TEFL Heaven: Take on Thailand with Guaranteed Paid Job!

Video and Photos

TEFL Heaven family boat trip
TEFL Heaven family boat trip

About

TEFL Heaven is proud to deliver the TEFL Heaven's Take on Thailand Program, our most popular program!

With low costs of living and Bangkok being the travel hub of South East Asia, Thailand is the perfect place to start teaching and gain experience.

TEFL Heaven's Take on Thailand program will get you ready to Teach English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) while you get TEFL certified in a paradise location. With many trainees of the same age (in their twenties or early thirties) it means making friends on your course is easy. We train teachers every 6 months during April and October, just before the start of the school terms.

The Take on Thailand program comes with a GUARANTEED paid job in after the course. Hands on, face-to face learning experience with teaching practice giving you the confidence and all the tools you need to be a successful teacher!

Visit our website and talk to one of our travel and TEFL experts to start your adventure!

Highlights
  • Fully TEFL/ TESOL Certificate after the course
  • Guaranteed job placement after the course
  • Complimentary accommodation during the training course
  • Pre-departure guidance on visas, costs of living and salary guides and connections with previous teachers
  • Lifetime worldwide job assistance from our team

Currently offering a special reduced rate for our Mexico Program (Summer months only) check out the website for more info!

Experience 3 weeks fully immersive TEFL/ TESOL training in Puerta Vallarta, Mexico with a guaranteed paid work placement within 30 days of your course ending and a lifetime, worldwide job assistance guarantee!

Questions & Answers

With TEFL Heaven, Asia teachers are required to be from the age of 20 - 55 years old. In Latin America and Europe you would be required to be between the ages of 18 and 65.

Yes. It says on the website: FOR THOSE WITHOUT A BACHELORS DEGREE If you do not have a bachelors degree you can receive a guaranteed paid teaching job on this program: PUERTO VALLARTA & PAID JOB MEXICO If you have not yet acquired your bachelors degree yet, but are still studying, you are also eligible for the guaranteed paid teaching job, as long as you get your degree certificate sent to you...

Reviews

94%
based on 74 reviews
  • Benefits 8.8
  • Support 9.2
  • Fun 8.6
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Safety 9.4
  • Instruction 9.1
  • Support 9.7
  • Value 9
  • Academic Rigor 6.3
  • Job Assistance 9.7
Showing 61 - 74 of 74
Default avatar
Aaron
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

The kickstart to a whole new life

Over two years ago I could never have imagined that I would be where I am today. TEFL heaven started me on my ESL career with a bang and I have never looked back. What I liked most about TEFL heaven and my placement was everything was at the right pace. Learning how to teach English as a foreign langauge was nerve racking, but they made it easy for me to digest and put into practice. My school was amazing and the support with problems was fantastic. I had heard of other companies not paying people or just not keeping promises, my company did. Recommend this company whole heartedly, TEFL heaven and ECHO English.

What would you improve about this program?
I would make the conditions for allowing some people to participate to be stricter. Some colleagues I felt had came to Thailand for disingenuous reasons and I would like to see a tighter interview screening process to help bring better teachers abroad.
Default avatar
Jess
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

When people tell you it'll be the best 3 weeks of your life, they aren't kidding!

I had been told by friends who had done this course before me that it was going to be the most fun I'd ever have. You never really think your friends mean it when they say those things; but in this case, they really did. I learned so much about teaching in this country and made some incredible, life long friends that are my support system now in Thailand. The trainers are passionate about their jobs, which both inspires and excites you to be the best teacher you can. I considered doing the online certificate program (mostly because of financial reasons) but having done this 3 week course now, I am so happy I did it. It's worth every penny and honestly prepares you so much for your first day, and the rest of your time here in this beautiful country full of smiles!

