. All of our tutors are here as willing volunteers.

Yes the hours are long and can be exhausting. However at the end of the day the enthusiasm and contribution from our tutors is making hundreds of Italian children happy, and provided a positive contribution to their education.

You also brought up an issue with camp directors and host families. It is unfortunate that you did not raise these issues with us at the time as it would be a problem that could have been dealt with.

Host families are often commented as one of the best parts of ACLE as you are welcomed into their homes with open arms. It is a shame that you did not receive this experience.

We receive queries from tutors everyday and always do our best to help tutors have the best experience possible. We are sorry if you beleive that this is not the case, however nothing could be further from the truth.

The last week of camps we see over 300 tutors leaving Italy from various airports. This means that we have to get everyone within easy travelling distance. Your grievance here is perhaps down to a difference in opinion; we would not consider a 2.5 hour train journey a difficult distance. Additionally we always provide help when tutors need travel information; you yourself were sent train times and options. We never (and you certainly were not) tell tutors they will be in a particular city, we say we will get you as close as possible. Again this may be a difference in opinion as with camps all across Italy, your camp was one of the closest although may not seem that way from your prospective.

It is in fact noted in our welcome pack that tutors are advised not to book flights 'any earlier than saturday afternoon, preferably sunday'. This is to avoid situations like the one that you found yourself in.

We are sorry that your experience with us this year has not been a great one. However, having returned to ACLE for 3 years to be part of the study programme, use our teaching methods and accept the study grant it is surprising to see you now show contempt for them.

We hope you find a better experience in the future.

No, I don't recommend this program
Default avatar
Rosie
8/10

How Milan became my new favourite place.

During my final week of camps I was lucky enough to be placed in Milan. I had the youngest group of children which I was initially really worried about due to the language barrier. However, my students were all absolutely amazing and an absolute pleasure to teach all week - and in some cases their English level was really good! During my free time I got the chance to explore the city and I very quickly fell in love. Milan feels exciting and like there is always something happening. We stumbled across Milano Film Festival one night which was an absolutely amazing experience; watching short films from all over the world on a big screen in the middle of the park was something that I will never forget.

How can this program be improved?
It would be great if the tutors had a full day of free time to either explore their city or have time to themselves during the weekend.
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Zola
9/10

ADVENTURE TURNED INTO A PASSION

Alright where do I start? I am 22. Just finished varsity. I was not enjoying the 'office' environment. I found ACLE. And the following happened; I received my degree, bought a flight ticket, resigned form my desk and off I went putting all my ambition, adventure, hope into a company I had never heard of. I have not looked back. This 3 month adventure became one of the most spirit filling, passion igniting moments of my life. I met beautiful people, from the orientation week, host families, directors, students and of course fellow tutors and ACLE staff. I found out that I am passionate about education and the revolutionary system of teaching that is encourages these Italian students to learn English. If there is one place I would recommend to enjoy a summer and perhaps jetstart your life...ACLE is it!

How can this program be improved?
Means of payment through PayPal is frustrating for those countries that don't accept the bank accounts. PLEASE reconsider that payment method.
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Leoni
9/10

Bellisimo experience!

My First time in Europe! Who doesn't want to travel through the gorgeous Italy, experience the culture and living for free with authentic Italian families. The families go out of their way to accommodate you and show you the best time in Italy, the best food of that area, Gelateria's and more. Our Assistants at one camp was amazing, I am still friends with them. They organised a whole trip to the sea by Rimini where there was Famous Music Festival that weekend. I will never forget that weekend. I was also very fortunate to get placed in a 2 week camp in Sardinia, the beautiful Italian Island with transparent turquoise waters. Our family took us on a boat trip to all the famous beaches - it was breathtaking. BEST WEEKEND EVER! My time is Italy was unforgettable, it is hard work everyday and tiring. But it is all worth it when you can eat a mouthwatering gelato on the hot pebble streets of Florence or swim in the Mediterranean ocean by Sardinia and get paid for it.

How can this program be improved?
Some of the materials were not always provided. This creates problems. like some classes worksheets, portfolios, big craft paper, this is essential for everyone and the activities. Some Directors were not as professional as they were supposed to be in giving feedback or instructions and the helpers at most camps couldn't speak English and they were on the cellphones the whole time and doesn't want to participate in the activities. But overall, these were minor things and the Good and Positive things over ruled these things.
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Shirley
10/10

A Fantastic Experience

I cannot put into words how much I loved this summer - the tutors, Italian people, families, helpers and children were all so amazing. I got to see so much of beautiful Italia and I am so grateful.

