Intern OZ and Intern NZ
86% Rating
(39 Reviews)

Intern OZ and Intern NZ

New Testimonials added!!

Read more reviews and watch review videos on our Testimonials page!

Intern OZ and Intern NZ provide customised internship programmes in Australia and New Zealand. Internships are of varying lengths from 6 weeks to one year and are in all industries. We work with organisations in Australia and New Zealand that offer professional internships designed to meet academic requirements and provide in depth industry knowledge.

Internship host organisations welcome you as part of their team and are committed to the internship learning experience. We also provide a full set of support services such as accommodation, orientations, airport pick ups, 24/7 emergency support and events centred around the international internship experience to ensure your time in Australia or New Zealand is a wonderful, safe and life enriching experience.



InternNZ and Intern OZ gave me the perfect internship I could ask for. They organize events and weekend trips, so you meet other interns from all over the world. That is how I found my travel mate for after my internship. They make sure you have a great time during your internship. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an internship! New Zealand is famous for the travel possibilities, so you will definitely know that you will not be stuck at work. I choose to start my internship three weeks earlier, so I could travel more afterward. After my internship, I did a road trip around the South Island and it was the best holiday I had so far. When I went back to my university, I noticed that my English improved a lot compared to the students who stayed home, which was a nice surprise.

How can this program be improved?
I don't know how it could improve. InternNZ help me every way I wanted and I could not have asked for more. Of course, you want to find out things for yourself and they gave me the freedom to do that.
Yes, I recommend
Default avatar

My intent in posting this review is to share my experience, and keep this from happening to others.

I’ve been apart of a few study abroad programs (including a different internship abroad), and have worked with international education programs in my home country, and I am saddened by the lack of care that Intern NZ shows in their business practices.

From the start, InternNZ wasn’t great to work with, it took them weeks to respond to me, they were never clear in answering my questions (I always had to send several follow ups), and I decided to chalk all this up to differences in work culture, but learned later that this isn’t common.

InternNZ hosts their Auckland interns in Unistay, a hostel. I did not find this out until 3 days before my flight to NZ. Beforehand, when I had agreed to pay for housing through InternNZ I was under the impression that I would be flatting with people, as InternNZ never stated that I’d be staying in a hostel – this is a misunderstanding that you can find in many of the reviews of InternNZ, and they still haven’t clarified this for interns, which speaks volumes.

The cleanliness of the hostel isn’t great. The bathrooms are mixed gender, with one bathroom (located far from most rooms) being for women only. Sharing such an intimate space is something that I could have warmed up to, if Intern NZ had been honest about this. I told an employee of Intern NZ that I didn’t feel safe, but they didn’t offer any real solution. On multiple occasions there was no soap or toilet paper in the bathrooms.

The kitchen is community based, which itself is a fun thing, but the kitchen equipment you’re provided is lacking in quality. A lot of the “amenities” at Unistay are broken (broken toilets, showers, stove burners, etc.) You have to pay for internet, and laundry (this is on top of the extremely high rent).

The room you stay in, if it’s like mine, is very small. This didn’t bother me, but the rent I was paying was almost 100 dollars more a week than the rest of the tenants, who didn’t go through InternNZ. This is in addition to a 400 dollar administration fee paid at the booking. When I tried to contact InternNZ about this, they dodged my questions, but eventually clarified saying that the fee was necessary because they lease the rooms from Unistay. I asked how the fees for housing broke down before arriving, and this was never mentioned.

After much thought, I decided to leave early, and attempted to get a housing refund. In total, they would continue to neglect my calls for almost 3 weeks, I was told on 5 separate occasions that they would call me back at a specific time, but didn’t. They finally called me back and told me that I couldn’t be refunded because I had decided to leave my internship. This goes against InternNZ’s terms and conditions, which I then read to the employee I spoke to. She told me that she’d have to speak to her boss. It took almost a month, but when she contacted me, she told me that Unistay wasn’t accepting cancelations, so I couldn’t be refunded.

After my final decision to leave, I informed InternNZ of my decision, and they didn’t ask why I wanted to leave, or if I was okay. They just wanted to make it clear that I wasn’t getting any money back.

How can this program be improved?
I hope that InternNZ improves their communication, clarity, and procedure for helping interns.
Response from Intern OZ and Intern NZ

Hi Kaitlin,

Thank you for your feedback. Here is an explanation of how we work with regards accommodation.