What would you improve about this program?
I would encourage participants of the program to arrive in Thailand a few days before the actual travelling to the island. I would attempt to get the assistant trainers and head trainers there for those couple days as well, and try to get everyone together as a group in Bangkok before making their way down. I think it might help people settle into the initial shock that Thailand can sometimes be and encourage people to start making friends with one another before even getting there!
Default avatar
D
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

highly recommended

I came out to Thailand on a bit of a whim, looking for a challenge and a change of pace. I chose the TEFL Heaven course on Koh Chang based on a recommendation from a friend who had also taken the course - and I am so grateful! I had zero teaching experience and very little travelling under my belt. It's safe to say that I was beyond nervous! TEFL Heaven provided a well-structured, informative course that helped reassure me that I had made the right choice. The location was beautiful and the accomodation ideal. The trainers were super helpful and being able to hear their own stories and experiences was a huge help. The guidance and support offered on this course boosted my confidence more than I could have hoped for and I went off to my placement feeling prepared and eager to get stuck in. Thai language and culture aspects of the course really helped set me up for life here and made it easier to settle into my small town. The other trainees quickly became my Thailand family and that sort of support network is priceless. Teaching abroad is always going to be a steep learning curve, and what you get out of it is based so much on your own attitude and willingness to persevere. Saying that, TEFL Heaven provided a great foundation on which I have been able to build on over a subsequent year and a half teaching. I'd highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a high quality TEFL course.

Default avatar
Sarah
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Most amazing thing i've ever done!

Applied for the VTP as a spur of the moment thing (had the holiday blues lol), and it was the best thing i've done to date!
The people I met were lovely and supportive, had some amazing experiences & met some lifelong friends.
I have already been back to Thailand & i'm sure it wot be long before i return again.
The teaching side of it was great, sometimes challanging (as the thai teachers were not always particularly able to help/understand) but the ETA/TEFL team were always on the other end of the phone & helped with any problems.
Stayed friends with several of the staff & fellow volunteers!

If you are considering it - DO IT!!!! You wont regret it! But it might change your life & make your dull old life seem rather boring haha!

What would you improve about this program?
Perhaps training with some actual children, and also maybe more help with the curriculum- just to ensure that the kids got the most from the programme.
Default avatar
Alex
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

An amazing challenge

I found the teaching bit very enjoyable. However, I also found it challenging at times as I had never taught before and sometimes felt overwhelmed when I entered the classroom.
At times, I didn't quite know what to do as the pupils acted differently every day and no day is like the other. In general, pupils behaved very well but got distracted when the lesson slowed down because of my poor lesson planning.
Even though lots of activities were provided by TEFL heaven, it was difficult to remember them all and use them in the classroom. Therefore, I felt like I needed more time doing a TEFL course. The 9 days were too short for me.

In summary, it still was an amazing experience and I'm very glad I did it. Thailand and it's people is amazing and beautiful. TEFL heaven did a fantastic job to accommodate and take care of all of us and their training was good and enjoyable. I ended up doing a PGCE course after I returned from Thailand and will now end up as a German and French teacher in secondary schools. So, I guess that says it all :o)

What would you improve about this program?
TEFL course (hours and training) should be longer before throwing us into the classroom. It is fun and one gets the impression that it is no big deal; however being in the classroom on my own and doing the whole thing all of a sudden on my own is a different thing. It was a bit scary at times and I would have profited from a longer training before doing the teaching bit.
Default avatar
Hayley
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Excellent company to work with

I did my TEFL training with TEFL Heaven/ ETA almost two years ago now and couldn't recommend them more highly. The organisation and support were excellent and the staff were really good throughout the entuire process. I made some friends for life on the course and had a fantastic time. I have made a video about my experiences... feel free to have a look! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5eZsFJfj8cI

Response from TEFL Heaven

Thanks for the great review!

All the best!