Overall I was at four camps - 3 two week camps and one 1 week camp. I was fortunate enough to begin camp up near Milan and was then moved down outside of Rome, then outside of Naples and then moved back up again to a small town outside of Milan.
I took the opportunities at the middle weekend of my two week camps to explore the amazing cities of Italy with my fantastic co-workers. I got the opportunity to visit Milan, Pompeii and even Venice where we booked hostels and stayed the weekend. My host families were more than happy to give me advice as to where to go and bring me to the train stations. During my one week camp outside of Rome my host family brought me on a grand tour to see all the major attractions and even to the Vatican. I was truly spoiled.

You need a lot of energy and enthusiasm to work at these camps. My biggest camp had 11 tutors and 115 children! I was crazy. The children are crazy, but it was so much fun. I bonded with my class and got to know so much from other tutors about their lives and culture. Of course there was different personalities and everyone was so creative and wanted their ideas heard, but at the end of the day it was about putting the children first and not fighting among ourselves, and we got on great and all the activities were fantastic (and were useful in draining some of the children's energy). Also, tactical 15 naps during our breaks also helped keep our own energy up to keep going during the day.

The hardest thing for me was leaving my families, especially when I was with them for two weeks. They were all so inviting and considerate. I didn't have one bad experience. It was sad to leave them and then open your heart to a new family, but the new families were always so good it was easy to fit in right away. Italian families live off of What's App and I am still in contact with them all.

ACLE always paid on time and I worked for a full seven weeks. We were asked if we needed a break in the middle to go on hold for a week, but I wanted to work so didn't take the offer. The camps are tiring, but so worth it. I like a good sleep in, but not once did I complain about getting up at 7 in the morning because I loved my job and I wanted to work.

I had a great social life - both with the families and my co-workers. The families sometimes paired up with another tutors family and would show us around together or go out for dinner. There was never a problem when I asked if I could meet up with the other tutors. Sometimes even the helpers and assistants would join us on a night out which was great because they knew where to bring us.

There is so much more I could write about my experience this summer. I didn't want to come home I loved it so much. I would and hopefully will go back next summer or the summer after. I now have friends all over Italy and all over the world after working with such amazing people. I recommend ACLE to everyone.

How can this program be improved?
There was always a shortage of markers! Send out more markers with the equipment! At least one box per class, if not two!
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Ems
9/10

Summer of a lifetime

If you're an easy-going, open-minded, positive and enthusiastic person then this is the way to spend your summer. ACLE allows you to experience Italy in a way that no holiday ever could - by being totally immersed in authentic Italian life. The host families for me were by far the best part of the experience - all my families were just incredible. They will go above and beyond to ensure you feel comfortable, welcome and FULL in their family home. My families were eager to bring me to visit local sites of interest as well as take me to events, parties and family gatherings - you really are part of the family, but equally they understood if I wanted some time to myself or a night out with the other tutors. Some of them spoke little or no English which at first was daunting but as long as you approach the situation with a positive attitude it's fine - you'll be surprised how much Italian you pick up and how far their English progresses in the week or two you stay with them!

Camp life is .....exhausting but simultaneously amazing. One thing to stress is that you MUST love working with children! Entertaining up to 100 kids who don;t speak your language for hours every day is tough and you need passion to get through it. However it's also fantastic fun and the days fly by. ACLE prepare you really well at orientation with songs and games and you're always working in a team at camp so you have plenty of support from other tutors, helpers, assistants and directors.

In general I found ACLE to be very prompt and helpful in replying to any questions or queries i had about anything - they are always there on the phone or e-mail. Also all my camp directors (who speak English) were really helpful and there to help you with any difficulties you have.

Unlike some of the other posts on the forum, I enjoyed the social life ! Possibly it depends on the tutors you are working with but most days after camp we would go for a spritz....or two....and head to the local nightclub/beach party Friday nights. In general I think the ACLE experience is all about what you make of it. If you are the type of person who lets the slightest difficulty get you down, it's probably not for you. If you are adventurous, up for trying new things and tend to see the positive in challenging situations, you will learn a lot and have an incredible time. One of my favourite things about the program was that you never knew where in Italy your next camp would be until 3 days before you had to leave! It's all about making the most of the moment. And make sure you travel when you're finished in camp!

How can this program be improved?
The pay, while reasonable, could be increased especially for return tutors - considering you have to pay for your own flight to Italy.

Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Jessica
8/10

Not for everyone, but solid program

If you take this program for what it is, you can have the time of your life. No- you aren't going to be able to make much money,or any if you are traveling from afar. No, you are probably not going to have an amazing social life- most of your evenings will be spent with host families. There is not any flexibility in terms of where you go, who you go with or stay with, what you eat, your sleeping arrangements (I once shared a bunk bed with a kid...) your daily schedule etc. You have to be SUPER flexible. You also need endless energy and to genuinely enjoy working with kids. But it does offer you an opportunity to see the real Italy like no tourist possible could, and make connections (with Italian families and tutors from around the world) that last a lifetime. 5 years later I am still in touch with host families and fellow tutors. Here is the low down:

PROS
- they do pay, and pay on time. In Italy this is rare
- host families tend to be awesome and extremely hospitable
-you get to see the "real Italy" and small town life
- fellow tutors include lots of very cool interesting young people
- the kids can be very cute (but beware- see below)
- assuming you get work, you won't pay for a thing during your camp weeks.
- one of the only jobs in Italy you can have without a work visa (but tach out see below)
- I actually made more money with acle than I did later on working for a language school in Italy. That's not saying much, but still...

CONS
-some tutors can be obnoxious and immature.
-if you aren't a great tutor you will probably be put "on hold" with no work, pay, and often no place to stay (have money set aside to travel)
- if you do work the whole time, there is no time for a social life or travel- camp will be your life.
- sometimes you will feel like you are being held hostage by your host family. They will want to spend every waking moment with you,
- you will likely spend most of your summer around Milan and bergamo- that's where the work is.
- the are some camp directors who are genuinely crazy and make your life miserable. On the flip side there are amazing ones too.
- the company recently got investigated for tax evasion. This doesn't surprise me at all. They are very disorganized and claim that you are a "volunteer" to get around work visas. The whole thing is a little shady, but won't affect you if you are just looking for a fun, unique summer experience.
-the office definitely plays favorites- their favorites are clear at orientation, and those people will continually get the best assignments.

I would definitely recommend this, but only for those who are willing to accept the above conditions. For me it was worth it, but it's definitely not for everyone.

How can this program be improved?
-Less tutor favoritism among office staff
- Realistic expectations for tutors
-More transparency.
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
KC
1/10

Worst Decision of my Life

I enjoyed my first several weeks with ACLE and the host families were amazing. The little kids are super adorable and will fall in love with you immediately. Orientation was great and I felt quite prepared. However, I started having issues with the other tutors early on. I got along with most of them, but every once in a while you WILL get a tutor who will think his/her opinion and teaching style is superior to all other tutors. I only had one other tutor like this in my entire summer, but the other tutors, including me, did not feel like we were able to give the best week to the kids. It is difficult to work with domineering individuals with big personalities, but that does occasionally happen in this job.

During one of my camps, I was placed with a few other tutors who, for some reason or another, hated people of my nationality (I was the only one from my country there, as was the case in most camps). Starting before the first day, I was already subjected to the worst stereotypes of people from my country. The other tutors would use some pretty offensive words to describe me, my country, and my people but then tack on the obligatory "no offense," as if that made it okay.

It got to the point where the other tutors were shouting at me in front of the kids. This was often because they would plan afternoon activities differently than what we discussed and I, not knowing of the changes, would somehow manage to screw it all up. I do not want to get into the details but just know that I was both verbally and physically intimidated. In no way is it ever proper for another tutor to become physical with a coworker, especially the way these people handled me. It was dehumanizing and embarrassing. I don't believe that this was an issue with me, because the rest of my camps went perfectly. I was usually sent off with other people who were just like me. For some reason, I just landed with a couple of people with very strong prejudices.

Of course, as other reviews have said, ACLE does not take complaints very well. I think that they have gotten better than they have been in the past, but there is still no proper support structure for tutors having my kind of experience. To be honest, I could go way deeper into all of the issues I had with this group. I don't have to over exaggerate because what happened to me was completely and totally inappropriate and unprofessional.

No, I don't recommend this program
Default avatar
TeacherTraveler
9/10

Wonderful Summer

I spent 6 weeks working with ACLE and had a great time. Overall I found the other tutors and the camp directors to be friendly and helpful, the host families to be very accommodating, and the country to be beautiful. I never ran into any problems with a lack of camp materials and the one time I had a serious problem at camp (we had a horrible camp director), ACLE staff were very supportive. It is exhausting work and if you're coming from far away, you're lucky to break even, but I had a wonderful time and would highly recommend the program.

