Chinese Culture + Language Immersion in beautiful & rustic Yangshuo

Video and Photos

About

From the beautiful, rustic town of Yangshuo we provide a variety of Chinese courses and programs to choose from; with the possibility to start on any Monday, we offer the freedom and flexibility for you to reach your individual Chinese language goals. Our most popular program is the Comprehensive Course which teaches the fundamental aspects of Chinese language.

Alternatively, students can choose a Specialized Private Course which provides flexibility for those who wish to direct their focus on a particular area of study (for example business, art or literature). The HSK Preparation Course is designed to prepare students for all elements of the HSK exam; we pride ourselves on the fact we are one of the only Chinese schools in China to guarantee students will pass their current HSK level exam. Our small class sizes allow us to cater for individual students’ needs and our relationship with the English College means that students are constantly interacting with native Chinese speakers.

Related Programs

Questions & Answers

Reviews

95%
based on 51 reviews
  • Academics 9.1
  • Support 9.7
  • Fun 8.3
  • Housing 9.5
  • Safety 9.6
Showing 31 - 45 of 51
Default avatar
Igor
10/10

how it was

My experience in Omeida was amazing. Besides, I've been studied a lot of Chinese language and characters, a I've been deeply sunk in Chinese culture, I mean I recomend this school, you wouldn't be regret.

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thank you for your recommendation, we are glad you enjoyed studying with us. Check out this video (in Russian) reflecting your experience here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92O-ET6ennw

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Jana
10/10

Very private

Hello, my name is Jana an I come from Germany. I stayed at Omeida for 2 weeks in summer 2014. I think, I improved my Chinese, because the classes were small an d the teachers were very engaged. The contact with the other teachers and students were really relaxed. You can come into the office when ever you want and get a tea or coffee and a good talk. It was also a good combination of staff-organized events and self-organized activities of the students. To have one or two language partners I liked, I ´ve got more informations about the daily China (and they helped me to do my homework...) Yangshuo and the region offer such a lot facilities, that I must come back to use them all. At the morning my daughter and I had Tai-Chi-lessons and if we have had time, we mostly went by bike in the wonderful landscape. We also enjoyed the food at Omeida cantine and at the restaurants of Yangshuo and the fruits from the markets.
I hope, I will have time to come back sometime! It was a really great experience.

How can this program be improved?
We had a nice room, but we ´ve had no desk. To do the homework it was really bad.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

It was great having you and your daughter, Alisa, here Jana! Apologies that your room did not have a desk for homework, we endeavour to ensure all rooms are fully equipped for study; thank you for making us aware of this- we will make the adjustments to the room you were in. We hope you have time to come back too, we will always welcome you here in Yangshuo! Check out this video reflecting your experience with us https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97vm6PfQ_J0

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Jan
10/10

Good Time

I just spent two weeks at Omeida (which is actually too short) but I really enjoyed them. The landscape is amazing and the school as well as the teachers are very good. I took intensive courses (lessons in the morning and in the afternoon) and had a language partner. Both was good, the intensive courses because you have a lot of time to study Chinese with a teacher and the language partner program because I learned so much about Chinese people and Chinese culture. However, doing both means I had little time to do other things including reviewing the Chinese words. I had some time during noon, when I reviewed what I had learned during morning classes and I had time after dinner and in the night to review the content of the afternoon lessons. But sometimes you just want to go to a bar or so with others, which means I was really struggeling to find the time to get all of the grammar and the words into my head. However, staying at Omeida was a great experience for me and I learned a lot of Chinese within those to weeks. I hope I will come back some day but than I probably won't take intenisve courses.

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for the review, we hope to see you here again....next time you can stay longer!

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Pam
10/10

Great programme

I was already living in Yangshuo when I spent 3 months studying Chinese with Omeida. My Chinese was patchy and I had quite a lot of vocabulary but not a good understanding of grammar. The teachers were incredibly helpful and the class was small so a lot of help was available. I advanced a long way in 3 months. I had tried to study formally before but found the approach with other schools or teachers was not well set out and confusing.
I did not stay in the accommodation or eat the food as I already had accommodation. The other students were very happy with the standard. You will not find a meal for 10rmb anywhere else in Yangshuo unless you eat noodles three times a day.
Yangshuo is a beautiful place and there are many opportunities to involved yourself in other activities such as cycling, climbing or hiking. Best to get outside the town and spend some time talking to the locals in the small villages if you want to practice your Chinese.