Mike Maitland
Director

Default avatar
BrianBadonde
7/10
Yes, I recommend this program

TEFL Heaven: Good. Media Kids: Bad

I was part of the TEFL training program in April 2012 on Koh Chang. First off I have to say the location is pretty amazing, especially reflecting from here in the cold and drizzly UK. There is plenty to do outside of course times, with Song Taews (pick up trucks installed with bench seats) available to take you from the admittedly remote (though tranquil) resort of Siam Bay to Tai Bay for shopping, or the other direction to Lonely Beach's nightspots. Alternatively hire a scooter and head to White Sands for beachside cocktails, or drive further afield and visit one of the many swimmable waterfalls. Wow, I'm making myself miss it typing this! The accommodation was basic but livable, being comfortable enough with air con and soft beds. As for the Krabi course getting a better deal, I was informed by my friend who'd been on that course that the resort was so swish the company effectively made no profit, so no one in the future will be getting such a good deal. They were just lucky this time.

On to the course though, and while intense at times (some days while doing essays can be a full 12 hour day), there was always an effort to make it enjoyable from the two main trainers. It was 100% face to face, none of this internet rubbish other TEFL providers offer, and included evaluated time teaching in island schools. Despite what some others have said, I would argue that teaching in Thailand is not the hardest job in the world, and therefore you don't need people with years of experience training you - don't kid yourself this is a professional career you're getting into! If you can dance around and shout some English (or French, or whatever, they honestly wouldn't know the difference), the kids will be thrilled by the big white clown - anything else is superfluous.

Once I left the course and was handed over to TEFL heaven's partner agency, Media Kids, things started going downhill. I am dismayed that such an incompetent collection of people are allowed to run such a company. Their 'training' in Bangkok was a complete waste of time. Once we arrived in our placement town, we literally had to fend for ourselves - the partner organization, Media Kids, had done nothing to orientate us there, and our introduction to the school was looking it up on google maps and wandering in the first morning asking for the English department. They were even worse when it came to work permits and visas (made worse by our horrifically irritating excuse for a consultant, who thought the best way to placate your anger at him lying to you about matters that could get you thrown out the country was to make puppy dog eyes and stroke your arm). I can't say I was too happy with the school either, who started us on ~16 contact hours per week and by the end had gradually pushed the uncomplaining falangs up to ~25+ with no extra pay. This was while they sat around at their desks gossiping, stuffing sticky rice into their mouths and watching YouTube, waiting for the next class in a sparsely populated 10 contact hour week (btw TEFL teachers weren't allowed to interact with each other - we did and got moved desks because "falang no sit together"). The final straw was when they arbitrarily decided we would work all Saturdays in September with no extra pay, so ~30+ hours on a 16 hour contact. As we had heard reports of the partner organization not paying people for their worked month (so £600) who gave notice, 3 out of 4 of us foreign teachers did a runner the day after payday.

What would you improve about this program?
Overall then, a big thumbs up to TEFL heaven and the training course for me, but try and avoid the partner organization, Media Kids, if at all possible! There are much better jobs to be had TEFLing in Thailand than taking where they offer you in Sakhon Nowhere at poor pay and with ridiculous contract terms (work 2 weekends free per semester?!)
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thank you for the good review.

Regarding teaching hours - normally it states the teaching hours in your contract and should not be more than 24 - if you had any issues with this then you can bring it up with the school or your agency, and also with us. There is no need to work any weekends at all!

It seems that your relationship with one of the staff members at the agency was not so good, and perhaps this has tarred the whole agency in your mind - but if you had contacted us regarding any issues with agency, we would have dealt with them.

Thank you for emphasizing how beautiful you thought Koh Chang was - we love our resort there!

Sincerely

Mike Maitland
Director

Default avatar
toughcookie
8/10
Yes, I recommend this program

ETA

I had a blast, if it wasn't for ETA and their placement scheme from England to Thailand, my life would be entirely different.

Take it from the girl that is still in Thailand, three years later, it will change your life for the better.

What would you improve about this program?
I would create an online resources availability to all teachers within the program.
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thank you for your lovely review!

