International Internships in Hong Kong with The Intern Group

Video and Photos

Making time fly: 3D mapping over clock tower
Cable Car Ride: Hovering halfway between Lantau and Hong Kong Island

About

We offer successful applicants the chance to gain invaluable work experience in one of the cultural and financial capitals of the world, Hong Kong. During your internship abroad, you will gain hands-on professional experience and build a network for your future career. Your internship in Hong Kong will make you stand out from your peers.

Partnering with a range of companies, organizations and NGOs, our program will boost your professional development. We offer programs for people of all backgrounds and experience levels. We have previously placed interns at KPMG, TEDx and AIM in Hong Kong.

Your program includes accommodation, airport pick up and drop off, regular social and cultural events, professional development tools and workshop, 24/7 emergency assistance, a one on one career coaching session for alumni and many other great benefits. Apply now to our award-winning program featured in CNN, TIME and Forbes.

Highlights
  • Have a top-class international internship in Hong Kong! Our personalized process ensures that you will be working in the industry sector of your choice, in a role that is tailored to your professional goals.
  • It makes your resume stand out! In todays society, everyone does sport, plays an instrument and is part of a society. As one of millions of young people applying for their first job, you need to find a way to jump off the page!
  • Have an amazing life experience in Asia's most high profile city! We know that moving to a new place can be nerve-racking. Thats why our team on the ground is made up of locals who are there to give you support 24/7.
  • Make friends and professional networks in Asia, and from all over the world! Whether you like it or not, it's not what you know, it's who you know.
  • Develop the professional skills to make your mark in the 21st Century! By immersing yourself in a new culture and doing an international internship, you learn about different cultures and the way they work.

Final Places Available for Summer Internships

There are only a couple of places remaining on The Intern Group's summer internship programs in the USA, Canada, Europe, Asia, Australia and Latin America. Apply now to secure a space!

Questions & Answers

Hi Subramanian! Whether these internships are paid or not is down to each specific placement company! However, their international internships do tend to be unpaid.
Hi Anas, yes recent graduates can apply for our program. Many recent graduates do our program as a way to make their resumes and CVs stand out when applying for jobs after. Plus, it's the perfect way to see a new part of the world before settling into your career.
Hi Sharon, Thanks so much for your question. There aren't any education qualifications other than being at least a high school graduate, for visa purposes. We accept Gap Year students in Hong Kong as well. Check out our website to learn more. www.theinterngroup.com . Best, Danielle
Hi Maya, Thank you for your question. We do provide housing as part of The Intern Group program. Interns on our program live in a private bedroom in a shared apartment. They share the apartment with other interns on the program, young professionals or international students.

Reviews

93%
based on 38 reviews
  • Growth 8.8
  • Support 9.4
  • Fun 8.7
  • Housing 9.5
  • Safety 9.7
Showing 31 - 38 of 38
Default avatar
Holly
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Hard to Top

My internship was great - very relevant and helpful, and the IHK staff were often checking that everything was on track in that department. The internship was only half of the experience though of course and even besides the planned excursions we had social events every night within the group. 12 weeks felt like a long time, and maybe was slightly too long for me, but that may have been because I was one of the last from the summer lot to leave so I felt it go from super busy to a much smaller group very quickly. I had an incredible time, and look forward to returning.

What would you improve about this program?
A bit of earlier planning for the excursions - some things felt a bit last minute.
Default avatar
Cody
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Excellent Experience

I had a great time during my internship. They found me an excellent employer who supported and developed my skills greatly. Interngroup were very helpful in making sure everyone gained as much as possible.

