Chinese Language + Culture Immersion in Yangshuo, China

Video and Photos

Selfies among the leaves
A regal pose and a confusion
Xingping
Got my certificate !
Slack lining during school activity
Li jiang river!
in OMEIDA language college

About

From the beautiful, rustic town of Yangshuo we provide a variety of Chinese courses and programs to choose from; with the possibility to start on any Monday, we offer the freedom and flexibility for you to reach your individual Chinese language goals. Our most popular program is the Comprehensive Course which teaches the fundamental aspects of Chinese language.

Alternatively, students can choose a Specialized Private Course which provides flexibility for those who wish to direct their focus on a particular area of study (for example business, art or literature). The HSK Preparation Course is designed to prepare students for all elements of the HSK exam; we pride ourselves on the fact we are one of the only Chinese schools in China to guarantee students will pass their current HSK level exam. Our small class sizes allow us to cater for individual students’ needs and our relationship with the English College means that students are constantly interacting with native Chinese speakers.

Questions & Answers

Reviews

95%
based on 57 reviews
  • Academics 9.1
  • Support 9.8
  • Fun 8.4
  • Housing 9.4
  • Safety 9.6
  • Instruction 9
  • Support 9
  • Fun 10
  • Housing 8
  • Value 10
Showing 31 - 45 of 57
Default avatar
Sven
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Very Professional School

All teachers are very professional, most of my lessons are mostly more than a discussion or dialogue then like school lessons. All the teachers always are well prepared, they speak english fluently but they always tried first use chinese for teaching if possible. In the morning we used a book to learn grammar an vocabularies. The afternoon lessons we used for training listening and free speaking.

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for sharing your experience and recommending Omeida! All the best for continuing your studies and you are always welcome back.

Default avatar
Colin
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Five Months

Having lived in China for two years previously, without ever formally learning the language, I started at Omeida with a very basic understanding of pronunciation, tones and everyday phrases. I had spent much time preparing for my time here by learning the pronunciation and basic meaning of the most common Chinese characters, which I found extremely helpful, as that is one of the most time-consuming parts of study.

I found that the first six weeks of study especially were an absolute explosion of new information that pieced together all the material I had studied by myself. My classroom instruction loosely followed the Boya Chinese textbooks, which I believe are excellent resources for my level.

Once I had learned several dozen grammatical structures and knew how to use them, my lessons became more focused on new vocabulary, new characters, and frequently used idioms that increased my understanding of casual speech. I also at this point needed to constantly review and practice writing all the new grammatical structures so I wouldn't forget them.

Since the number of students at Omeida varies greatly between summer and winter, and since students progress at different rates, there is a lot of continued rearrangement of classes to maximize each student's progress. As a result, in my time here I had five different teachers, and all were excellent. From July to December I never had more than two classmates, and in my final month I had one-on-one lessons exclusively (something you would normally pay extra for). The teachers put a lot of effort into tailoring their teaching style so that the challenge was appropriate for the student, and that we focused on the areas we had the most difficulty in.

The teachers all followed a general structure for the three classes each day. Typically, the first class was entirely conversation, while the second and third would focus on new vocabulary, grammatical structures and forming spoken sentences out of these. Homework was given daily, often a writing assignment that focused on writing a short composition, or a series of made-up sentences, that included the vocabulary and grammar of that day. The homework was checked each day and the teachers were very helpful in not only correcting our mistakes, but also suggesting alternative, more "Chinese", ways of saying our clumsily English-style sentences that, although grammatically correct, would sound a little peculiar to a native speaker (much like the "Chinglish" of the locals that often makes sense but occasionally leads to hilarious misunderstandings -- one time one of the staff referred to the Senior's University as the "Senile University" and we all had a good laugh about it).

In my time here, almost everyone I've met has been highly positive about the quality of the teachers and their Chinese progress. There were one or two students who expected to have learned more, but I'll point out that these particular students also expected that simply attending class, without any review or self-study, would be enough for success. Disclaimer: if you don't put the work in outside of class and you don't practice your speaking in your spare time, you're not going to get very far!

A quick note on the accommodations -- I found the dormitories to be very clean and comfortable. If you're not okay with using a squat toilet, worry not: they supply you with a plastic seat that fits over it, just for us Westerners. (That being said, you really should try to get used to doing it the Chinese way -- it really strengthens your quads over time.)