Some stay for a school term, others for years. I personally enjoy hearing about those that stay longer because it shows how much this experience has impacted them.

All the best,

Mike Maitland
Director

Default avatar
Anon
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

It's how they handle issues that makes them great

I actually can't really fault TEFL heaven. Right from the beginning you are told how great Thailand is AND the hard parts.

You artfully prepared with what you need money and items wise. I was on Koh Kood and yes it was pretty boring as there wasn't much to do and there was scary thunder. But again tefl heaven told us that and actually it was a fairly unique experience which I am glad I had. Plus we went to Koh Chang a couple weekends so there is alternatives.

When we first arrived they resort did not live up to expectations basic it was not. More like TEFL Hell with shacks over swamps but very quickly they changed us to far superior accommodation which went beyond our expectations.

The trainers were fun and friendly and we learnt some thai. They told us what school would be like and they were fairly wrong but they also said every school was different.

I had my 3 weeks on a paradise island and got a TEFL certificate and an awesome school can't be better than that.

What would you improve about this program?
Don't use the partner organization, Media Kids, they are really awful as for their teaching plans they are appalling.
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thank you for the excellent review!

We sometimes make mistakes and the resort on Koh Khood was not up to standard as you say - we had previously inspected it but we had only checked a few rooms and with 24 attending, some of the rooms were not up to scratch when they arrived.

That year I personally dealt with that issue and authorised the moving of the whole group to another resort on the island, at a cost of around 3000 GBP - it was a big decision and it meant we basically ran the training for free. We could not get our money back from the previous resort either! But we put a higher value on candidates getting a good experience - I am glad it was appreciated!

Every school is different in Thailand - private to government, and trainers can only speak from their own experience.

Also, none of our partner organisations advocate to follow their teaching plans directly and teaching plans should only be used as a guide for your own lesson plans - so if used correctly they should give you some ideas rather than completely prescribe what you should do in the lesson.

Sincerely

Mike Maitland
Director

Default avatar
Happy!
8/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Great Fun!

Ill keep it short and simple:

- TEFL heaven are extremely helpful in the build up to you getting to your program. Will keep you to to date with everything way advanced and went out their way further with information re my visa runs as I had a few issues I should have dealt with before leaving. So, very helpful, and supportive.

- Location and travel to training program in Koh Samui was very well organised, no issues!

- Our training was very fun and informative. Had three great, helpful trainers and although, as mentioned below, a couple only had a semesters worth or experience, I believe, after doing just one semester myself I could provide more than enough information to help new arriving teachers, just as they did for me. To be honest the job is potentially one of the easiest jobs going... (Teaching in Thailand).. The only thing you need to be taught is prepare your lessons, teach with a big smile on your face and kids will love you. So I do rate the course - it gives you the basics to work off and allows you to go out there with a few ideas which you use, then expand in your own way to your own level of students and schools ability.

- After training you don't hear much from them (which is fine, you don't really need to... I'm sure if you had a few problems they would help you out though but I personally didn't need any help so no need!). They pass you on to the partner organization, Media Kids, who are a bunch of Thai's who just like robbing schools and, so I've heard, teachers of money. Wouldn't trust them as far as I can throw them and really think TEFL Heaven would improve if they found new recruit agency in Thailand.

But ye overall very good company, do everything you need them to. Don't think about it just sign up and get in involved. Met some very cool people through the experience and had some amazing times so sign up and get started - you won't regret it!

Response from TEFL Heaven

Thank you for the excellent review!

We do give alumni opportunities to become assistant trainers after just one school term teaching and as you say, for what the assistants have to do and teach, it is enough. Thank you for emphasizing that! It's good that at least with every course there are 2-3 trainers - 1 main trainer and 1-2 assistants trainers.

I am sorry that at the end of the review you started to spread some hearsay rumours which are unfounded, however, about one of our partner organisations - especially when you yourself had no experience of this!