How can this program be improved?
A lot of effort and thought went into the program and I have no complaints at all
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you found such great value in your lessons. Always feel free to call in and say "ni hao" if you are passing by.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Tomer
9/10

Overall Pleasant Experience

Overall, I think the program is great. The scenery is beautiful and the city is alive. You can study during the weekdays and go traveling during the weekends. The teachers had great knowledge in their field of study and they answered all my questions thoroughly. The scheduled weekend activities are really cool and would recommend attending (especially water rafting). The whole atmosphere of Yang Shuo is very relaxing and it was easy to get around and navigate. I really loved the Chinese roommate experience and Chinese dorm mates, I made some good friends. Lastly, Anya and the staff at Omeida do the maximum to make sure you ahve a safe trip to and from Omeida, Thanks! These are amongst the positive parts of the program.

As for the negatives they are little nuounces here and there. The food in the canteen was good, but I feel like it wasn't worth 10 yuan per meal. Overall, I feel like the program is more suited for beginners, as you can fall back on English anytime you want - this was one thing I didn't really like. I was hoping for a more submersed Chinese experience, but I found alot of staff (especially in English Department) talking to me (and others) in English. The city will probably bore you after 1 month, as it is really small. Probably the only major negative part of the whole experience was the housing. Some pretty big bugs crawled around and I squashed a cockroach or two.

Overall I'd recommend the program to any beginner/intermediate Chinese learner or HSK Test taker.

How can this program be improved?
Speak less English to the students.

Please increase the afternoon break time for English students by half an hour. It gives us time to sleep/afternoon nap (which is needed in hot Yangshuo) and it alines-up perfectly with Volunteer timing for the English faculty.

The Cafeteria food is too expensive (Afternoon and Evening).
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for sharing your personal opinion with us, we are glad you enjoyed the overall experience at Omeida and we will take into account your suggestions.

Perhaps you used more English than desired because you chose to join the volunteer program at Omeida English College for 2 hours each day; at the English College it is necessary to have conversation in English because this is the language Chinese students are learning. However, it is still an opportunity to learn about the Chinese culture and make friends with people who you can practise Chinese with outside of volunteer hours.

It’s interesting to hear your perspective about Yangshuo; most students find a month is not long enough and many of them return. It depends on whether you would rather spend your time in the vibrant (yet small) city centre or exploring the surrounding countryside (which can keep you busy for many months).

Accommodation standards are something we continue to work on. If students inform us of issues they have, we will make every effort to provide them with a solution.

We're glad you enjoyed your experience here at Omeida and we welcome you back in the future.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
eleonora
9/10

:)

Living in yangshuo is lovely! Be carefull of mosquitoes, they are everywhere. I noticed there are no danger at all (except when crossing the main road!). Sometimes you don't understand how yo go somewhere or how to do something but is not a problem, just ask someone in omeida's office. If you are a smoker watch out cause Chinese cigarettes are horrible.
i suggest everybody that want to learn Chinese to go to omeida: school is well organized and there is a lot to do on weekends

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

We are glad you enjoyed studying with Omeida in our beautiful town. You're right- we are more than happy to assist students with any problems they have throughout their stay in Yangshuo. We hope to see you back here in the future.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Levin
10/10

Great Choice

Omeinda is a great choice. The teachers are perfect and they really teach in a good way. We practiced a lot of speaking and a lot of grammar structures. I had the chance that I was in a very small class, first week 3 students and second/third week we were only two students. The way of teaching is not the dominant Chinese way, it's more western style or even better. I arrived at Omeida and my Chinese was really poor but when I left three weeks later I really that the impression that my Chinese improved a lot!

Yangshuo is a great place to stay! There are a lot of outdoor activities and some fun bars! First I was affraid that all the people there speak English (it's a rather touristy city) but thats definitely not the case. You can still use your Chinese very often.

