International TEFL Academy

International TEFL Academy

About

International TEFL Academy is passionate about two things:

1) Providing the highest quality TEFL certification classes.

2) Ensuring all of our graduates find professional, paid English teaching jobs abroad & have a wonderful experience overseas.

All of our staff at ITA have worked, lived & traveled abroad extensively. We "get it," and we're passionate about helping you have a great international adventure like we did.

Based in Chicago IL, ITA is a worldwide leader in TEFL certification for teaching English abroad offering accredited TEFL classes in 25 locations worldwide & a state-of-the-art Online class. We certify 5,000 people per year to teach English abroad and we have graduates teaching in 80+ countries.

In addition to earning an accredited teaching qualification recognized worldwide, all of our students receive lifetime job search guidance & access to a full array of alumni services and networking opportunities.

ITA has an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.

Reviews

Default avatar
Robin
9/10

I had a great experience with the International TEFL Academy. I found them through a friend and I'm so glad I did. They partner with schools all around the world and offer convenient, relevant TEFL training at reasonable rates. They provide counseling before, and job placement after. All of their information is up to date, and really helpful. I love having access to the active alumni community. They have been able to answer all of my questions regarding the training process. I am looking forward to working with them for the job search.

How can this program be improved?
It would be nice if you could connect current students with housing locations options chosen by former students. I'm really happy I stayed in the location I was in because I got to see more of the city. If I had stayed close to the school, as I originally planned, I would have been disappointed. I also think the housing offered by the school would have been too far and would have made it difficult to participate with social activities arranged by my classmates.
Yes, I recommend
Default avatar
James
10/10

Wow, where do I start, the organisation of this trip was incredible. It’s the most brilliant introduction to Thailand and entitles you to travel Thailand further after the trip with the friends you have made. The leader Britt was so enthusiastic about Thailand and inspired us to want to travel other countries in Asia too. We can’t wait to explore Vietnam with Intro Travel next year! What an amazing way to end the year.

How can this program be improved?
It can’t, perfect.
Yes, I recommend
Megan
10/10

International TEFL Academy is an absolutely incredible program! Not only is the coursework applicable to teaching in the ESL classroom, but their constant support and guidance is priceless. The team at International TEFL Academy have experience in the ESL job network and they know how to advice their student. This program is perfect for anyone looking to teach English abroad! Thanks to International TEFL Academy, I have been teaching abroad for 2 years and plan to make this my life-long career!

Response from International TEFL Academy

Thanks Megan for the great review we are excited to hear that we have helped your fulfill your dream of teaching abroad! We look forward to hearing more of your adventures abroad.

Yes, I recommend
Jessica
1/10

ITA is not actually a school, they reach out to other company's and act as a connecter between you and an on site school. What this means, is that if something happens at the onsite school, ITA will not help you out. Your instructor was falling asleep during lessons and getting his information wrong? tough luck. Has your instructor offered to take you on an over night trip but turns out he has been experiencing health problems and is unsafe to take you scuba diving? ITA doesn't give a crap. Is your school charging you way too much money for housing in a place that is beside a sewer river and has bugs everywhere?

Also ITA promises in country job assistance. Turns out my in country help only had one resource and hadn't been paid in MONTHS.

What a waste of money this rip off "Academy" was, you are better off saving your money and getting a $50 online certificate.

How can this program be improved?
Maybe when someone tries contacting ITA with a complaint, dont try to placate them with free online classes, just give them their partial refund for screwing them over.
Response from International TEFL Academy

Hi Jessica,

Thanks for your detailed feedback regarding our former partner Language Corp, who offered TEFL classes in Cambodia, Vietnam, and Thailand. We are sincerely upset when we hear any of our students had a poor experience with one of our ITA classes or one of our partner classes. Your TEFL course was in June of 2016. We discontinued our relationship with Language Corp in August of 2016 due to issues identified that summer.
We worked with Language Corp for 6 years, and prior to the summer of 2016, we consistently received positive feedback from alumni about this class. Again, we discontinued working with Language Corp in August of 2016, and we have since partnered with a new TEFL school in Cambodia, Vietnam, and Thailand.

We reach out to students prior to the start of each course to make sure they know how to contact us with any questions or issues. We also send a survey at the end of the course so student can share any issues, complaints, or suggestions. You only corresponded with ITA was regarding a SCUBA class you contracted with Language Corp, which is not affiliated with ITA.

In September 2017, you left ITA a phone message to request a refund, a year later. We were told this was because you felt your TEFL training was not sufficient. We then offered you our Online TEFL class for free so you could have an additional TEFL training opportunity.

We then received another email detailing your poor experience during your class, which then led to a phone call. During this call we were able to hear the full extent of your negative experiences for the first time. We apologize for not having a phone call with you sooner, and we should have spoken with you before declining your request for a refund.

We are now fully informed of the poor experience you had. We felt the partner TEFL class did not fulfill the expectations that we promise all of our students. As a result, we refunded you the full amount of your deposit.

To clarify a few points from your review:

We partner with other TEFL schools as a way to provide students the opportunity to take an in-person class in the location of their choosing, while still having access to ITA's job search guidance staff, resources, and alumni networks. In 2017 we will train over 5,000 students. Over 90% are students we directly train at ITA, so we are indeed a TEFL school and not just an agent.

Regarding your experience with job search guidance, you stated you had assistance from “one resource.” It’s standard for a TEFL school to have one person in charge of job search guidance along with 1-2 instructors. We also have eight full-time Student Affairs Advisors in the U.S. who specialize in job search guidance. These advisors are a resource for all ITA graduates. We are only an email or Skype call away for all of our graduates as part of our lifetime job assistance.

We are truly sorry for the poor experience you had with this class. We wish you would have told us sooner, as it’s a lot more difficult to amend the situation a year later. It seems after our phone call offering you an additional training opportunity, issuing you a refund on your deposit, and explaining how you can utilize our job assistance & alumni services for future teaching experience, that you were completely satisfied with our response and have changed your perception of ITA as an organization.

Sincerely,
Bruce Jones,
President of International TEFL Academy

No, I don't recommend
Tommy
10/10

This might sound overly dramatic but working with ITA changed my life. At a time when I was really trying to figure out how to make a shift, they really helped me out. Not to mention the support that they gave me while I was searching to get a job teaching English. ITA helped me navigate the murky waters of getting a job in South Korea and I believe I could not have done it without their help. If you are looking for a crew of people dedicated to your success who have already done what you are trying to do, look no further. Choose ITA and let them help you make your dreams come true.

Yes, I recommend

International TEFL Academy Programs

Displaying 1 - 9 of 23
Starting at
$1,000
International TEFL Academy
91% 38 reviews
United States of America
Starting at
$1,000
International TEFL Academy
91% 26 reviews
United States of America
Starting at
$1,500
International TEFL Academy
95% 14 reviews
Costa Rica
Starting at
$1,000
International TEFL Academy
99% 12 reviews
Nicaragua
Starting at
$1,500
International TEFL Academy
86% 5 reviews
Spain