We have several partner organisations that we use and if we have any serious problems reported to us, we would deal with them - but no partner has robbed schools or teachers! We have never had any of that reported to us, and if we had, we would have swiftly dealt with it.

Thank you for recommending us!

Sincerely

Mike Maitland
Director

Default avatar
JossieFraeTheGlens
8/10
Yes, I recommend this program

highs and lows

Overall, the experience was amazing.
Thailand was just as beautiful as I remebered from previous holidays and the people I met on the course were amazing.
Though we arrived in rainy season it was still great weather with incredible thunder storms.
The internet was knocked out by a Tropical Storm on our 2nd night and we had to return to the basics of human interaction, which lead to many hilarious and memorable conversations.
The TEFL experience is something I would recommend to everybody and would LOVE to do again.
I would more than happily return to Thailand, but not to Bangkok. The loud and busy city can be daunting for a girl on her own and I found it to be quite an isolating place, yet the 4 days I spend visiting a friend in Chiang Mai made me realise how easily I could settle into Thailand's Second City and love every minute of my life there.
I certainly miss all the 'WTF? Moments' that Thailand has to offer... from Chihauhaus in baby slings with little red plastic cowboy hats; to 5 people on a motorbike; to seeing a guy casually walk his 7 foot tall, baby elephant through the market casually; to drunkenly learning Thai Tongue Twisters with the locals in exchange for teaching them ''She sells Seashells on the seashore'' and ''red lolly, yellow lorry''... from which absolute hilarity ensued...

The children were so impressed when teacher finally learnt how to say ''Yiy Gin Lam Yai, Naam Lai Yiy Lai Yoi''...
I have so many amazing memories I can look back on with so much joy. It truly was a life changing experince.

The only disappointment to the experience was the company I was placed with.

The managers are utterly devoid of social skills, the company refused to pay me for my final 2 weeks when I had to rush home as my Grandma was rushed into hospital on Boxing Day. (They only bothered to tell me this the day before I was due to leave and they were due to pay me)
I found the management to lack any form of empathy or underrstanding about the circumstances and I can completely understand why they have such a high turnover of staff, they really made me feel alienated and unappreciated.
The staff at the company, however, were fantastic! The nicest group of you could ever ask to work with.

So with high comes a low... but you just learn to take a deep breath and say 'mai pen rai'' (no worries)

What would you improve about this program?
Cease all communications with the partner organization, SpeakEZ, whilst the staff bases at the San Phran school seemed more than happy with their experience. The managers running the Bangkok Branch are abysmal.

Staff only stay 1 term and THAT is asking ALOT of anybody. Almost all the British staff were unsatisfied with the managers' attitudes and behaviour. I would liken them to Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dumber, only much more verbally abusive and living so much more securely in the own little Wonderland.
They have NO respect for their staff and know that most employees will stay the full term as they cannot afford to go home, nor do they want to leave behind all the other benefits of Bangkok and Thailand.
Perhaps if I had been placed at the other branch with the other managers I may have been happier.
What I have earned is that when I take my next job abroad I will not be trusting anyone to find me a placement and I will need to ensure the staff I will be working meet my standards of proffessionalism
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thanks for the review - I think! We appreciate your comments about the training, we just think your comments about your placement are very negative and we need to make everyone reading this aware of the true situation.

I have contacted Speak EZ and they have responded below:

Dear Mike,

Thank you for bringing this review to our attention and allowing us an opportunity to respond. The employee in question was placed with Speak EZ after finishing her TEFL course. From day one her demeanor was very unprofessional and she struggled to get along with other staff members. Three of our schools complained about her within a short time of her starting working. Our response to this was to give her additional training in an attempt to improve both her teaching skills and also her attitude. Unfortunately, all the hard work our managers put in was in vain. Her attendance record was poor and she continued to show a lack of commitment to both our company, but more so the children she was teaching.

