Location
  • England
    • London
Length
6 to 24 weeks

Program Details

Timeframe
Fall Spring Summer Winter Year Round
Housing
Apartment
Language
English
Weekly Hours
35

Pricing

Starting Price
5486
Price Details
* Accommodation
* Airport pick up
* A leading internship in your field of interest (we offer all sectors)
* 24/7 support from our full time London based team
* Personalized one-on-one career coaching session
* Social & cultural events with our large international community of interns!

Program fees do not include visa fees, flights, insurance or daily food & drink. Please refer to our website for scholarship and grant opportunities.
What's Included
Accommodation Activities Airport Transfers Transportation Wifi
Oct 31, 2023
Nov 07, 2023
177 travelers are looking at this program

About Program

We offer successful applicants the chance to gain invaluable work experience in London, one of the world's most important cities. During your internship, you will gain hands-on professional experience and build a network for your future career. Your internship in London will make you stand out from your peers. Our purpose is to help you realize your potential.

Partnering with a range of companies, organizations and NGOs, our program will boost your professional development. We offer programs for candidates at all stages of their academic or professional career. We’ve previously placed interns at Quintessentially, Bell Pottinger and the London Olympic Games.

Your program includes accommodation, airport pick up, regular social and cultural events, professional development tools and workshop, 24/7 emergency assistance, a one on one career coaching session for alumni and many other great benefits. Apply now to our award-winning program featured in CNN, TIME and Forbes.

Video and Photos

Program Highlights

  • Have a top-class internship in London! Our personalized process ensures that you will be working in the industry sector of your choice, in a role that is tailored to your professional goals.
  • It makes your resume stand out! In today's society, everyone does sport, plays an instrument and is part of a society. As one of millions of young people applying for their first job, you need to find a way to jump off the page!
  • Make friends and professional networks in London and from all over the world! Whether you like it or not, it's not what you know, it's who you know.
  • For non native-English speakers improve your language! Learn English in the home of the English language.
  • Have an amazing life experience in London! We know that moving to a new place can be nerve-racking. Thats why our team on the ground is made up of Londoners who are there to give you support 24/7.

Program Reviews

4.73 Rating
based on 89 reviews
  • 5 rating 83.15%
  • 4 rating 12.36%
  • 3 rating 1.12%
  • 2 rating 1.12%
  • 1 rating 2.25%
  • Growth 4.5
  • Support 4.55
  • Fun 4.2
  • Housing 4.5
  • Safety 4.7
Showing 1 - 8 of 89 reviews
Default avatar
Nanthanat
5/5
Yes, I recommend this program

London Internship Program with the Intern Group

I completed a remote internship for 20 weeks as a business consulting intern at a consulting firm in 2023. It was one of the brightest spots of my life. Through this program, I met lots of people, made new friends, and did a lot of traveling and exploring many exciting places in the UK. I would say living my life in a foreign country, espcecially in London, UK, gave me a lot of unforgettable memories. I love the time when I was living abroad and found good people who, by destiny, spent time and shared good memories with me, truly unforgettable moments. In addition, I have a unique opportunity to see the world in the way I have never seen it before. I literally experience that through participating in the London internship program and living like a Londoner. I was really happy that I made the right decision. Indeed, once-in-a life-time experience.

What is your advice to future travelers on this program?
I would suggest program participants to take a step out of your comfort zone when you are doing an internship in this program. Please try doing new things and also meet new people such as participating in a group meeting or event hosted or recommended by the program. By doing this, you will experience other culture and gain new perpectives and you will learn a lot.
Pros
  • You have an opportunity to see the world in the way you have never seen it before.
  • You have an opportunity to meet and know new people at the destination you chose.
  • You have an opprtunity to gain hands-on experience through professional internship.
Cons
  • Program fees are quite high.
  • Cost of living in London is quite high.
2 people found this review helpful.
Default avatar
Brendan
5/5
Yes, I recommend this program

Once in a lifetime experience

After hearing about the Intergroup from a friend I decided to check it out. I somehow ended up in London, England just a few months working on an internship at a theatre to help build my skills as a stage manager and arts manager. This is in all thanks to the Interngroup. The Interngroup worked with me from day one of applying all the way through my last day in London. They provide you with the all support you need no matter the day or time. They will always answer your questions or concerns you may have. They made me feel right at home even though I was 3,500 miles from my actual home. They made the process very easy to understand and gave me all the necessary tools to spread my wings and fly. I 100% recommend anyone interested in doing an internship to go through the Interngroup. Whether it be traveling to a different country or doing a digital online internship, the Interngroup is the best place to start!