Default avatar
Emilia
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Intern Hong Kong

I would speak highly of every aspect of my summer, organised by Intern Hong Kong.
Day of arrival was very well organised by IHK as I was picked up straight away and taken to my apartment, something that would have been much more difficult if I had to organise it myself. The accomodation was well situated, less than a minute to the MTR, and many shops and restaurants located nearby. The welcome pack was very useful, especially as they contained the pre-paid SIM card and Octopus card for travel. This meant that I could get settled in straight away.
The work aspect was equally as good. I enjoyed every day during my internship, and I learnt a lot.
The social part of Intern Hong Kong was particularly amazing. There were events constantly being organised, whether it was a weekend trip to Macau or a quick dinner after work. I definitely saw and did much more in Hong Kong than I would have done had I gone alone/without the IHK support. I formed great friendships with many of the other interns, and the variety was very interesting. And when organising our own events, such as weekend treks or going out for dinner, the Intern Hong Kong team were very helpful with suggestions and tips.

I would say one of the benefits of going on a summer programme, is that when you arrive there are other people who have already experienced Hong Kong for a couple of days/weeks/months and therefore you get straight into the culture and life of the city. The time absolutely flies by and I would have happily stayed out there for longer. Both Hong Kong as a city and The Intern Group as a company have created a great lasting impression and I would highly recommend both !

What would you improve about this program?
If I had to say one thing to improve, the main thing would be about finding and confirming an internship. I didn't know 100% if I had an internship until a month before I was due to come to Hong Kong, and therefore flight prices go up and it is hard to organise anything else for the summer until you know for definite about the internship. However I could completely understand that the Intern Hong Kong team had to also wait for the responses of the companies and therefore sometimes it couldn't be helped.
Default avatar
AJ
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Hong Kong Internship

I had an unbelievable experience in Hong Kong. The program was well-run, supportive, and has very accommodating and fun staff! The city itself is absolutely my favorite in the world and because of this trip I envision myself coming back very soon!

Default avatar
Patrizia
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Time of my life

I stayed in HK for 3 months and enjoyed every single day!
When I came to HK I didn't really know what was going to expect me. Of course I was a bit scared, because I was so far from home (Switzerland) and there is nobody I know. The day me and my roommate arrived Blair, the former event manager of the intern group, came to our apartment, showed us around and had dinner with us. A couple of days later we had some after work drinks and got to meet the other interns. Everybody, from the company as well as the interns, were so nice. I am very glad I got to meet all those lovely people.

My internship: I worked for an online shop in Aberdeen. It was my first work experience and I was surprised by how much responsibility my two bosses gave me. Unfortunately, they weren't always nice to me. At some point I even considered to quit. At the beginning of my internship there were two other interns as well. They also had some problems with our bosses, so we talked about the work situation with the intern group director, Krystal Lee, over dinner. She listened to our problems and then contacted our bosses. I always felt very supported by her and I am so glad I got to meet her!

Accomodation: I was aware of the fact that the apartments in HK are rather small. I just didn't imagine them to be this tiny. I lived in Wan Chai with two other interns. We had three bedrooms, a living room (with a TV, which we have never used), a kitchen and a bathroom. I was shocked when I first saw my bedroom cause in there was literally just my bed. I didn't want to stay there, but then after like 2 weeks I began to like the apartment and so I stayed there. Also the location was great.
Leisure: There is so much to do in HK. Apart from the complementary events like a trip to Macau, dinner at the peak and visiting the Buddha on Lantau Island, we went clubbing in LKF, traveled to Shanghai and Beijing on the weekends, had boat parties, went to the markets and shopped a lot. There was always something going on.

In general there is not a bad thing I can say about my experience in HK. I was so sad I had to leave and I know for sure that I will be back. I have met so many amazing people and learned a lot - not just about how a business works, but also about me. Coming to HK was one of the best choices I have ever made and I can only recommend this company.

Default avatar
Claire
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Great time in Hong Kong

I have spent three months in Hong Kong on a legal internship at a compliance firm. The work I have completed has been varied, interesting and educational. some tasks I have worked on include client proposals, policy drafting and writing articles for the company magazine. I have learnt a lot about this particular field of law and also the everyday dynamics of a busy office.

Hong Kong is a great city for social activities and sight-seeing. The InternGroup program is great as you get to meet so many other people and they organise lots of trips and social gatherings.

I have encountered no difficulties during my internship but I always knew the InternGroup staff were a phone call or email away ready to help.