After working for a period of approximately eight weeks she handed in her notice shortly after returning from a two week Christmas holiday. Although she left without giving the required notice period, and that we were subsequently short of teachers, we still paid her for each and every day she had worked. We felt this was a fair thing to do as she was returning home for a family emergency.

I feel that as a company we did everything possible to assist this teacher, so that her experience of teaching in Thailand would be happy, and that the children she taught would receive a good standard of teaching. It makes me sad to see that despite of all of the hard work we put in to assist this teacher in many different ways, she has felt it necessary to write a review such as this. Luckily this is a one off and most of our teachers enjoy their Thai experience and working for us.

Marek Brooks
Course Director
Speak EZ Language School

Default avatar
Disappointed
8/10
No, I don't recommend this program

Teaching is great but the training course not so good

Teaching in Thailand has been a great experience, but I cannot rate the training as highly. I stayed on Koh Chang which is a lovely island but the accommodation was appalling. Tefl heaven advertised this as 'experiencing real Thailand' which really is a nice way of saying, 'we will do this as cheap as possible'. The 'hut' where I stayed was invaded by an army of ants on several occasions to which there was little done about it. During several thunderstorms I was awoke while sleeping on my mattress on the floor (no bed) to having rain dripping on my face and the mattress soaked. I also had two very expensive silk tops eaten by some sort of insects which I had to discard. While we stayed in horrendous conditions the trainers where in luxury huts, I think this is disgraceful.
The food in the accommodation was mediocre and rather pricey considering you have to eat there most days. There are no shops nearby as a substitute. To get to the nearest shop you have to either walk along the beach which you cannot do when the tide is in or get a taxi which costs 50 baht per person each way.
We did our training above the restaurant at the resort which was once again, another hut. This obviously lacked air conditioning which is highly uncomfortable when you are training 7hrs a day and have not acclimatised to Thai weather.
The training itself was poorly put together as we were taught by previous teachers who only had the experience of 1 or 2 semesters. This meaning that they had only taught for around 4 months, I highly doubt they are qualified to teach anything other than English as a foreign language.
Whilst having this experience my friend did his training at the same time in ko Samui and stayed in a 4 star hotel with air conditioned classroom. We paid the same amount and I think he got a lot more for his money while I feel very much ripped off.
Tefl heaven also neglected to tell us that our tefl certificates are not up to the highest standard and although we have all paid a lot of money, we can not get a job teaching in a language school back home. So basically the only countries you can teach with your tefl certificate is where tefl heaven have their training programmes.

I would like to say that the teaching itself is great and thoroughly enjoyable but this is not with any thanks to tefl heaven as they send your information a consultancy agency, who are responsible for placing you and everything after that. I have heard some bad reports from the partner organization, Media Kids, but through my experience they have been very helpful.

Response from TEFL Heaven

Sorry to hear that you could not recommend us!

Your review is more of a rant and I am sorry that you somehow felt you did not get what you expected, but I also feel that much of what you are saying is not true and is tainted by a negative opinion overall.

We have run our training on Koh Chang for years and most trainees love staying in the huts near the beach. There can be ants in Thailand at times but mentioning this to any resort staff gets rid of them - no problem. Also, if you had problems with leakages you should have mentioned this as well and we would have moved you. And if you look on the website of the resort for the real prices of the accommodation you will be surprised to see that it is not as cheap as you think!

We love our resort on Koh Chang, as have hundreds of others who have trained there - private beach, swimming pool, and also the open air training area - if that is not to your taste then I am not sure we could have satisfied you. The resort on Koh Samui is different of course, but the air conditioned room is more like a classroom and does not have views of the sea and the beach like Koh Chang. Honestly, I think you missed out but only because of your dark glasses!

The trainers are not in 'luxury huts' at all and were in the same standard of room as everyone else but had a fridge and a TV - not really luxury.

The trainers also are more experienced than you say and the main trainer would have at least been in Thailand for a year. We received very good internal feedback about them and no one mentioned that they felt they were inexperienced. In fact we get very positive comments about all our trainers!