Anyway, bottom line: I worked pretty hard for five months and spent a lot of class time asking clarification questions, and I went from only being able to utter a few caveman-level phrases to conversing relatively proficiently with native speakers, in Chinese, for an hour or more. I got exactly what I'd hoped for, and if I choose to study Mandarin again I will certainly return to Omeida to do so.

- Colin, 28, Canada

What would you improve about this program?
Many people who take three classes a day have a slight preference for morning or afternoon classes, but they're almost always pretty flexible to make it easier on the admin for various scheduling reasons. On a couple occasions there have been students who NEEDED to take classes at only one of those times, due to their own scheduling conflicts.

There was an instance where a student who was unable to make the afternoon classes found himself being scheduled in the afternoon when he arrived, because it was the only time a class at his level was available. However, this was all sorted out very quickly and professionally, and he ended up taking the morning classes that suited his availability. He didn't initially make it clear that he wouldn't be able to take classes otherwise, but I feel that that's a question admin should make a point of asking before plopping someone in a schedule they might not be able to commit to.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for your review Colin, it was so great to have you at Omeida for 5 months! The progress you made in your Chinese language skills is an achievement we are all proud of. We miss you and hope to see you back here again soon!

Read my full story
Default avatar
Matt
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Great Program (for long stays)

I recently spent two weeks at Omeida Academy in Yangshuo. Overall it was a great experience however, being a complete beginner I wouldn't recommend people engaging in the program for any less than a month unless you plan on moving to China or are about to start course work in University or elsewhere. Two weeks was really not enough time to substantially immerse yourself as a beginner. I imagine if you are experienced two weeks would be enough to help sharpen your skills or focus on a specific weakness, but without applying the skills everyday I didn't feel like it was enough time to set up a solid foundation.

Additionally, given I was only there for two weeks, it was a bit disjointed that I had two different teachers each week. Both teachers were excellent and I would rate them individually very highly, however given the different styles I had to change the way I was learning and it made it a bit more difficult. Again if I was there for longer it would not have been a problem, but for sure I short time I would have preferred some continuity.

Overall I would definitely return and recommend it to friends though.

What would you improve about this program?
For short term people, it would be helpful to have a single teacher for the entirety of the program. Also a more formal induction on Mondays when starting would be appreciated. It was a bit haphazard when I came.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

You are right, two weeks is too short to develop a solid foundation to study Mandarin, it just gives you a taste of the language and culture. Alternatively, you can learn useful phrases for travel in this time. Taking intensive classes would allow you to learn more in a shorter period however we still recommend students study for a month or more in order to make the most progress in their Chinese studies. We hope you return in the future for a longer period of time!

Default avatar
Dr.
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

best chinese you can imagine

Actually, I couldn`t have imagined before how nice it is. Teaching is very much based on what you know and need and it`s very personal. Classes are small, indeed I had two weeks of face-to-face training and one week we were two students with one teacher. That makes it quite intensive.The teachers are highly competent, and remarkably friendly and helpful. Classrooms are very clean and bright and suitable. I liked the tea room for breaks, but we also played badminton or even volleyball on the street between the lessons (and afterwards). The cantine provides nice simple Chinese food and you sit together with Chinese students from the English school, so you can always try and speak a little of what you`ve learnt. One of the great advantages of the place are the learning partnerships between English and Chinese students. We met every afternoon to practice especially pronounciation. The Chinese are very friendly, open, and very patient with Chinese beginners. The staff of the school are extremely nice and helpful with whatever problem you may have. I liked the organized trips by bike or hiking, which also offer another chance to use your Chinese, and the surrounding is beautiful. Social atmosphere is very good and I felt welcome and integrated from the very first day. I wish I could have stayed much longer!

What would you improve about this program?
I think it is already quite perfect because of the excellent practising opportunities and the very highly individualized teaching. The combination with the friendly supporting social atmosphere is hard to top.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for your comprehensive review! It's great to have you here and we are humbled by your kind words. We hope to have you study at Omeida again in the future.