I would recommend an internship in Hong Kong to anyone wanting to experience a vibrant busy city and fabtastic work opportunities

What would you improve about this program?
Maybe sort out the visa program a little better, I know processing Visas is not your job but often the time it takes to get one has been underestimated etc
Default avatar
Sally
3/10
No, I don't recommend this program

PLEASE READ BEFORE CONSIDERING THE INTERN GROUP FOR AN INTERNATIONAL INTERNSHIP PROGRAM – EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL - UNDERSTAFFED - BED BUGS – RIP-OFF - AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Within this review, you will find out about the horrible experience I had with The Intern Group during my summer internship in 2014. This company used deceptive marketing to lure in interns and did not deliver on their promises. The directors of this program were not responsive when I dealt with severe issues with my accommodations during my 2-month stay in Hong Kong. After speaking with several other unhappy interns on this same program, I feel that a warning is in order for future interns considering the Intern Group for their internship abroad program.

To begin, I will start with the most relevant piece of information regarding the "top-quality" internships that the Intern Group provides. During my time in Hong Kong, I got to know several other interns on the program. After speaking to everyone about his or her internship, I found that everyone seemed to feel unchallenged, unhappy and taken advantage of. In my personal situation, I had asked the Intern Group to facilitate an internship with a large financial company, preferably with a company that has a presence in the US. This was 6 months prior to my program start date. One month before I was to leave for Hong Kong, the Intern Group finally contacted me and pressured me into taking a position with a start-up insurance brokerage that employed two other people, since there was limited time.

The Intern Group claims to have several connections around the world with top companies in various fields. However, I did not come across a single intern on my program that was with reputable company. Near the end of my stay in Hong Kong (HK), I asked my employer about how the Intern Group approached him about taking me on as an intern. He told me that the director, Krystal Lee, met with him and simply asked, "Do you want a free intern this summer?" Wow... I could've done that. A huge portion of the Intern Group's program fee is the internship facilitation & accommodations. For the up-charge that participants spend in the JOKE of the "facilitation of an internship", one could spend the same amount and stay in a luxury hotel for 2-months, with free breakfast!

Now I will move on to discuss the bed bugs; a problem that not only greatly affected me, but also affected everyone in my life back home. During my research stage, I found several photos on the Intern Group website displaying western accommodations, double beds, a huge kitchen, and modern appliances. Upon my arrival in HK, I walked into the apartment they had facilitated, and was SHOCKED. The building looked and smelled 100 years old, one of the rooms had bunk beds, and the entire apartment was approximately 400 square feet. I didn't complain, however, and stayed in the flat for about 5 weeks. For those few weeks I was getting severe bites all over my body; my ankles, shoulders and arms! Some of the bites are still on my body and will likely leave a scar. Since I have never dealt with bed bugs, I attributed the bites to mosquitoes at first, thinking they must've gotten into the flat through the bathroom fan that was exposed to outside and unable to be closed. However, when I started noticing black and yellow debris all over my bed, I started to get worried. I started googling, and immediately found out that I was dealing with bed bugs. I did thorough research into bedbugs to find out the severity of the issue I was dealing with. The results were unsettling. I searched my bed and found several casings of bed bugs and was completely disgusted. I found that bed bugs were treated in several methods, but the most effective was through hiring a professional fumigation company, then a cleaning service to remove any eggs that weren't killed during fumigation. I read terrible reviews online about people who used cheap bug bombs or mattress protectors, only to find that these methods almost always resulted in the issue persisting for several months. I relayed my research to the the HK director, Krystal Lee, and the manager of directors for the Intern Group, Andrew Prachuablarb. I laid out exactly what I expected from the company in terms of dealing with the situation effectively; I did spend $7000 for this program, after all.