7 people found this review helpful.
Default avatar
M
5/5
Yes, I recommend this program

Summer 2023 - best of my life

My summer in London with The Intern Group this year was brilliant. I couldn't have asked for more, my internship was exactly what I was looking for and I met many friends for life from literally all over the world. This program is the ultimate summer internship program.

I will definitely be returning to London in the future - next time I expect it will be to live there thanks to this experience. A summer full of growth, learning and adventure.

My suggestion to others reading this is to make the most of every minute, travel with an open heart and mind, and prepare for growth & more growth.

11 people found this review helpful.
Default avatar
Maria
5/5
Yes, I recommend this program

Experience of a lifetime

I had an amazing time in London this winter. The team in London made a wonderful community for us all, especially Thomas - thank you! I really don't have enough words to describe how fun this experience was. It was beyond fun and I made more real friends than I’ve made in college. And I didn’t know anyone going on the trip and I left with lifelong friends from all over the world. The actual internship was quite a bit tougher than I expected but I got a lot out of it. The biggest challenge was the intensity of the internship which I took some getting used to, but by the end I became accustomed to it and really liked it. I’m usually critical of programs I participate in but The Intern Group program was the time of my life.

What would you improve about this program?
I'd have shorter options available. I really only had enough time for 1 month and it was very hard for me to fit in a 6 week program.
242 people found this review helpful.
Default avatar
Spencer
1/5
No, I don't recommend this program

Disgustingly Bad

I feel the program was misrepresented.

The Intern Group says the following about accomodation:
"We offer private bedrooms in shared apartments.
All of the student apartments are located near to one another. The apartments are excellently located 25 minutes from Central London and are the ideal base for exploring London during your stay.
We provide private bedrooms in family home-stays. Living with a London family is the perfect option if you wish to perfect your English and immediately be immersed in London life and culture."

The way they were organized, they didn't get me any housing options until the day before I got to London, and they only gave me one option, a "family" homestay an hour away from central London, and nowhere near the other students. I had never said that I wanted the family homestay option but it was the only one given me, 7 hours before I was to board the plane. The "family" was a single man in his 50s. What if I had said no? Where would they have put me?

The accommodation was indeed an issue, as I had read the detailed explanations on the Intern Group’s website about how and where I would live. I expected to live near the center of London to have “a base for exploring London” but, most importantly I expected roommates, as I had not chosen preemptively a family homestay, but that was the only option I was given, and it was given a day before I arrived. I am a person who needs people around me, friends my age or near it. I didn’t get that, and what I did get was unacceptable.

Furthermore, the house I was put in smelled so obviously of smoke, and the second hand tobacco and even marijuana smoke crept up to my top room continuously throughout the day, making me sick within 30 hours. I told an Intern Group supervisor the day I arrived at the first activity (30 minutes late because it took me an hour to get to the Canada Water station) that better housing would be much needed, due to the smoke, the poor quality of the house, and the distance from my peers.

To give you a better idea of the distance I was from central London, from my peers, and how far my job was, the Intern Group says the following on their website, " [They pay for] all your public transportation in London valid in the zones of your accommodation and workplace (typically in zones 1 and 2). We provide you with your public transportation for the first month." They say typically within zones 1 and 2, yet my work was in zone 6, and where I lived was in zone 4. They didn't pay for trains to those places, and I was out of money on my subway card before even arriving at my internship the first day.

Back to the accommodation.
On my second day in the house, I was offered a cigarette while sitting on the steps.