Default avatar
Jessica
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

My short but sweet time at Omeida/Yangshuo

If you want to learn Chinese, explore China, meet some great people, try new foods and enjoy the social side of life then Omeida is definitely the place for you.
I had some great teachers at Omeida who were effective, patient and humorous. Lessons often consisted of reading, writing and a lot of discussion. I believe my lessons were tailored to my learning style and speed which made my short week at Omeida very effective. Some lessons involved walking around outside with my teacher where I was able to practice saying my directions in Chinese. This became very useful in Taxi and scooter rides. We also walked to markets were I was able to practice food names and purchase different fruits.
My two language partners also helped me with pronunciation and enjoyed telling me about Chinese history and myths.
As a student who was studying at Omeida at a beginner level, a struggle was using Chinese websites to book flights. However, this was not a problem as there was always someone to help me. Overall, everyone was very helpful and supportive whether it was with homework, organising flights, adapting to China, anything.
During my ten days in Yangshuo, I conquered TV tower three times, sped in and around the county many times by bike, was challenged mentally and physically during two rock climbing sessions, sung my heart out at KTV, taught my Chinese friend some swimming techniques, enjoyed several very humorous nights in the town, and all of this was done with my new friends, both Chinese and foreign. Additionally, every morning I would open my curtains to see the beautiful peaks scattered throughout Yangshuo. I always enjoyed going to markets where I bought cheap, delicious and often interesting food and ate them while watching the local skills and talent. Adding to these great experiences, I was very happy to be surrounded by a group of like-minded people, all wanting to learn, make new friends and have a great time.
This trip was recommended to me by the International Marketing Manager, Sarah, who is also from New Zealand (go the Kiwis!) She told me that Yangshuo would be a great introduction to China and she was absolutely right. I highly recommend Omeida and Yangshuo.

I do however have one regret... That I didn't stay longer.

What would you improve about this program?
Nothing.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

We are so glad you chose to come to study with us in Yangshuo before starting your university exchange in Beijing! You managed to pack a lot into just one week. We hope to see you here again before your return to New Zealand.

Default avatar
Bernarda
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Omeida rocks

Very impressed with the efficiency of Omeida's staff from the moment they started helping me with the Chinese visa back home. Excellent teachers, small groups, lots of social activities. This combined with the beautiful countryside around Yangshuo and its world class rock climbing made of th seven weeks I spent her an unforgettable experience.

What would you improve about this program?
Put air conditioned in the cafeteria!!!
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

We are so glad you chose to study with us and look forward to your potential return. Enjoy your travels around Asia!

Default avatar
Igor
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

how it was

My experience in Omeida was amazing. Besides, I've been studied a lot of Chinese language and characters, a I've been deeply sunk in Chinese culture, I mean I recomend this school, you wouldn't be regret.

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thank you for your recommendation, we are glad you enjoyed studying with us. Check out this video (in Russian) reflecting your experience here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92O-ET6ennw

Default avatar
Jana
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Very private

Hello, my name is Jana an I come from Germany. I stayed at Omeida for 2 weeks in summer 2014. I think, I improved my Chinese, because the classes were small an d the teachers were very engaged. The contact with the other teachers and students were really relaxed. You can come into the office when ever you want and get a tea or coffee and a good talk. It was also a good combination of staff-organized events and self-organized activities of the students. To have one or two language partners I liked, I ´ve got more informations about the daily China (and they helped me to do my homework...) Yangshuo and the region offer such a lot facilities, that I must come back to use them all. At the morning my daughter and I had Tai-Chi-lessons and if we have had time, we mostly went by bike in the wonderful landscape. We also enjoyed the food at Omeida cantine and at the restaurants of Yangshuo and the fruits from the markets.
I hope, I will have time to come back sometime! It was a really great experience.

