TEFL Heaven Internships Thailand

Video and Photos

About

TEFL Heaven in the UK and Thailand provide the very popular TEFL Heaven Internships Thailand Program.

Starting with TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) training in a paradise location and ending with a fully salaried TEFL job in Thailand, it's no wonder that more than 120 candidates train and teach on this program.

We have trained over 600 candidates in 5 years on this program, with a maximum of 24 candidates per training session. With many trainees around the same age (in their twenties or early thirties) on one course it means making friends is easy. We train teachers every 6 months in the months of April and September each year, just before the start of each term.

Teaching placements last one school term of around 5 months, making in the whole about 6 months of the program. If you want to stay longer, just renew your contract with the school. See out website for more details.

Once you have completed your training you will then go straight to your paid teaching role where you will be earning between 25-30,000 THB providing you with a very comfortable lifestyle that will enable you to travel, explore and see the very best of Thailand and it's surrounding countries.

Training + Certification + Full Support + Guaranteed Paid Job - Sounds like heaven?

Questions & Answers

With TEFL Heaven, Asia teachers are required to be from the age of 20 - 55 years old. In Latin America and Europe you would be required to be between the ages of 18 and 65.
Yes. It says on the website: FOR THOSE WITHOUT A BACHELORS DEGREE If you do not have a bachelors degree you can receive a guaranteed paid teaching job on this program: PUERTO VALLARTA & PAID JOB MEXICO If you have not yet acquired your bachelors degree yet, but are still studying, you are also eligible for the guaranteed paid teaching job, as long as you get your degree certificate sent to you...

Reviews

94%
based on 64 reviews
  • Benefits 8.8
  • Support 9.2
  • Fun 8.6
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Safety 9.4
  • Instruction 9.2
  • Support 9.5
  • Value 9.2
  • Academic Rigor 6.4
  • Job Assistance 9.6
Showing 61 - 64 of 64
Default avatar
JossieFraeTheGlens
8/10

highs and lows

Overall, the experience was amazing.
Thailand was just as beautiful as I remebered from previous holidays and the people I met on the course were amazing.
Though we arrived in rainy season it was still great weather with incredible thunder storms.
The internet was knocked out by a Tropical Storm on our 2nd night and we had to return to the basics of human interaction, which lead to many hilarious and memorable conversations.
The TEFL experience is something I would recommend to everybody and would LOVE to do again.
I would more than happily return to Thailand, but not to Bangkok. The loud and busy city can be daunting for a girl on her own and I found it to be quite an isolating place, yet the 4 days I spend visiting a friend in Chiang Mai made me realise how easily I could settle into Thailand's Second City and love every minute of my life there.
I certainly miss all the 'WTF? Moments' that Thailand has to offer... from Chihauhaus in baby slings with little red plastic cowboy hats; to 5 people on a motorbike; to seeing a guy casually walk his 7 foot tall, baby elephant through the market casually; to drunkenly learning Thai Tongue Twisters with the locals in exchange for teaching them ''She sells Seashells on the seashore'' and ''red lolly, yellow lorry''... from which absolute hilarity ensued...

The children were so impressed when teacher finally learnt how to say ''Yiy Gin Lam Yai, Naam Lai Yiy Lai Yoi''...
I have so many amazing memories I can look back on with so much joy. It truly was a life changing experince.

The only disappointment to the experience was the company I was placed with.

The managers are utterly devoid of social skills, the company refused to pay me for my final 2 weeks when I had to rush home as my Grandma was rushed into hospital on Boxing Day. (They only bothered to tell me this the day before I was due to leave and they were due to pay me)
I found the management to lack any form of empathy or underrstanding about the circumstances and I can completely understand why they have such a high turnover of staff, they really made me feel alienated and unappreciated.
The staff at the company, however, were fantastic! The nicest group of you could ever ask to work with.

So with high comes a low... but you just learn to take a deep breath and say 'mai pen rai'' (no worries)

How can this program be improved?
Cease all communications with the partner organization, SpeakEZ, whilst the staff bases at the San Phran school seemed more than happy with their experience. The managers running the Bangkok Branch are abysmal.

Staff only stay 1 term and THAT is asking ALOT of anybody. Almost all the British staff were unsatisfied with the managers' attitudes and behaviour. I would liken them to Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dumber, only much more verbally abusive and living so much more securely in the own little Wonderland.
They have NO respect for their staff and know that most employees will stay the full term as they cannot afford to go home, nor do they want to leave behind all the other benefits of Bangkok and Thailand.
Perhaps if I had been placed at the other branch with the other managers I may have been happier.
What I have earned is that when I take my next job abroad I will not be trusting anyone to find me a placement and I will need to ensure the staff I will be working meet my standards of proffessionalism
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thanks for the review - I think! We appreciate your comments about the training, we just think your comments about your placement are very negative and we need to make everyone reading this aware of the true situation.