To avoid becoming sicker I moved to a hostel at my expense, where I knew it would be loud, but at least not so smoky. This 2-star backpacker hostel was a big step up over the home share.

I pestered the intern group for 4 days before they could give me an answer about what was going on with my housing. 4 days by myself, in a foreign country, spending 5+ hours on transport each day and only eating a meal a day due to the loss of appetite from the smoke and then cough and cold medicine.

I got to my internship on Wednesday and was a bit happier, seeing that I might have some friends here. I did my best, with the nasty cold I had gotten from the sore throat and cough from inhaling smoke for 2 days. I quickly realized that this company felt as though they didn’t really need an intern but just kind of like acce[ted an intern that was forced upon them, and they would take 6 weeks of free labor. The Intern Group had this statement on their website, "Partnering with a range of first-class companies and NGOs, our program offers comprehensive personal and professional development. We offer internships in London across all career fields." But the company I was with obviously didn’t have a strict program set up, and they were in Ruislip, which is about an hour and 20 minutes away from the center of London. Not to mention they only had 6 employees. How is a 6 employee company first-class? I could tell soon that I wasn’t going to learn anything in my field from the internship, as they were just asking me to do things that I already knew and was talented at. I was going to give it a chance, but when I walked out the first day, I sat on the stairs for a moment, to find my way back on the map while I still had WiFi, and suddenly I heard all the employees begin to gossip about me, asking why was I there an how I was kind of dumb for working for free. It sucked all the little spirit I had left out of me. So I decided to withdraw. I stayed again at the hostel and went back the next day to say goodbye, because I wanted to be polite.

Again, to push how strongly The Intern Group's lack of organization was, I did everything I needed to do on time for the applications, and got my visa three days before my program started. That means I only had 3 days to buy plane tickets and of course the price of those tickets was much higher than if purchased earlier. I ended up needing priority visa processing which cost about 300 dollars, luckily for me, I asked them to pay for it. When I asked a fellow student in the program about their visa, they told me they had received their visa just days before as well, and the Intern Group had told them to pay the 300 dollar fee themselves. That's disgusting to me.

All those things together opened my eyes to how this was going to be a waste of time. It felt very poorly organized, it felt like no one was paying attention to my situation until I said I wanted to withdraw, and it didn’t match the descriptions and everything I had read online.

359 people found this review helpful.
Response from The Intern Group

Dear Spencer, we’re really sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your program with us in 2018. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. Your honesty helps us to improve the program for future interns.

We’re really sorry that your accommodation negatively impacted your experience. As you had requested same sex housing and your program was outside of our summer season, the accommodation we could provide was a homestay, which was discussed during your enrollment process. This accommodation is located further away than our standard accommodation. All of our family homestays are provided by the same accommodation provider we have partnered with for over 7 years and all meet the British Family Homestay Certification.

Regarding the size of your host organization, with entrepreneurship as one of your career field preferences, our placement team paired you with an exciting organization where they believed you would get invaluable hands-on experience. We’re sorry to hear this was not the case.

Again, we are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your internship experience. If you have any other feedback or would like to talk about this in further detail please email us at info@theinterngroup.com.

Default avatar
Nancy
5/5
Yes, I recommend this program

PR Internship in London

This summer I completed an internship in Public Relations in the fashion industry and I had the time of my life. I highly recommend this program because it makes it more feasible for students to work abroad to help increase the value of their resume. Through this program, I meet lots of people, made new friends, and did a lot of traveling and exploring. Also, this program is the most affordable out of most placement programs. Every person replied in a quick and efficient manner. Definitely recommend traveling while in London and be considerate that transportation for the first month.

What would you improve about this program?
The process of interviewing companies after the first company
235 people found this review helpful.
Default avatar
Carolina
1/5
No, I don't recommend this program

I love London, but the Intern Group Team let me down...

Hi!

I had a 3 months program with The Internship Group. I came to London for many reasons. London is fantastic and I was lucky enough that the company where I was placed had an amazing environment, staff and give me the opportunity to learn new things and to even try to help the staff with my new projects. I'm truly, truly thankful for my time there.