What would you improve about this program?
We had a nice room, but we ´ve had no desk. To do the homework it was really bad.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

It was great having you and your daughter, Alisa, here Jana! Apologies that your room did not have a desk for homework, we endeavour to ensure all rooms are fully equipped for study; thank you for making us aware of this- we will make the adjustments to the room you were in. We hope you have time to come back too, we will always welcome you here in Yangshuo! Check out this video reflecting your experience with us https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97vm6PfQ_J0

Default avatar
Jan
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Good Time

I just spent two weeks at Omeida (which is actually too short) but I really enjoyed them. The landscape is amazing and the school as well as the teachers are very good. I took intensive courses (lessons in the morning and in the afternoon) and had a language partner. Both was good, the intensive courses because you have a lot of time to study Chinese with a teacher and the language partner program because I learned so much about Chinese people and Chinese culture. However, doing both means I had little time to do other things including reviewing the Chinese words. I had some time during noon, when I reviewed what I had learned during morning classes and I had time after dinner and in the night to review the content of the afternoon lessons. But sometimes you just want to go to a bar or so with others, which means I was really struggeling to find the time to get all of the grammar and the words into my head. However, staying at Omeida was a great experience for me and I learned a lot of Chinese within those to weeks. I hope I will come back some day but than I probably won't take intenisve courses.

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for the review, we hope to see you here again....next time you can stay longer!

Default avatar
Pam
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Great programme

I was already living in Yangshuo when I spent 3 months studying Chinese with Omeida. My Chinese was patchy and I had quite a lot of vocabulary but not a good understanding of grammar. The teachers were incredibly helpful and the class was small so a lot of help was available. I advanced a long way in 3 months. I had tried to study formally before but found the approach with other schools or teachers was not well set out and confusing.
I did not stay in the accommodation or eat the food as I already had accommodation. The other students were very happy with the standard. You will not find a meal for 10rmb anywhere else in Yangshuo unless you eat noodles three times a day.
Yangshuo is a beautiful place and there are many opportunities to involved yourself in other activities such as cycling, climbing or hiking. Best to get outside the town and spend some time talking to the locals in the small villages if you want to practice your Chinese.

What would you improve about this program?
A lot of effort and thought went into the program and I have no complaints at all
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you found such great value in your lessons. Always feel free to call in and say "ni hao" if you are passing by.

Default avatar
Tomer
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Overall Pleasant Experience

Overall, I think the program is great. The scenery is beautiful and the city is alive. You can study during the weekdays and go traveling during the weekends. The teachers had great knowledge in their field of study and they answered all my questions thoroughly. The scheduled weekend activities are really cool and would recommend attending (especially water rafting). The whole atmosphere of Yang Shuo is very relaxing and it was easy to get around and navigate. I really loved the Chinese roommate experience and Chinese dorm mates, I made some good friends. Lastly, Anya and the staff at Omeida do the maximum to make sure you ahve a safe trip to and from Omeida, Thanks! These are amongst the positive parts of the program.

As for the negatives they are little nuounces here and there. The food in the canteen was good, but I feel like it wasn't worth 10 yuan per meal. Overall, I feel like the program is more suited for beginners, as you can fall back on English anytime you want - this was one thing I didn't really like. I was hoping for a more submersed Chinese experience, but I found alot of staff (especially in English Department) talking to me (and others) in English. The city will probably bore you after 1 month, as it is really small. Probably the only major negative part of the whole experience was the housing. Some pretty big bugs crawled around and I squashed a cockroach or two.

Overall I'd recommend the program to any beginner/intermediate Chinese learner or HSK Test taker.

What would you improve about this program?
Speak less English to the students.

Please increase the afternoon break time for English students by half an hour. It gives us time to sleep/afternoon nap (which is needed in hot Yangshuo) and it alines-up perfectly with Volunteer timing for the English faculty.

The Cafeteria food is too expensive (Afternoon and Evening).
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for sharing your personal opinion with us, we are glad you enjoyed the overall experience at Omeida and we will take into account your suggestions.

Perhaps you used more English than desired because you chose to join the volunteer program at Omeida English College for 2 hours each day; at the English College it is necessary to have conversation in English because this is the language Chinese students are learning. However, it is still an opportunity to learn about the Chinese culture and make friends with people who you can practise Chinese with outside of volunteer hours.

It’s interesting to hear your perspective about Yangshuo; most students find a month is not long enough and many of them return. It depends on whether you would rather spend your time in the vibrant (yet small) city centre or exploring the surrounding countryside (which can keep you busy for many months).

Accommodation standards are something we continue to work on. If students inform us of issues they have, we will make every effort to provide them with a solution.

We're glad you enjoyed your experience here at Omeida and we welcome you back in the future.