I have contacted Speak EZ and they have responded below:

Dear Mike,

Thank you for bringing this review to our attention and allowing us an opportunity to respond. The employee in question was placed with Speak EZ after finishing her TEFL course. From day one her demeanor was very unprofessional and she struggled to get along with other staff members. Three of our schools complained about her within a short time of her starting working. Our response to this was to give her additional training in an attempt to improve both her teaching skills and also her attitude. Unfortunately, all the hard work our managers put in was in vain. Her attendance record was poor and she continued to show a lack of commitment to both our company, but more so the children she was teaching.

After working for a period of approximately eight weeks she handed in her notice shortly after returning from a two week Christmas holiday. Although she left without giving the required notice period, and that we were subsequently short of teachers, we still paid her for each and every day she had worked. We felt this was a fair thing to do as she was returning home for a family emergency.

I feel that as a company we did everything possible to assist this teacher, so that her experience of teaching in Thailand would be happy, and that the children she taught would receive a good standard of teaching. It makes me sad to see that despite of all of the hard work we put in to assist this teacher in many different ways, she has felt it necessary to write a review such as this. Luckily this is a one off and most of our teachers enjoy their Thai experience and working for us.

Marek Brooks
Course Director
Speak EZ Language School

Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Disappointed
8/10

Teaching is great but the training course not so good

Teaching in Thailand has been a great experience, but I cannot rate the training as highly. I stayed on Koh Chang which is a lovely island but the accommodation was appalling. Tefl heaven advertised this as 'experiencing real Thailand' which really is a nice way of saying, 'we will do this as cheap as possible'. The 'hut' where I stayed was invaded by an army of ants on several occasions to which there was little done about it. During several thunderstorms I was awoke while sleeping on my mattress on the floor (no bed) to having rain dripping on my face and the mattress soaked. I also had two very expensive silk tops eaten by some sort of insects which I had to discard. While we stayed in horrendous conditions the trainers where in luxury huts, I think this is disgraceful.
The food in the accommodation was mediocre and rather pricey considering you have to eat there most days. There are no shops nearby as a substitute. To get to the nearest shop you have to either walk along the beach which you cannot do when the tide is in or get a taxi which costs 50 baht per person each way.
We did our training above the restaurant at the resort which was once again, another hut. This obviously lacked air conditioning which is highly uncomfortable when you are training 7hrs a day and have not acclimatised to Thai weather.
The training itself was poorly put together as we were taught by previous teachers who only had the experience of 1 or 2 semesters. This meaning that they had only taught for around 4 months, I highly doubt they are qualified to teach anything other than English as a foreign language.
Whilst having this experience my friend did his training at the same time in ko Samui and stayed in a 4 star hotel with air conditioned classroom. We paid the same amount and I think he got a lot more for his money while I feel very much ripped off.
Tefl heaven also neglected to tell us that our tefl certificates are not up to the highest standard and although we have all paid a lot of money, we can not get a job teaching in a language school back home. So basically the only countries you can teach with your tefl certificate is where tefl heaven have their training programmes.

I would like to say that the teaching itself is great and thoroughly enjoyable but this is not with any thanks to tefl heaven as they send your information a consultancy agency, who are responsible for placing you and everything after that. I have heard some bad reports from the partner organization, Media Kids, but through my experience they have been very helpful.

Response from TEFL Heaven

Sorry to hear that you could not recommend us!

Your review is more of a rant and I am sorry that you somehow felt you did not get what you expected, but I also feel that much of what you are saying is not true and is tainted by a negative opinion overall.

We have run our training on Koh Chang for years and most trainees love staying in the huts near the beach. There can be ants in Thailand at times but mentioning this to any resort staff gets rid of them - no problem. Also, if you had problems with leakages you should have mentioned this as well and we would have moved you. And if you look on the website of the resort for the real prices of the accommodation you will be surprised to see that it is not as cheap as you think!

We love our resort on Koh Chang, as have hundreds of others who have trained there - private beach, swimming pool, and also the open air training area - if that is not to your taste then I am not sure we could have satisfied you. The resort on Koh Samui is different of course, but the air conditioned room is more like a classroom and does not have views of the sea and the beach like Koh Chang. Honestly, I think you missed out but only because of your dark glasses!