You haven't mentioned anything about how prepared you felt after the training, probably because you felt you were quite prepared - since you mentioned how much you loved the teaching element and did not mention anything about struggling with that. Some positive comments here would have been a better review, because this review is completely unbalanced and I am sorry that you decided not to speak more truthfully.

In closing, I am glad you actually did say something positive when you said you loved the teaching!

Sincerely

Mike Maitland
Director

Default avatar
H_Hazlehurst
8/10
Yes, I recommend this program

A good experience from the inexperienced

You are well prepared by ETA before coming to Thailand. They tell you exactly what to bring, and what clothes are appropriate. Not everyone gets this level of advice.
The course is set in a tropical, laid-back atmosphere, which unfortunately means some of the students take a similarly laid back attitude to their studies. The 'trainers' do not enforce their initial rules, as they have only been teaching for 3-4 months at the most. I would appreciate more experienced teachers to teach hopeful teachers how to be teachers.
There are plenty of fun and exciting activities if you do not have the time or inclination to travel around Thailand during or after your job, you can get your rewarding holiday experience as part of the TEFL Heaven Course!
I went to Koh Chang and I found the locals friendly and welcoming - although a little too friendly in the late night bars. Women beware of creepy Thai men looking to score a foreigner.
Accomodation was lovely, I got to wake up to a beach view every morning with some local macaque monkeys hanging out in the forest next to our huts.
I felt very prepared for my teaching placement after we were sent to teach in a local school for practise, this was the highlight of the academic side of the course as it provided real hands-on experience!

What would you improve about this program?
They need to hire more experienced trainers, the two on my program seemed unprofessional and their advice on schools and students was in some cases wrong and I was in for a shock when I finally got to my Thai schools. This is possibly because they had only worked in 1 school themselves and so could not provide broad advice on all students in Thailand.
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thanks for the good review!

I checked who was on your course and the main trainer had a few years teaching experience, not 3-4 months as you described. We are sorry to hear that you felt you did not get good advice from that particular trainer but perhaps you are referring to the assistant trainer? In any case, we believe both the assistant and main trainer performed well through the internal feedback we requested.

We do prepare you well before you arrive, thanks for mentioning that. We make sure you have everything you need before you fly and keep in email contact with you throughout the period before you come.

Thank you for saying you felt well prepared to teach after the course. I'm glad overall that you had a good experience!

All the best,

Mike Maitland
Director

Default avatar
Jennie
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Life changing

Moving abroad is stressful itself especially to a non English speaking country. Right from the start I was put in touch with my fellow course mates taking much of the stress of moving away!
By the time I got to my town I felt well equipped to deal with my teaching life. I had a good social network all around Thailand from my course which made settling in much easier!!
Although going to a small town was daunting at first especially as every where I went I got laughs and giggles for being white I quickly made friends both English speaking and Thai And really felt at home!
One of the highlights was morning assembly and teaching the whole school English songs.... 1500 kids singing and dancing is hilarious.
Another big highlight was riding my bike through a rice field after getting lost only to stumble across an Australian teacher skipping at a boxing camp... Almost 2 years later i now live in Oz! Without taking a leap of faith with tefl I doubt or paths would have ever crossed!
Food was unbelievable and I'm pretty sure I have consumed things I didn't even know were edible!
I was lucky not to suffer much home sickness however I did have difficulties as does everyone from time to time from missing home.

What would you improve about this program?
My course we didn't learn much Thai which I would have liked. Although it made me the village entertainment when it came to ordering my dinner!
Response from TEFL Heaven

Thanks for the great review!

We are glad you got a network of friends from training with us - we know having friends in Thailand - good friends you can contact and meet up with - makes this experience all the better!

We now have an hour of Thai lessons every day on the course - sorry you didn't get that during your course!

All the best in your future adventures!

Mike Maitland
Director