When it comes to our housing service, we need to work with student accommodation providers as we feel this is the most suitable accommodation and allows people to meet others on the programme and people of their own age. Most student accommodation providers have year long contracts for their guests. In order to secure and guarantee accommodation for our programme, we develop relationships with accommodation providers and must take on year long leases.
We explain costs prior to people signing up to this service and provide photos. Anyone is welcome to choose our internship only option and arrange accommodation individually. Those who do arrange accommodation themselves can find cheaper accommodation, but they are signing contracts/agreements with landlords as so assuming liability.

When we are asked to arrange accommodation, we need to work with accommodation providers who have robust systems in place regarding liability.
It was made clear that the accommodation we use is not a hostel, but long term student accommodation, with shared facilities and single rooms.
Regarding mixed gender bathrooms, we will make a note to add this to our pre-arrival information. Sorry this was not made clear.

With regards leaving early; It is explained that you would be liable for rent until a replacement can be found for your room. As you left in the summer, when students are on holiday, a replacement could not be found. Thanks for your feedback and we hope that this goes someway to explaining how it must work for us to guarantee accommodation on our programmes. We would also like to point out, that by using our accommodation, you were able to meet several people on our programme, who became travel companions.

No, I don't recommend
Default avatar

I have been doing my internship abroad for 2 months now and I have loved it so far. InternNZ was very helpful with finding an internship for me, I first wanted to go to Australia and InternNZ found an internship from me even though they are based in New-Zealand. I later decided to not go to Australia anymore but to go to New Zealand. I would recommend everyone to come to Wellington, it is a safe, fun and relaxed city. The intern InternNZ found for me is very nice and fun. They really chose something that I would like as a girl in engineering world.
For future participants: If you want to go abroad plan at least 4 months in advance. I chose to only get an internship 2 months before I got to go and that is a very short time to get everything like visa etc. InternNZ helped me a lot with housing and visa and always answered emails in a day.
The only thing I wouldn't really recommend which isn't InternNZ's fault is the housing that they gave me. I heard that they won't let interns stay there anymore so no future interns have to worry about that.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar

I made a lot of tasks which where important for event management and helped me to get a feeling how event management works.
You get a lot of help and support from your co worker and boss. With that experience I can decide what job I will do in the future and if that is the right thing for me to do. My favourite thing was when you see the event and how other people react to what you have organized. What you have worked for. And at that time you also know why you did certain things. Also if the people involved in that event have fun you know why you put a lot of work into that.

How can this program be improved?
More internships at the same time
Yes, I recommend
Default avatar

I really loved being in New Zealand. It was an amazing experience in a very unique country with a unique culture. I loved traveling throughout NZ and experiencing all it has to offer. Although there were definitely some things the program could have improved on, I did enjoy my time here very much. It was amazing to see and do all the wonderful things in New Zealand, and I look forward to when I am able to come back.

How can this program be improved?
I think a bit more involvement would be good. I never heard from the program at all after I was placed in an internship. No one contacted me to tell me where I'd be living, how I'd get to my accommodation from the airport, etc. Communication from the InternNZ program is severely lacking in that department. However, I was able to figure it out for myself so it was not too hard. I also wish the company had been a little more straightforward about what to expect in NZ. I talked to 4 other interns that all lived in the same accommodation as I did, and we all found out that each of us had been told to expect "apartment style accommodation with approximately 4-5 roommates, in an apartment with private rooms and shared kitchens/bathrooms". However, our accommodation was FAR from that. We were all placed in a unistay, hostel-style accommodation that has one big shared kitchen, shared bathrooms/showers, and houses approximately 40 people. I do not want to complain at all about the housing, as I was quite content with it. The unistay was extremely clean and well maintained, and I had the opportunity to meet a lot of people from around the globe, so I quite enjoyed staying there. However, me and the 4 other interns I spoke to all said we were extremely shocked when we first arrived to the unistay, because it was not what we were expecting and not at all what the company had told us to expect. | think more clear communication of housing arrangements is very important.
InternNZ does a great job to help people connect with others and holds quite a few social events for the interns to get to know each other and make friends, so I was very grateful for that. They also plan occasional trips throughout NZ. I was not able to go on these trips, but I heard great things from those who did.
Response from Intern OZ and Intern NZ

Hi Lauren,

Thanks for your feedback. We're always looking to improve our service and these comments really help.

We sent arrival information on the 31st July, a week before you arrived, which included the details of your accommodation and the Supershuttle which took you from the airport to this accommodation. We're sorry that the accommodation was not what you were expecting, but we are glad that you were content with it, and were still able to meet lots of people living there.

It was great to meet you at some of our social events, and we are happy that you enjoyed these and found them a useful way of meeting other interns and making friends!

It's great that you enjoyed your time in New Zealand with us and made the most of your experience here!

The Intern NZ and Intern OZ Team

No, I don't recommend

Program Listings

Displaying 1 - 8 of 8