Unfortunately I can't credit The Intern Group for the wanders of London or the perks of my former company. They only charge you and disapear. They have a London based team that only invites you to a Facebook Group, take at least 3 days in answering an email and during the "activities" invites their own friends and wont pay attention to the interns (who btw are paying their salary). And if you really need them for an emergency they will text you back a few hours later.

Although I have to say, your selling team based in Chile were very nice convincing me to be part of your program. No really, they where super polite, even talked with my mom to walk her through the details of the program, answered emails during the same day, even out of their own time zone.

My perception of the program would be so different if only they train / choose better staff in London.

I'm very thankful for what London has given me though.

What would you improve about this program?
- Staff organization
- Staff email responding
- Social media managing
- Control the coaches punctuality
- Improve Welcome package
- Customer service
299 people found this review helpful.
Response from The Intern Group

Hi Carolina, thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us.

We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your internship and had the chance to learn a lot, as well as benefiting from an amazing workplace environment and team of coworkers. Our Placement Team are experts and we pride ourselves on our ability to pair applicants up with a host organization that matches their profile and goals. Thank you also for recognizing the quality of care you received from our Admissions Team, based in one of our Latin American offices in Chile.

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time with our Experience team in London. We strive to respond within 1 business day or immediately in the case of the emergency phone, and we apologize for not achieving that standard in this case. This feedback is key to helping us to improve, so thank you for raising it. As for the community, we always recommend that our participants stay in the accommodation we provide so that they can make the most of the networking opportunities with other interns on the program. As a non-accommodation participant, we’re sorry to hear you didn’t feel the benefits of the program community.

Thank you again for helping us to improve.

Default avatar
Jamie
4/5
Yes, I recommend this program

Really enjoyable experience!

I'm an Australian and I went on the London program for eight weeks. As a whole I really enjoyed living in London and building a network through my internship but in the end, it is A LOT of money to be spending. For my experience I flipped the bill myself and that really made me think whether I was getting value for money. I did enjoy the career workshops (the career coach is amazing!) and events included in the program but those alone, and the accommodation, should have not totalled to such an amount.

The internship I had was good, the people were amazing, and I learnt a lot. Just be aware if you're contemplating going during the holiday season, it is a slow time of the year. Most companies close (I had about a week off over Christmas and New Year’s) over that time, and the first week back of the New Year can also be a little slow. Just measure your expectations, there won't always be things for you to do.

Regarding the social aspect, the individuals on the actual program were mostly Australian or American (during my time from Dec), but don't let that dishearten you if you're looking for a more international experience. I interned with people from the UK (obviously) and Spain and ended up living with some Germans. No matter which way you look at it, if you put in the effort, you'll meet people from around the world.

Enjoy it while you can because I'm going to be honest, I loved it! Of course, there are going to be pros and cons, but you have to remember you're in LONDON one of the most buzzing cities in the world. There are always things to do and it's amazing. As an intern, I built an international network (my goal) and I learnt a lot about the industry. As a tourist, I'd never been to London and even in its dreary winter state, I fell in love with the city. It really is awesome!

In the end I'd really recommend doing the program if you're looking to work internationally in the future, just be prepared to fork out the funds.

What would you improve about this program?
We are paying a lot of money, more individual attention with the career coach would have been very nice. The company that the Intern Group outsource their housing too is hopeless; our heating went out twice and the cleaners aren't the most thorough.

Also, the price seems very excessive because when you add up the program cost, the flight (from Aus), the visa (if required) and living costs, you're either going to need a lot of savings or really generous parents. Either way it could definitely be cheaper as a whole!
221 people found this review helpful.

Questions & Answers

Thanks for your question, Caro! Yes, we provide virtual and in-person internships in social work, partnering with major international organizations in all of our program destinations, ranging from those that focus on access to healthcare and education, to those that help victims of war and domestic abuse. Find out more here: https://www.theinterngroup.com/career-fields/social-work-in…...

Hi Waquas! Yes we provide global internships, online and abroad, across all areas of engineering, including biomedical engineering. Schedule an interview with our Admissions Team to chat more about the opportunities available to you. Best,