Default avatar
eleonora
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

:)

Living in yangshuo is lovely! Be carefull of mosquitoes, they are everywhere. I noticed there are no danger at all (except when crossing the main road!). Sometimes you don't understand how yo go somewhere or how to do something but is not a problem, just ask someone in omeida's office. If you are a smoker watch out cause Chinese cigarettes are horrible.
i suggest everybody that want to learn Chinese to go to omeida: school is well organized and there is a lot to do on weekends

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

We are glad you enjoyed studying with Omeida in our beautiful town. You're right- we are more than happy to assist students with any problems they have throughout their stay in Yangshuo. We hope to see you back here in the future.

Default avatar
Levin
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Great Choice

Omeinda is a great choice. The teachers are perfect and they really teach in a good way. We practiced a lot of speaking and a lot of grammar structures. I had the chance that I was in a very small class, first week 3 students and second/third week we were only two students. The way of teaching is not the dominant Chinese way, it's more western style or even better. I arrived at Omeida and my Chinese was really poor but when I left three weeks later I really that the impression that my Chinese improved a lot!

Yangshuo is a great place to stay! There are a lot of outdoor activities and some fun bars! First I was affraid that all the people there speak English (it's a rather touristy city) but thats definitely not the case. You can still use your Chinese very often.

For me it was the perfect school and I really loved my time there. I will definitely come back one day!

What would you improve about this program?
No idea at the moment, sorry.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

You definitely made the most out of your time at Omeida and we really enjoyed having you here! Your studiousness combined with our small classes (maximum 6 students), Westernised teaching style and the immersive environment meant your Chinese improved significantly- congratulations! We welcome you back in the future.

Default avatar
Juline
10/10
Yes, I recommend this program

A great place to learn Chinese

I really liked being in Yangshuo! It's a small but very interesting town with many tourists coming from all over china and from western countries. Therefore you can find many western bars and (mainly young) people.
I didn't know any Chinese when I arrived there and I was surprised how fast I had learned enough to be able to write dialogs and stories in Chinese. The lessons are very good: challenging but also interesting. In my first week I was the only one in my class, then I had lessons together with another student and in the end we were three students. You can learn so much in a very short period of time and the teachers are so friendly and enthusiastic. You also get to know something about Chinese culture as there is a cultural lesson and a social night every week. In my opinion it's a great place to learn Chinese and a very beautiful one, too.

Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for choosing Omeida and giving us a review! We enjoy welcoming students from all different countries, ages and backgrounds to Yangshuo and it was great to have you join us. Good luck for continuing your Chinese studies in Germany.

Default avatar
Ramona
9/10
Yes, I recommend this program

Chinese teachers are very helpful and patient.

The Chinese teachers were always very helpful and patient. If I forget chinese words my teacher repeated it so often just I got it.
Sometimes I had lessons at the Yangshuo Parc, at Kellys or we visited the canteen kitchen to learn the words for vegetables or fruits. I liked very much this kind of teaching. I learned very much.
After four weeks par example I wanted to stopp eating in the canteen, because I had problems with my stomach. I got the rest of the money I already paid back.
I liked the social dinners too. And it was really great, that the teachers organized al lot of ativities. We had the possibility to meet somebody.
I was happy that I had the possibillity to visit the TaiChi-School. My favorite sports.

Next year I will come back to Omeida, to Yangshuo.

But there was only on thing that I don't like. It was the bathroom. It was very dirty. I would be happy to pay more money for a proper room.
The last two days I lived in the Tiffanys Hostel. It was the same room, but proper.

Every day I think of Omeida and my wonderful experiences and adventures I had gain.
Many greetings to Yangshuo....;-)))

What would you improve about this program?
I would like to learn writing Chinese Characters.
Unfortunately I didn't have a language partner at the beginning, only the two last weeks.
I would prefer speaking chinese during the lessons.
Response from Omeida Chinese Academy

Thanks for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you back at Omeida in the future! We apologise if you were unhappy with the bathroom in your room; if you had let us know earlier, we would have moved you to another room immediately. Thank you for informing us of the problem, now we are working on upgrading student accommodation.

In the future, if you would like to focus more time on Chinese characters, you are welcome to choose a Specialised Chinese course. Of course, you can still learn characters with our comprehensive courses.

It was great to have you here and wish you all the best until we meet again.