For me it was the perfect school and I really loved my time there. I will definitely come back one day!

How can this program be improved?
No idea at the moment, sorry.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

You definitely made the most out of your time at Omeida and we really enjoyed having you here! Your studiousness combined with our small classes (maximum 6 students), Westernised teaching style and the immersive environment meant your Chinese improved significantly- congratulations! We welcome you back in the future.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Juline
10/10

A great place to learn Chinese

I really liked being in Yangshuo! It's a small but very interesting town with many tourists coming from all over china and from western countries. Therefore you can find many western bars and (mainly young) people.
I didn't know any Chinese when I arrived there and I was surprised how fast I had learned enough to be able to write dialogs and stories in Chinese. The lessons are very good: challenging but also interesting. In my first week I was the only one in my class, then I had lessons together with another student and in the end we were three students. You can learn so much in a very short period of time and the teachers are so friendly and enthusiastic. You also get to know something about Chinese culture as there is a cultural lesson and a social night every week. In my opinion it's a great place to learn Chinese and a very beautiful one, too.

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for choosing Omeida and giving us a review! We enjoy welcoming students from all different countries, ages and backgrounds to Yangshuo and it was great to have you join us. Good luck for continuing your Chinese studies in Germany.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Ramona
9/10

Chinese teachers are very helpful and patient.

The Chinese teachers were always very helpful and patient. If I forget chinese words my teacher repeated it so often just I got it.
Sometimes I had lessons at the Yangshuo Parc, at Kellys or we visited the canteen kitchen to learn the words for vegetables or fruits. I liked very much this kind of teaching. I learned very much.
After four weeks par example I wanted to stopp eating in the canteen, because I had problems with my stomach. I got the rest of the money I already paid back.
I liked the social dinners too. And it was really great, that the teachers organized al lot of ativities. We had the possibility to meet somebody.
I was happy that I had the possibillity to visit the TaiChi-School. My favorite sports.

Next year I will come back to Omeida, to Yangshuo.

But there was only on thing that I don't like. It was the bathroom. It was very dirty. I would be happy to pay more money for a proper room.
The last two days I lived in the Tiffanys Hostel. It was the same room, but proper.

Every day I think of Omeida and my wonderful experiences and adventures I had gain.
Many greetings to Yangshuo....;-)))

How can this program be improved?
I would like to learn writing Chinese Characters.
Unfortunately I didn't have a language partner at the beginning, only the two last weeks.
I would prefer speaking chinese during the lessons.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you back at Omeida in the future! We apologise if you were unhappy with the bathroom in your room; if you had let us know earlier, we would have moved you to another room immediately. Thank you for informing us of the problem, now we are working on upgrading student accommodation.

In the future, if you would like to focus more time on Chinese characters, you are welcome to choose a Specialised Chinese course. Of course, you can still learn characters with our comprehensive courses.

It was great to have you here and wish you all the best until we meet again.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Catherine
10/10

GREAT CLASSES, GREAT STAFF, GREAT PLACE

I was only there for 1 week but couldve easily satye a month. All the stagf there is soooo welcoming and generous with their time, it really made learning chinese motivating! I followed the intensive classes and have learn much more than I wouldve hoped for. Moreover, the school organize activities almost everyday like hikes, social nights, chinese art classes, karaoke, visit of nearby villages on weekends, etc. This is a great way to meet ither foreigners and other chinese students learning english that will practice your chinese with you. Everything was great, would go again anytime! THANKS OMEIDA :)

How can this program be improved?
It is quite expensive.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

You are welcome! Thanks for choosing Omeida, we really enjoyed having you here for a week. Enjoy the rest of your time in China, we hope to see you again in the future.

For budget-conscious students we offer the volunteer program http://www.omeida.com.cn/Courses/Volunteer/

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
dosher
9/10

A wonderful place to study, travel, and integrate into a community!

I really enjoyed Omeida because everyone was very warm and welcoming and my teacher, Wency, was really great. Even though my Chinese level was already very high, I felt appropriately challenged and I was heard when I expressed a desire for change in the classroom. I was also really pleased by having only 3 students in my class the first week and only 2 the second week. It was great fun and I would definitely come back to this school again!