How can this program be improved?
Being put on hold, without income or a place to stay is a major concern. When I was put on hold, I vacationed, but if ACLE offered more emergency housing, it would help put tutors at ease (especially those from the US who cannot easily return home on short notice).
Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
AmyP
5/10

ACLE do not care about their employees

On paper it looks great: travel around Italy, teaching English to cute children and live with host families. And when that's actually what's happening, it is wonderful. But ACLE have no qualms about leaving you in the lurch without work or a place to stay at the last minute and sometimes send you to camps with no host families and put you in a flat, miles away from where you're working, with hardly any supplies. Sometimes, as happened to me once, with no supplies at all. If you dare to say to the office that you don't think their treatment of you is unfair you will receive such a rude telling-off (you think you can stand up for yourself? This is ACLE, think again) as you've ever had in your life.
ACLE are not stupid, they know they're onto a goldmine with this scheme: there are always plenty of people who would love to come to Italy for the summer - and so they do not treat their employees with any respect whatsoever. Why? Because there's always someone else there waiting to take their place. Why treat someone well if you can easily replace them? I'm sorry to say this but employee satisfaction and happiness means nothing to these people and there are other companies who are much better. Stay well away from ACLE.

No, I don't recommend this program
Default avatar
Karina
2/10

HORRIBLE ORGANIZATION- STAY AWAY

My one advice to you if you want to travel and work- get a work visa, pick ANY other company, anything but STAY AWAY from ACLE. This organization lures you in with the idea you will be traveling, but they do not have any intentions to follow through with what they say. I want to share with you my experience as an example of how horrible they were to me.

Before buying my ticket, I consulted with them and asked if I would have at least 8 weeks of work. I was told yes, definitely. So I purchased a flight and sent them my flight information (one of their requirements). ACLE knew that I would be in Italy for 10 weeks. I arrived, paid for one week of orientation, and I was off. First 2-week camp was near Rome and the host family was a dream. I was sad to leave them but I was sent to Sicily for the next two weeks. The train ride was 12 hours- and the train ticket ACLE gave me did not guarantee me a seat. I ended up sitting in the hall of the train and had to get up and move every stop so people could get through. I should have seen this trip as an ominous sign.

My camp in Sicily got off to a great start. First week was fine. That first weekend though I started feeling ill. I went to the doctor and it was confirmed- I had chicken pox. One of the children in my previous camp had had it, and although unlikely, as a 22 year old, I got this strain of chicken pox. Of course, I couldn't go to work that week, because I risked getting everyone sick. I called ACLE and told them that I couldn't work, but that the doctor told me that the following Monday I would be all clear to work with children again.

ACLE: Oh sorry, we can't offer you any more work.
Me: WHAT? I'm here for another 5 weeks. I need a job, how am I going to survive?
ALCE: We're very sorry but there's nothing we can do. We have no more work for you.
Me: You told me you had at least 8 weeks of work for me. I can work next week. I can travel to any camp this weekend.
ACLE: Sorry nothing we can do.

These people effectively left me stranded in Italy for 5 weeks. They knew I was from the United States and couldn't just hop on a flight back home.
I speak Italian fairly well and tried to get a job as a waitress, but of course couldn't because I didn't have a work visa- because they didn't require me to get one.
They never called to see how I was, or to offer me any camps. Friends I made in orientation told me they were told they wouldn't be offered work for several weeks, also leaving them stranded.
They effectively ruined a trip I thought was going to be unforgettable.
Don't let them do the same to you.

STAY AWAY FROM ACLE.

No, I don't recommend this program
Default avatar
calirine
7/10

Definitely an eye opener.

If you're looking to do this job to MAKE money, forget about it (unless you're from England and the air fare isn't outrageous to get there), because ACLE doesn't supply airfare, pays fairly well but not enough to cover air expenses, and will honestly leave you hanging if they don't have a place for you, and on top of that they don't really take complaints well.
However, if you want to see the world, enjoy working with kids, and have a lot of energy, this is a great experience. It allows you to travel around a lot (well, depending on what your placements are like), have a place to stay and food to eat (while you have a job - they don't guarantee a job every week), and indeed meet people you will never forget.
You had better have a strong heart and get ready to be lonely, especially if you don't speak Italian, because ACLE doesn't place you with friends, and if they don't hire you for a week then you're seriously on your own. Learn how to make friends with people who will help you out, give you a place to stay, or can at least speak a little English.
It was an unforgettable experience and I'm glad I did it, but I can say I won't ever do it again.

Yes, I recommend this program

Interviews

Meet the Alumni

Meet the Staff

About A.C.L.E.

A.C.L.E. (Associazione Culturale Linguistica Educational) is a non-profit organisation accredited by the Italian Ministry of Education. A.C.L.E. promotes student-centred learning, and is the first association in Italy to use T.I.E. (Theatre in...