The trainers are not in 'luxury huts' at all and were in the same standard of room as everyone else but had a fridge and a TV - not really luxury.

The trainers also are more experienced than you say and the main trainer would have at least been in Thailand for a year. We received very good internal feedback about them and no one mentioned that they felt they were inexperienced. In fact we get very positive comments about all our trainers!

You haven't mentioned anything about how prepared you felt after the training, probably because you felt you were quite prepared - since you mentioned how much you loved the teaching element and did not mention anything about struggling with that. Some positive comments here would have been a better review, because this review is completely unbalanced and I am sorry that you decided not to speak more truthfully.

In closing, I am glad you actually did say something positive when you said you loved the teaching!

Sincerely

Mike Maitland
Director

No, I don't recommend this program
Default avatar
H_Hazlehurst
8/10

A good experience from the inexperienced

You are well prepared by ETA before coming to Thailand. They tell you exactly what to bring, and what clothes are appropriate. Not everyone gets this level of advice.
The course is set in a tropical, laid-back atmosphere, which unfortunately means some of the students take a similarly laid back attitude to their studies. The 'trainers' do not enforce their initial rules, as they have only been teaching for 3-4 months at the most. I would appreciate more experienced teachers to teach hopeful teachers how to be teachers.
There are plenty of fun and exciting activities if you do not have the time or inclination to travel around Thailand during or after your job, you can get your rewarding holiday experience as part of the TEFL Heaven Course!
I went to Koh Chang and I found the locals friendly and welcoming - although a little too friendly in the late night bars. Women beware of creepy Thai men looking to score a foreigner.
Accomodation was lovely, I got to wake up to a beach view every morning with some local macaque monkeys hanging out in the forest next to our huts.
I felt very prepared for my teaching placement after we were sent to teach in a local school for practise, this was the highlight of the academic side of the course as it provided real hands-on experience!

How can this program be improved?
They need to hire more experienced trainers, the two on my program seemed unprofessional and their advice on schools and students was in some cases wrong and I was in for a shock when I finally got to my Thai schools. This is possibly because they had only worked in 1 school themselves and so could not provide broad advice on all students in Thailand.
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thanks for the good review!

I checked who was on your course and the main trainer had a few years teaching experience, not 3-4 months as you described. We are sorry to hear that you felt you did not get good advice from that particular trainer but perhaps you are referring to the assistant trainer? In any case, we believe both the assistant and main trainer performed well through the internal feedback we requested.

We do prepare you well before you arrive, thanks for mentioning that. We make sure you have everything you need before you fly and keep in email contact with you throughout the period before you come.

Thank you for saying you felt well prepared to teach after the course. I'm glad overall that you had a good experience!

All the best,

Mike Maitland
Director

Yes, I recommend this program
Default avatar
Jennie
10/10

Life changing

Moving abroad is stressful itself especially to a non English speaking country. Right from the start I was put in touch with my fellow course mates taking much of the stress of moving away!
By the time I got to my town I felt well equipped to deal with my teaching life. I had a good social network all around Thailand from my course which made settling in much easier!!
Although going to a small town was daunting at first especially as every where I went I got laughs and giggles for being white I quickly made friends both English speaking and Thai And really felt at home!
One of the highlights was morning assembly and teaching the whole school English songs.... 1500 kids singing and dancing is hilarious.
Another big highlight was riding my bike through a rice field after getting lost only to stumble across an Australian teacher skipping at a boxing camp... Almost 2 years later i now live in Oz! Without taking a leap of faith with tefl I doubt or paths would have ever crossed!
Food was unbelievable and I'm pretty sure I have consumed things I didn't even know were edible!
I was lucky not to suffer much home sickness however I did have difficulties as does everyone from time to time from missing home.

How can this program be improved?
My course we didn't learn much Thai which I would have liked. Although it made me the village entertainment when it came to ordering my dinner!
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thanks for the great review!

We are glad you got a network of friends from training with us - we know having friends in Thailand - good friends you can contact and meet up with - makes this experience all the better!

We now have an hour of Thai lessons every day on the course - sorry you didn't get that during your course!

All the best in your future adventures!

Mike Maitland
Director

Yes, I recommend this program

Interviews

Meet the Alumni

Meet the Staff

About TEFL Heaven

Since 2007 TEFL Heaven (formerly Experience Teaching Abroad) has assisted university graduates and non-graduates to secure quality teaching placements abroad. We pride ourselves on being a fun and personable company who like to actively engage with...