They responded by telling me I had to sleep in that infested bed for the night, and that they would "take care of it" in the morning. After the first night in temporary flat, they emailed me saying they had taken care of the bed bugs using a cheap bug bomb and the company refused to clean the apartment, even the mattress!!!! Based on my previous research, I refused to re-enter the apartment until it had been properly fumigated/cleaned. Again, they refused to live up to this standard. They decided to move us into a different flat, and told my roomate and I to collect our belongings from the infested flat. While this sounds like they did a great thing, since the fumigation company didn't treat our belongings, we were simply moving the unhatched eggs to the new flat!! Sure enough, I started finding bed bugs left and right in the new apartment and after complaining, the intern group scheduled a "consultation" with a fumigation company. They treated me as if I was over-reacting to the situation, even though I had bites on my body to prove I was getting bit! During the consultation, they told me I had to find a bed bug on command, as if they were just conveniently sitting around for me to find. AFter finding out that it was 20,000 HKD for treatment, they decided to, again, take the cheap way out and give me a ghetto, zip-up CLOTHES DRYER that I could treat my belongings in cycles. However, my mattress couldn't fit inside of it, all of the cracks and crevices in my flat couldn't fit into the machine. It was a temporary fix to shut me up for the remaining few weeks of my stay. Not to mention, I found out that the same day of my departure back home, they moved new interns into the old flat with bed bugs!!! I quickly warned them of the situation. The day I was leaving I woke up to two adult bed bugs crawling towards me right when I woke up. The experience was absolutely revolting.

Upon my departure home, I had to throw away all of the clothes that I had with me, to ensure I didn't bring the bugs back home. My parents were sick with worry and had to lay out an extreme plan-of-action to prevent the spread of the bugs which involved: throwing away my suitcases at the airport, staying in a hotel for 3 days, and doing a lengthy RID treatment through my hair to ensure that I didn't have eggs near the roots. This not only caused a financial burden on my family to replace my lost itms, but also gave them emotional distress upon my arrival home.

While communication was a huge issue, the program itself also had several flaws. The excursions that were promised on the website conveniently changed upon my arrival to three, rather than the four that I paid for. "Dinner with a View at Victoria's Peak" turned into just dinner, since they chose such a foggy night to take us up there. I felt like I was utterly trapped for two months with no way out and the responses I received from the Intern Group were always questioning and unhelpful. The practices of the Intern Group during this ordeal were extremely unpleasant. The company only has 3 employees in Hong Kong, leaving participants with no where to turn in the event of an emergency when they are "busy".

After being home for about a week, I found out that The Intern Group sent out an email to the interns that moved into the infested flat saying that the bugs in the flats were cockroaches and are brought in from the US. Basically, lying about the type of bug & blaming ME for bringing them into the flat.

I have never dealt with such an unprofessional company. BUYER BEWARE & GOOD LUCK!

Response from The Intern Group

We are deeply saddened by your review - it is simply not an accurate representation of our program. We have had a busy, successful summer so far in Hong Kong and our interns have typically left our city having had an incredible experience of a lifetime.

We recommend others read our response here where we clarify various incorrect statements made.

In regards to the alleged slow response time from our staff - we have a strict rule in Hong Kong of 48 hours (2 working days) and having reviewed all correspondence with you our team did not fail once to meet this commitment. We also have an emergency number that we answer 24/7 - and where you were answered every time.

You wrote that your internship took 6 months to organize. It took 2.5 months. We received your program confirmation on December 31st and a role with a great company was successfully offered on March 14th - 8 weeks before your start date - not the 4 that you cite.

We partner with companies of all sizes – large, medium and small. We provided you with a fantastic opportunity with a small and rapidly growing financial brokerage and consultancy firm. When we presented you with this opportunity you were extremely excited about it. At the end of your internship you actually wrote a long thank you letter to the company about how good the experience had been and how much you had gained from it. However, even this has been omitted here.

All of the companies that we work with are taken through a formal, established vetting process where we talk in detail about their business and how international interns could compliment their work. When we decide to work with a company, it is not a decision we take lightly. Our main aim is to provide an excellent service to all participants. We want our interns to learn as much as possible during their program as we truly believe that cultural immersion and professional development are invaluable experiences that can help students kick start their careers. Sadly, in this case, conversations with managers have been selectively twisted to fit an anti-program narrative.