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for choosing Omeida, we're glad you had a wonderful time! Hopefully we will see you here again, all the best.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Katie
9/10

Better than Beijing

From the landscape to the community - you cannot get any better than Yangshou. Amazing excursions to the countryside, wonderful teachers and all at a fraction of the cost you'll find in Beijing. I was torn between well advertised programs in Beijing and Omeida in Yangshou - I was so happy I choose Omeida. I was able to learn and practice while also exploring (plus easy access to western food if you are feeling the need for a comfort coffee or crepe).

I was only able to stay two weeks but everyone helped me make great use of the time to learn so much. I felt I made progress and had a lot to practice back home and for a week in Beijing.

How can this program be improved?
The hostel option is very nice.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for your review, we are so happy you chose Omeida too! It was great to have you here and help you to improve your Chinese while experiencing Southern China. We welcome you back in the future.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Niel
9/10

Go Local:)

When I sent my first e-mail to Omeida fromout the wireless Chinese jungle, 2 weeks before I wanted to start, I was immediately impressed by the elaborated response to all of my questions + a lot of other relevant information and help I had not asked for. Both before I started my studies and during my studies, the people of Omeida put a lot of effort in making my stay in Yangshuo comfortable, which helped me to settle, have fun and focus on my studies.
I believe that there are many good Chinese schools throughout China, but as far as I know Omeida distinguishes itself from these by being located in the far more quiet, rural and natural Yangshuo. What I found in Yangshuo was a village life in an amazing environment (mountains to climb, rivers to swim in within half an hour cycling). Touristy and busy, but also lively. What I found at Omeida was a mixed group of Chinese students learning English and foreign students learning Chinese, intermingling as language partners and friends at both organized and unorganized activites.
In short, Omeida is a lively school in a lively environment. I made lots of great friends and had a great experience learning from and about the Chinese, the Chinese culture and the Chinese language. I would definitely recommend anybody to go!

ps. If you're set on going, please enter in the Pub Quizes at thursday night, beat the climb instructors and English teachers and rub it in their faces.

How can this program be improved?
No Duck blood and Chicken legs as food:( That part of Chinese culture I'm not so interested in:)
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for sharing your awesome experience! We really enjoyed having you here at Omeida and miss seeing your smiley face. We have a number of new Chinese dishes at the canteen now (more suitable for foreign taste-buds). We hope to see you back here some day, would be good to see your HAPPY dance moves again https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_juvkscej8Y

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
Ruth
10/10

Amazing experience

I only stayed 1 month in Omeida, but it was one of the most interesting and thrilling experiences of my life.

I chose Yangshuo because I thought that it could be easier to get involve in real chinese life in a small town, and I was right. I felt safe, welcomed and with a whole new world in front of me to be discovered.
And Omeida was the perfect school to complete my adventure. Excellent teachers willing to help you in every aspect of your learning process, competent staff always available, friendly colleagues to practice, and most important, chinese colleagues studying english looking forward to sharing experiences with you.

I met fantastic people for all over the world, learnt some chinese and gather amazing memories for several lifetimes :-)

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

You arrived just in time for Spring Festival and what an awesome time that was! We are glad you had such a great experience at Omeida and we really enjoyed having you here.

Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
William
10/10

Great place to learn Chinese

The staff was very helpful. Yangshuo is a great place to learn Chinese but do not want to spend hours commuting in a polluted city to get anywhere. I met a lot of other very friendly students, with whom I often went out in the evenings or for excursions (bike riding in the beautiful countryside) on the weekends. The school also has an English section, and you can have language exchanges with the students there. Whether you have more contact with them will depend on you and your language partner.
I have already booked another course there!

How can this program be improved?
More audio-visual classroom work.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for the great review William! We look forward to your return in a few months.

Yes, I recommend

Interviews

Meet the Alumni

Meet the Staff

About Omeida Chinese Academy

Omeida Chinese Academy provides quality Chinese language tuition to students from all over the world. We are located in the beautiful town of Yangshuo, China where you can experience the Chinese culture and spend your free time exploring the rivers...