In regards to accommodation, apartments in Hong Kong are smaller than the norm in Western countries, and applicants are made fully aware of this. All our accommodation is of a very good standard and your specific apartment – 400 sq feet in size - is of an extremely generous size for Hong Kong standards. All accommodation is equipped with all of the appliances needed to have a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Regarding the main issue behind all this – that of the alleged bedbugs - numerous details have been completely fabricated. Firstly we employed highly professional pest control agencies that thoroughly searched your apartment as soon as you made your complaint – they were unable to identify any problems at all.

This service was called in twice to be 100% sure. They did a thorough search of all floors /linens / cupboards etc but could not find any bed bugs at all.

Pest control agencies in Hong Kong only ever begin treatment once a bug has been found, and if there were any bed bugs in the apartment they most definitely would have been found. Despite this, we moved you to a brand new apartment the very next morning.

Secondly, since this incident, and after another check, we have had a number of interns staying in this original apartment (and the one you moved to) – and the feedback has been excellent. There have been no complaints or signs of bed bugs in either. The conclusion is clear - there were never any bed bugs whatsoever.

What has not been mentioned in your review is that our organization bought you new clothes, paid for your dry cleaning bills etc as good will gestures - even though no evidence was ever found by the professionals at all.

Lastly, we would like to address the point made about the excursions we provide. Of course excursion calendars change - we want all participants to experience the best of Hong Kong (and Macau where you stayed in the luxury Sheraton hotel) – and this varies depending on the particular time of year. But all excursions we provided added up to exactly the same value and overall impact - in no way did you lose out, financially or culturally. We work extremely hard to ensure that the social aspect of our program is highly enjoyable.

Finally, Dinner at the Peak disappointed you due to the view - you must surely understand that weather conditions are out of our control!

This review is simply not an accurate representation of our program experience – we are extremely proud of our program and encourage anyone reading this to review the numerous positive reviews above and below this one.

Default avatar
Nikky
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Valuable Experience

I really enjoy the time and think highly of the intern experience in HK. It is a super dynamic city that never sleeps. In this city, I learned valuable lessons about local business and culture, either through firsthand experience or conversation with inspiring friends.

I interned with a Bahrain based recruitment consultancy firm. In addition to maintaining daily office operation tasks, I worked on the project of finding sales managers for our client company from the talent market in mainland China. I researched online, read resumes, nailed down candidate lists and finally introduced candidates to our client (company)’s HR manager. My intern company even brought me to their client meetings with Adidas, Coach and Ralph Lauren. As I walked out of the office, what I carried along are my understanding of HK labor market and working condition, confidence in dealing with people related task, broader vision of possible future career choices, as well as connections with nice coworkers!
My company is just a few minutes’ walking away from my apartment. With Soho and Lan Kwai Fong nearby, both my office building and living place are located in the central area of Hong Kong Island. The location advantage made it so easy for me to explore the trendiest and coolest area of HK.

Other interns, as well as our lovely country director Krystal, together we formed a fun group! I enjoyed the time with those interesting folks from different parts of the world: Germany, Spain, Sweden, UK, local HK and mainland China. We all share the same spirit and goal to know HK as much as we can and create fun as much as we want. Together we explored cool bars in Lan Kwai Fong, cheered for horse racing in happy valley, enjoyed cruise dinner on Victoria bay, sang Karaoke in Causeway Bay and visited fancy casinos and antique architecture in Macau!

My time in HK with the Intern Group is an enriching experience. I felt like a different person in HK as my passion to explore and concur a place was aroused. I admit that this ambition wouldn't be recalled if I just stay at my university and concern about grades from most of the time. Now in retrospect, I am thankful with this opportunity. I regard it more than a working experience; it’s a life event of investment---some money and time invested to pave out a possible way out for life. You can enjoy your easy and comfortable little peace in the corner somewhere in this world, while on the other end on this planet, there are people who strive in a busy metropolitan. Though there are tides of hustling people and cars, you can feel the dream from every single one in the current. There, I was feeling so alive too. HK definitely affects my mind set. The investment is worthy, so I would like to recommend this experience to people as well!